Goebel-Jackson Tree Farm


Managing for a Whole Forest



Contact Us

State & Regional Awards
Founders of a New Northwest - 1997

This award was presented by Sustainable Northwest, the Center for Rural Revitalization and Learning-Idaho State University, the University of Washington's Northwest Policy Center, Oregon Rural Development Council, and the Sustainable Forestry Partnership-Oregon State University. The award is:

"In recognition of your innovative work to build a sustainable economy in the Northwest. For refusing to sacrifice the good of the land for the good of the people or the good of the people for the good of the land--finding a new path which honors both.  For giving of yourself to a vision of the human community working together--able to think beyond itself to embrace the entire biological community and beyond one generation to many."

Outstanding Western Tree Farmer - 1992

The winners of the annual state Tree Farm awards are nominated for the next year's regional awards that are presented by the American Forest Foundation.  We won the western award for 1992.  The four regional winners compete for the national tree farmer award. There are more than 70,000 certified tree farms in the country owned by small woodland owners.  The judging of these awards is based on several factors such as providing for wildlife and recreation, promoting good forest management, and doing good timber management.

Oregon Tree Farmer of the Year - 1984 & 1991

This award was presented by the Oregon Small Woodlands Association.  The Small Woodlands Association is the Oregon branch of the American Tree Farm System.