A bit about oats

 

Is oat grain safe for people with gluten intolerance or wheat allergies? Oats is a cereal grain most closely related to wheat, barley and rye. Oats exist in the same sub-family as wheat, rye and barley, but the oat grain is in a different tribe. (See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pooideae.) For a small percentage of the gluten-free population the relationship is too close and they react, but for most of us the relationship is sufficiently far that there is no reaction at all. The Canadian Celiac Association considers gluten-free oats to be safe for celiacs. (See http://www.celiac.ca/Articles/PABoats.html.)

There are a number of newer studies that are referenced in technical journals, and all of these have results indicating safety for both children and adults:

You can read a less technical article in Living Without Magazine: http://www.livingwithout.com/issues/4_16/feel_your_oats-2658-1.html

From a practical standpoint note that oats contain more fiber than most other gluten-free grains. You may find out that initially 75 grams of oatmeal (about 3 ounces) is too much fiber at once. Start out with a smaller amount (perhaps 1 ounce of oats) and work your way up.