Click here to go BACK to the DVD FAQ.       or         Click here to go BACK to VHS FAQ.


Torchwood – The Complete First Season starring John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness, Eve Myles as Gwen Cooper,

            Burn Gorman as Owen Harper, Naoko Mori as Toshiko Sato, and Gareth David-Lloyd as Ianto Jones.


Torchwood is the spinoff series of the new series of Doctor Who starring John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness in charge of the

Cardiff branch of Torchwood, the secret British government agency tasked with collecting and controlling alien activity. 

The first season ran on BBC channels in the UK in late 2006 and ran on BBC America in late 2007.

(The second season, not in this box, has just started its BBC run and will begin running on BBC America on Saturday nights starting

on Jan. 26 at 9pm Eastern/8pm Central.)

**Note that this is an adult series, with most episodes rated TV-14 or TV-MA, for sexual and violent content and swearing.


This is a 7-disc set.  It contains:

On all discs, 5.1 Dolby sound, graphical menus, episode and scene selection features, and optional subtitles for the hearing impaired.

All but the last disc starts with an advertisement for another BBC or Warner DVD set, but this is skippable with your remote.

Each episode is approximately 50 minutes in duration.


On Disc 1:

- Episode 1: Everything Changes, with optional commentary by Executive Producer/Writer/Creator Russell T. Davies,

Executive Producer Julie Gardner, and Director Brian Kelly.

- Episode 2: Day One, with optional commentary by actress Eve Myles (Gwen Cooper) and Co-Producers Richard Stokes

and Chris Chibnall

- Welcome to Torchwood.  A 14-minute featurette overview of the series’ first episodes.

- Torchwood on the Scene.   A 15-minute featurette overview of the production setting up the first episodes, including footage from

the first full cast and crew read-through.

- 2 Torchwood Out of this World featurettes: Weevil which spotlights Torchwood’s regular aliens, the Weevils, and Sex Gas which spotlights

the sex-craved alien gas monster from Day One.  5 minutes each.

- Deleted Scenes.    Four scenes cut from Everything Changes, two from Day One, two from Ghost Machine, and two from Cyberwoman.


On Disc 2:

- Episode 3: Ghost Machine, with optional commentary by actor Burn Gorman (Owen Harper), writer Helen Raynor, and director Colin Teague.

- Episode 4: Cyberwoman, with optional commentary by actor Gareth David-Lloyd (Ianto Jones), Chris Chibnall, and director James Strong.

- Episode 5: Small Worlds, with optional commentary by Eve Myles, composer Ben Foster, and director Alice Troughton.

- 3 Torchwood Out of this World featurettes:  Ghost Machine which spotlights that episode, Cyberwoman which spotlights that episode,

            and Fairies which spotlights the fairy creatures seen in Small Worlds.  5 minutes each.


On Disc 3:

- Episode 6: Countrycide, with optional commentary by Gareth David-Lloyd, Chris Chibnall, and director Andy Goddard.

- Episode 7: Greeks Bearing Gifts, with optional commentary by writer Toby Whithouse, Richard Stokes, and director Colin Teague.

- Torchwood: Sex, Violence, Blood and Gore  A 16-minute featurette about the amounts of each of those qualities in these episodes.

- 2 Torchwood: The Team and Their Troubles featurettes: Ianto and Evan that spotlights both of these characters’ actions in Countrycide,

            and Toshiko and Mary that spotlights the relationship between these two in Greeks Bearing Gifts.  5 minutes each.


On Disc 4:

- Episode 8: They Keep Killing Suzie, with optional commentary by script editor Brian Minchin, Chris Chibnall, and director James Strong.

- Episode 9: Random Shoes, with optional commentary by actor Paul Chequer (Eugene), Richard Stokes, and director James Erskene.

- Torchwood on the Road.  A 9-minute featurette spotlighting the Torchwood SUV.

- 2 Torchwood: The Team and Their Troubles featurettes: Owen and Suzie which spotlights these two characters’ actions in They Keep

            Killing Suzie, and Gwen and Eugene which spotlights those two characters in Random Shoes.  6 minutes each.

- Deleted Scenes.   Three deleted scenes from Countrycide, one from Greeks Bearing Gifts, three from They Keep Killing Suzie, and

      two from Random Shoes.


On Disc 5:

- Episode 10:  Out of Time, with optional commentary by Eve Myles, Ben Foster, and director Alice Troughton.

- Episode 11:  Combat, with optional commentary by Burn Gorman, Chris Chibnall, and director Andy Goddard.

- 2 Torchwood: Moments in the Making featurettes: A Wing and a Prayer which spotlights the plane used in Out of Time, and

            Fight Night which spotlights the location used for the fight club scenes in Combat.

- The Captain’s Log.  A 10-minute featurette based partly on a video diary kept by John Barrowman on the final day of shooting for the season.


On Disc 6:

- Episode 12: Captain Jack Harkness, with optional commentary by actor John Barrowman (Captain Jack Harkness), Richard Stokes, and

director Ashley Way.

- Episode 13: End of Days, with optional commentary by the same three as are on Captain Jack Harkness.

- 2 Torchwoods: Moments in the Making featurettes:  Officer and a Gentleman about the relationship between the two Captain Jacks in

            Captain Jack Harkness and Bombing the Base about the destruction of the Hub set in End of Days.  5 minutes each.

- Torchwood: On Time  A 10-minute featurette about the location used for the 1941 dance hall seen in Captain Jack Harkness.  This includes

            John Barrowman singing his own rendition of “Anything Goes.”

- Deleted Scenes.  Twelve deleted scenes from Out of Time, five from Captain Jack Harkness, and four from End of Days.

- Outtakes.   25 outtakes from throughout the season.


On Disc 7:

- All fourteen episodes of Torchwood: Declassified.  These were behind-the-scenes documentaries that followed each episode’s original

UK broadcast.  They’re each about 8-10 minutes in duration, and apart from the first one (which is an overview of the series),

each is specific to the episode it originally followed.  The titles are (in order):  Welcome to Torchwood,  Jack’s Back,

Bad Day at the Office, Living History, Girl Trouble, Away With the Fairies, The Country Club, There’s Something About Mary,

Beyond the Grave, Dead Man Walking, Time Flies, Weevil Fight Club, Blast from the Past, and To the Endi.



BBC America held a fan vote for what cover art this set uses.  The choice that won includes the Cardiff Millenium Centre’s water tower

(now nicknamed by locals as the Torchwood Tower) in the background. 


Although this series is shot in high-definition, this is a standard-definition DVD release.  BBC Worldwide Americas feel that neither

of the competing high-definition disc formats (Blu-Ray and HD-DVD) have enough market penetration yet to make a release of this

series on either format cost effective at this time.  The high-definition versions are being shown in the US on the HDNet satellite channel.