A Guide To Sherborn
Dedicated to Anne Carr Shaughnessy, 1920 - 2005
The book A Guide To Sherborn is the companion to The History of Sherborn, also authored by Anne Carr Shaughnessy in commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the incorporation of the Town of Sherborn
In the approximately 33 years since the publication of A Guide To Sherborn, Sherborn has changed and many of the descriptions of historic properties are now out of date. Fortunately, The Sherborn Historic Commission, working with grants from the Massachusetts Historical Commission, MHC, and matching appropriations from the Town of Sherborn, did a systematic survey of the town's historic properties in 1981, and an update in 1999. A copy of these surveys is available at the Sherborn Library. Most of this material has been digitized and coded for internet access and is posted at http://home.comcast.net/~SherbornHistCom.
This digital version of A Guide To Sherborn is produced and made available with the permission of the publisher. Copies of this document may be made for personal use. This material may be used in academic works provided that the author and publisher are appropriately cited.
ANNE CARR SHAUGHNESSY
The 300th Anniversary Committee
Copyright (c) 300th Anniversary Committee, Sherborn, Mass., 1974
All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopy, recording, or any information storage or retrieval system, without permission in writing from the publisher.
PRINTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.
The story and illustrations which comprise this book are not, in the strict sense, a guide such as would be sought by a traveler visiting Sherborn for the first time. Rather this is a piece intended to supplement the concurrent History book of our town. Together they reveal how beguiling Sherborn is and what part this more than 300 year old town has played in the history of our Nation about 10 celebrate her 200th birthday.
Though her people are great travelers, Sherbornites are not dismayed that the name of their town brings the question "Where is it?". We sing her praises quietly and care not to be world renowned.
While in many ways a typical New England town, Sherborn has an indefinable individuality and a fine sense of continuity portrayed in a happy blending of the present with the past. Her homes are an example of this, both architecturally and historically, and included here are those houses which have weathered at least 100 years, along with the 1875 Atlas Map which was one of those used n the research. The historic places and memorials will hopefully whet the reader's appetite for becoming thoroughly familiar with the history which they commemorate. The old industries are the story of individual initiative contributing to the country's progress, and the societies tell the tale of Sherborn's group activities.
Delving into Sherborn's history has been an engaging and rewarding study for me and I hope that the ultimate result will be to imbue my fellow Sherborn people with an increased enthusiasm for a knowledge of our Town's story.
In questioning many people on times past, I received gratifying response and am grateful to all those who have shared their knowledge with me. I am especially indebted to G. Farrington Fiske, Chairman of the Tercentenary Committee, for his cooperation and encouragement. Embroiled as he was in all the planning for the yearlong Tercentenary program, he still found time to be the greatest participator in the preparation of the Publications.
Special thanks are also expressed to Phyllis C. McCarthy and Roberta H. Delaney for their line drawings and map work, and to Frances B. Forbes, Mary A. Scott and Elizabeth D. Rymer for their sketches of the churches.
Anne Carr Shaughnessy
Others to whom sincere thanks are due for having contributed in a variety of ways to the creation of this work are:
Amy T. Gheringhelli, Bertha L. Morrow, Fletcher C. Chamberlin, Theresa I. Newman, Patricia H. Pantazi, Jessie M. Dowse, Margaret B. Brabham, Genevieve L. Heffron, Janet M. Petty, Barbara A. Klein, Joan P. Mott, M. Del Groner, Jane B. Ridinger, Miriam L. Bliss, Jean V. Davis, Marion A. Gray, Elizabeth C. Price, Russell C. Sherrill, Lee T. Sprague, Judith A. SanClements, Patricia A. Bates, Kenneth S. Crowell, Ethel P. Gulliver, Betty Foldvari, John A. Luczkow, Jr., Phyllis F. Lincoln, Harriet H. Tyson, Barbara D. Whitman, Nancy B. Sortwell, Julia L. Rooney, Seth Anderson, Frank A. Strange, Jr., Julia B. Keally, Irene M. Garland, Marge A. Bernard, Doris V. Merrill, Mark Garbutt, Marion P. Gray, Phyllis B. Braun, Edyth F. Johnson, Mary T. Leland, Patricia A. Hyde, Sewell H. Fessenden, Jr., Alice Heffron, Marjorie W. Penshorn, George E. Wakeman, Grace J. Waite, Fritz Bilfinger, George Clark, Raymond L. Clark, Natalie Dowse, Josephine Bryer, Sybil Daniels, Grace D. Hardigan, Lois Harris, Laura A. Bolton, William Allen, Katherine Sturgis, Betty L. Griffin, Catherine Ambos, Elizabeth M. Itse, Beverly G. Muto, Benjamin C. Carroll, John A. Luczkow, Sr., Polly M. Gardner, Janice Jenkins, Raymond S. Jerominek, Marion I. Burns, Stanley McDonald, Mary Cousineau, William VanBlarcom, Jr., Betty Walsh, Dr. Theodore Wilder, William S. Towne, Jean P. Rosseau, Ellen M. Green, Patricia A. Andringa, Willard R. Tougas, Phyllis S. Vickers.
POPULATION by the local 1973 census is 3,862.
AREA 11,000 Acres.
HEIGHT ABOVE SEA LEVEL
OUT OF STATE TRAVEL
At the Pilgrim Church, Sunday Morning Worship is at 10:00 with Church School held at the same time. At 7:00 in the evening, Junior and Senior Fellowships are held. Summer hour for Sunday service is 9:00 A.M.
At St. Theresa's Chapel, Sunday Masses are at 5:30 on Saturday evening and at 8, 9, 10 and 11 on Sunday morning. Holyday Masses are on the Eve at 5:30 and 7:00, and at 7:00 and 9:00 in the morning and at 6:30 in the afternoon. Daily Masses as announced on Sunday.
SPORTS AND RECREATION
Local Information 3
passes a regular baseball field, a little league field, tennis courts, skating pond and a toboggan run! With parking facilities and lifeguards, Farm Pond furnishes a beautiful place to swim or sail. The reservations and forests provide fine trails for nature lovers in summer or winter and an ideal place for snowshoeing or cross-country skiing.
The continuing Saga of Sherborn is told each year in open Town Meeting where she still affords each person the opportunity of open and vocal dissent. This colonial village (1652) was practicing the right of free speech and argument for worthy cause long before the Revolutionary War, and the Sherborn Minutemen of 1774 understood well that they were fighting for what had always been their right. Though the Town was incorporated in 1674, it was several years before the church was erected, even though this was the main reason given in "praying for incorporation" to the Great and General Court.
They had plenty of lumber, for Thomas Sawin had a fine sawmill operating on Chestnut Brook (Course Brook) and there was plenty of interest, for everyone felt a great need for a place of worship. However, the choice of a site for the building was a worthy cause for argument. All but one of the earliest settlers resided in the southern quarter of the town. They thought they had the right to decide so important a matter as the location of the church and naturally desired to build it near their dwellings. In fact, they had staked out a meetinghouse lot on a hill commanding a view of the Charles River, now believed to have been next to their cemetery (Old South). The later colonists living on Edward's Plain (North Main Street) wished the church to be equidistant from the extremities of the township and, incidentally, close by their own homes. The committee which had been chosen to "settle a minister" for the colony couldn't do so without a church at least under way, and so, discouraged, appealed to the Court to resolve their difficulties. Three men, appointed by the Great and General Court, came to town and acted as present-day arbiters. They placed the meetinghouse in the more central spot. Several years later when a more commodious building was contemplated, the same difficulties arose and this time the objecting "dwellers on ye West side of Dopping Brook" were set apart from Sherborn and incorporated as the town of Holliston in 1724. Sherborn gracefully accepted the Court's decision in this matter and even returned the money which those set apart had subscribed for the new church. Then they placed their new meetinghouse exactly beside the site of the first one.
Our town gets its name from the ancient town of Sherborne, situated on the bank of the River Yeo, in the County of Dorset, England. The name is of Saxon origin and means "pure water." When the first settlers sent their request to the General Court to be made a town they did not suggest under what name they wished to be incorporated. The influential John Hull, Mint-master of the Colony, had among his extensive holdings a grant of 500 acres in Boggestow, the Indian name for the Sherborn area, and his land included Sewell's Meadow and much of the center of town. One of his ancestors, prominent in Sherborne, England, had been appointed guardian of the minor children of the unfortunate Sir Walter Raleigh, whose home was in Sherborne.
Sherborn was successful as a settlement because the people who came here were Puritans who brooked no nonsense and, perhaps, because the settlers here had learned from the errors made by older settlements (Plymouth was founded in 1630). She adopted her well-known "Social Compact," an instrument which showed great forethought and was ratified by the General Court. The first article of this Compact provided that those receiving land from the Town were subject to its orders and must subscribe their name to its Town Book. The second pertained to the settlement of differences by arbitration. Article III dealt with endeavoring to receive only honest people as settlers, and the last stipulated that for seven years no inhabitant should sell the land that had been granted to him by the Town, without express permission of the Selectmen and always provided that this should in no way hinder any heirs at common law. This Compact was aimed at keeping the new settlers long enough for them to form homes and become permanent residents, for it was believed that a man who became a part of the body politic would then have the best interests of the settlement close to his heart. Carpetbaggers they could do without in founding a successful, permanent community.
When they had recovered from King Philip's War and no longer needed to
repair to their Forts constantly in anticipation of Indian raids, the Town
exchanged lands with Natick to make a more compactly bounded colony. 'They
also paid the Indians a mutually satisfactory amount for each parcel which
had been granted to them by the Court. Then at Town Meeting in 1679, they
elected their first Selectmen and settled on the administration of the
internal affairs of the Town. A Selectman was appointed to teach the youth
to read, write and cipher, and this was done in different homes for some
The Saga of Sherborn 7
The first century of settlement in Massachusetts ended on a somber note in the town of Salem with the Witch Trials, and, though Sherborn was too busy and independent to be involved, one of her landholders very much was. Samuel Sewell owned considerable lands and a house (102 South Main Street) which his wife had inherited from her father, John Hull, who had become Treasurer of the Massachusetts Colony before his death. Though the Sewells lived in Boston, Samuel writes in his diary of Moses Adams who lived in his Sherborn house and of the holidays he and his wife spent here with him. He became famous, or infamous, by traveling north from Boston as one of the Justices at the Salem Witchcraft Trials. From his ownership has come the name Sewell's Brook which flowed through his meadow which also still bears his name.
The genius of Longfellow in his immortal poem "Evangeline" has familiarized everyone in America with the story of the exile of the Acadians from their homes in Nova Scotia, and, though most of these 7,000 French neutrals were sent to Louisiana, Sherborn was intimately connected with that unfortunate event. In 1756, a family of seven of these people was assigned to Sherborn and tradition has it that they were housed in the Hopestill Leland Farm. When Marblehead petitioned the Provincial Government to remove the Acadians they were housing, saying that they feared these aliens would try to escape by means of the numerous vessels in the harbor, The House voted to move all those Acadians in coastal towns further inland, and sent a second family of five to Sherborn. There is but one link that perpetuated this strain of French blood in the community and that is the marriage in 1838 of Phoebe Despeau to David Leland.
In 1770, Sherborn sent a President to Harvard College in the person of its minister, Rev. Samuel Locke, who occupied this distinguished post but three years, after which he returned to Sherborn and opened a boys' school at his home (8 Washington Street). Many years after his death Harvard University erected a granite monument to his memory at Pine Hill Cemetery.
In 1788, when the acceptance of the Federal Constitution came up for
decision, Sherborn chose Daniel Whitney to act in the matter. They
believed in self-government and had battled to se-
cure it. They also valued highly the theory of representative government and they elected a representative to act in the matter as well. They singled out this man of wisdom, patriotism and integrity, and sent him to Boston to hear the arguments for and against the question and then to make a decision in the light of what he found. No referendum for them. "We mean not to give you positive instruction . . . When assembling, you will have the collective wisdom of the state before you. You will hear all that can be said on the subject and consequently be able to form a judicious opinion; and having the fullest confidence in your ability, wisdom, integrity and patriotism, we cheerfully on our part submit this important question to your decision." That honorable member was one of the majority to vote in favor of this great charter of our freedom.
Sherborn started her second hundred years with 113 families, many of whom had prospered enough to enlarge their saltbox houses. Those who were newly establishing in the 1800s, were building more impressive homes and starting small industries, the most prosperous of which was the manufacturing of shoes. Other homes were built nearby because of the jobs these factories afforded, and "The Plains" was soon populated enough to have its own store.
The Holbrook Cider Mill in the south of town became known as "the largest cider mill in the world" exporting its champagne cider to England. P. McCarthy and Son took over the business in 1912, and its fame grew not only for its sparkling cider but its Shawmut Beverages as well.
The willow industry flourished on Maple Street and Yankee ingenuity caused the Fleming brothers to build their houses with the brook running through the cellar so that the willow shoots which they grew themselves could easily be kept the proper dampness for working.
During this century, Sherborn attracted several retired sea captains who
made their homes here after exciting days spent aboard whalers or merchant
vessels. Perhaps they were captivated by beautiful Farm Pond for here
there was a steam launch plying its waters and offering one and all a
sightseeing tour for five cents. Clovernook Grove on the shore was quite a
'watering place' for people from miles around.
The Saga of Sherborn 9
The number of dwellings was just under 200 as Sherborn started her third
century, and during the next 70 years was to increase that number by only
100. She had the wisdom to plan for the residential building boom which
was extending in an ever-widening circle around the Hub, deeper and deeper
into the country. The proximity of the Route 128 Business Complex and the
housing it necessitated compounded the problem for Sherborn, so that
before her three hundredth year there were better than 1,000 homes within
her boundaries. Those coming here to live liked her rural atmosphere and
Sherborn works to preserve it.
[This file is in PDF format and requires an Adobe Reader, available free from http://www.adobe.com, to view]
Sherborn's history has been written by her people living in homes scattered over the township and imbuing their cherished ideals in their children. These young people formed a next generation inheriting the homestead or establishing yet another one on a section of the family's holdings.
These homes built in the sixteen, seventeen and eighteen hundreds, are our tangible link with those centuries. Their construction in each period is cause to marvel when you realize what tools they worked with.
Need for larger homes generally meant an addition to the existing one. Affluence, coupled with a desire to modernize, caused other sometimes drastic changes, but the core of our heritage is there just waiting to be appreciated.
In their trips through New England towns where winters were so cold, Washington and Lafayette each expressed surprise at the general use of wood in buildings. If they implied that something might be cozier than wood, they erred. If they were concerned with the hazard of fire, their concern was well placed, for Sherborn lost a great number of early homes through burning, usually in the 'dead of winter.'
Come, take a tour with us and study our history through the homes, still standing, that were built more than. a hundred years ago. The present owner's name follows each description. You will find Historic buildings, memorials and sites also included as well as present businesses.
Street numbers assigned by the Town and used for postal identification precede each description.
[This file is in PDF format and requires an Adobe Reader, available free from http://www.adobe.com, to view]
The Leland Monument
"Henry Lealand, The Puritan, Emigrated from
This area can be thoroughly enjoyed without disturbing any of the private residences.
Sherborn's main street was laid out almost 100 years before the Revolution. The road was smoothed and widened for general travel in 1683, after the Indians were subdued. It became the main post and stagecoach route between Boston and Hartford, Connecticut. The stage made a daily trip through Town. Commerce on the highway changed the face of Sherborn. By the end of the seventeenth century, cider mills, gun shops and general stores turned Sherborn into a thriving community of artisans and craftsmen.
In the process of change, Sherborn stopped, in 1847, to pay homage to its pioneer forebears. Facing the junction of Routes 16 and 27, on the church green, is the Leland Monument, dedicated that year to one of the first settlers, the independent and purposeful Henry Layland. At the time of the dedication, almost half of the town could claim relationship with Henry.
#5 - Homer Associates. Immediately next to the Leland Monument, one of the willow weavers, George Fleming, built a home on this imposing knoll. The house was finished in 1880, and was a duplicate of 137 South Main Street, even to the mansard roof. After a fire in 1948, which destroyed the large barn on the south side and much of the house, it was rebuilt as it now stands. Homer Associates, comprising two separate businesses - Homer Associates Realtors, and Homer Associates Consulting
Engineers - occupy the premises, but have retained the interior structural beauty of the house. This is a local husband and wife team; Bob Homer with his partner Bob Entwisle specializes in highway, traffic, structural and environmental work. Jean Homer, with help from Mary Chamberlin, Jean Rosseau, Sue Peirson, Shirley Burke and Jane Brundage, makes up one of Sherborn's realty firms.
On the Common, and at the foot of Sanger Street on South Main Street, are Sherborn's three Church edifices and the time of their services may be found under 'Local Information' at the front of the book. The Town House, where the Police Station is now situated, is open during the day, as are the businesses in the area.
The First Parish Church
The First Parish Church is the third meetinghouse to be built on this site. It was erected in 1830, after the plan of the church in Sutton, Massachusetts. Observe the unspoiled serenity of this
Area 1 17
building, situated on the Common where the first settlers built their church in 1680. This was replaced by a larger edifice in 1724. With its graceful steeple and Doric pillars, this building provides a typical example of New England church architecture at its best.
The Good-As-New Shop is a consignment shop started by three members of the Women's Alliance of the First Parish Church, in 1962. It is open, in the wing of the building, on Wednesdays from ten to four o'clock.
The Town House
The Town House, adjacent to the Meetinghouse on the Common, is another of Sherborn's history-rich buildings, and was built in 1856. It housed at that time, "a spacious and elegant school-room" as well as the Town's first public library. The Town House served as the center of civic affairs, and provided a place for the many great social events, presenting an air of elegance in the evening with its great oil-lighted chandelier. When the Board of Selectmen and other Town officials moved their offices to the
Dowse Memorial Building, only the Police Station remained on the first floor. The second-floor Hall is still used for many town functions.
The Site of Unity Hall - The building which stood here was built as a shop for a basket weaver and was bought by the First Church as a parsonage and then as a Sunday School and social hall. It stood behind the church on the lower level, until it was moved away in 1959. There used to be a steep stairway down the hillside to reach it, as it fronted on South Main Street.
SOUTH MAIN STREET
#5 - This charming house was built circa 1840, and here in the kitchen was Sherborn's first telephone exchange, 'manned' by Celia Holbrook and her sister. Where the parking lot is now, their father had a blacksmith shop, which had been Elbridge Bickford's before him. Behind the blacksmith shop, energetic
Area 1 19
James Salisbury had a cider mill, paintshop, and a canning factory, all of which burned on July 4, 1902, at ten in the evening. The valiant firemen were able to save only this house. (John W. Merrill)
Mr. Salisbury set the pattern for this small section of Sherborn and it has remained a lively fountain of commercial activity. A bit south of the 'Salisbury Block' is Sherborn Motor Sales, one of Sherborn's busiest enterprises, and next to this a new Chevron Station has taken the place of the smithy. The station is built.
on the site of 'Jackson's Store,' long a town landmark where Sherborn's one-time Fire Chief, John Jackson, ran a sundries store where everyone in town collected to get the news.
Jim's Convenience Center provides myriad services to the town as a drop-off spot for shoe or TV repair, photo work, and dry cleaning. It also houses a gift corner of handwork from local resident designers with antiques and modern originals completing a treasure-trove for the sightseer.
The Pilgrim Church, which was dedicated in 1830, had a most delicate tall spire. In 1853, the building was moved more centrally on the property and at that time was extended twenty feet to the rear and raised ten feet, thus affording a second floor and leaving room in front for a green. Lightning struck the steeple in 1922, toppling it to the ground and doing much damage to the edifice. All was soon repaired and in 1944, the rear section was added for church-school use. Beneath the painting of Rev. Edmund Dowse in the church proper is the chair which he used in the Massachusetts Senate where he served as Chaplain for 25 years.
Area 1 21
The Pilgrim Church
The Rocking Horse School has occupied quarters in Pilgrim Church since 1966, and is operated by Elaine A. Young and Alice S. French as a nursery school for children from three to five years old.
St. Theresa's Church
Area 1 23
#27 - "The Driscoll House" was planned by master builder Bowen Adams, who built this home for himself in 1815, situating it on a knoll, high above the dust of the daily stagecoach, but still in view of the activities of the town. The interior of the house has suffered little with the passage of time. The 'parlor' fireplace still throws a good heat and, in the dining room, set behind a three-foot door, are the brick bake ovens. Driscoll descendants still own this landmark. (Mrs. William J. Rooney)
#31- "The Hawes Place" - This magnificent gabled house was built by Fred Leland in the 1830s. The high pitched, center gable is relieved by a lacy, fretwork trim. This home retains the original kitchen fireplace, with its soap-making niche on one side, and the large iron warming oven on the other. The room is paneled with 28-inch boards, which were originally part of the attic floor. One room features a copper ceiling, in squares, and another has an ornate tin ceiling. The house, which boasts six working fireplaces, gained its name from the family who resided there for many generations and who provided Sherborn with five Postmasters. (Irving MacArthur)
St. Theresa's Church - This devotional Chapel was dedicated in September of 1924, and became a Parish in 1945, with the Pastor residing at the Rectory at 24 North Main Street. The many Masses for Sunday are on the marker on the lawn, witness to the large Parish this small chapel now serves so well. William Collett of Boston drew the plans for this 1898 building, which reflects the architecture of the period. It was commissioned by the Town to house the elderly poor, a method for their care which was even then being phased out over New England. The Town soon was renting it as a Parsonage. After a few years of vacancy, it was purchased by the Archdiocese of Boston, and renovated for St. Theresa's Church, which is now in its fiftieth year.
#37 - This charming red house was built in the 1820s, by Horatio and Cally Coolidge on a corner of her brother's land, where St. Theresa's Church now stands. The Flemings, who lived here later, had twin daughters whose 'made in Sherborn' double wicker cradle is on display at the Sherborn Historical Society. A main feature of the house is the central chimney, from which three fireplaces offer warmth and charm. The wide floorboards have been preserved and the exterior retains its early New England simplicity. (Francis M. Mahard, Jr.)
These are all private residences. Over the years, Farm Road has been called 'The Road to the Farm,' 'The Village Road to Dover,' and 'Trinity Street,' the latter because of its proximity to the Pilgrim Church, until, in the early 1900s, it officially became Farm Road. This was called the Farm District when the town was divided into school districts, and the Farm School was located at the northwest corner of Farm Road and Lake Street. As you travel along Farm Road, observe the many stone walls which the early settlers used as boundaries.
#8 - Palemon Bickford built this sturdy home into the side of a hill in 1859, for his brother, Elbridge Bickford, who was a blacksmith. The doorway detail is evidence of Palemon's craftsmanship with its long cornice board supported by reeded pilasters which flank the recessed sidelights. The door itself, highlighted in bright pink, is believed to be the original. The gable ended section with two chimneys is the original part of the house and the four-paneled doors with their white porcelain knobs have been restored. The hillside is terraced with stone walls. At one time the former 'town lock-up' stood on the knoll in the southwest corner. (George F. Hill)
Area 2 25
#11 - "The Goulding House" was built before 1852, for in this year Benjamin Bullard resided here and sold part of his holding (now 15 Farm Road) to Michael Guryn, reserving "the right and privilege of taking water from the well near my westerly dwelling." Later Henry Goulding, who was the flagman at the crossing near his home and noted for caning chairs, bought the property for his homestead. The original four rooms have the wide floorboards characteristic of this period and the paneled doors have iron latches and white porcelain knobs on the closet doors. The ceilings are higher than is usual for the farmhouse of this period and the windows are taller. (Merton Goulding)
#15 - "The Ramsley House." "...a certain tract of land situated in Sherburne with all the buildings standing thereon near the meeting house on the northerly side of the Road leading from Sherburne to Dover bounded..." Such was the introduction to the description in the deed Michael Guryn received from Benjamin Bullard in 1852, "in consideration of nineteen hundred and seventy-five dollars." By this deed, #15 and #11 Farm Road were separated and it is clear that dwellings existed on each property at this time. Bullard had acquired the combined properties in 1836, from Nathan Grout. Many of the authentic features of this early nineteenth century Cape Cod farmhouse have been preserved. The modified Christian cross front door is framed with recessed five-panel lights; many of the original wavy panes remain in the six-over-six sashes; old latches and hinges are used throughout. The granite block steps and foundation, narrow siding, wide pine floorboards, low ceilings, hand-hewn corner posts with pegs, shallow fireplace with a crane and a dug well in the cellar are all typical of construction of this period. The east wing was added by Michael Guryn, who used these two rooms with separate entrance as his cobbler shop. A number of shoe lasts dated in the 1840s have been found in the old barn. Guryn had married Persis Anne Bullard, Benjamin's daughter, in 1840. (Alvin 0. Ramsley)
#21 - This charming Cape with central chimney was built before 1856, facing south on a knoll which slopes gradually to the stone wall bordering the front edge of the property. The center entrance is enhanced on either side by full-length paned sidelights. The door itself is four-paneled. Each of the first floor rooms in the main part of the house has a fireplace, with a dutch oven used for family cooking as part of the kitchen fireplace. The small room, off the early kitchen, was known as the borning
room. There are exposed hand-hewn pegged beams and wide pine floorboards throughout the house. (Russell Sherrill)
#25 - "Reverend Edmund Dowse House" was built for his home about 1838, when he was beginning his 67-year ministry of the Pilgrim Church. This house faces east rather than towards the
Area 2 27
road and the main entrance has a porch. Much of the glass in the windows seems original, as it is markedly wavy and bubbled, but the bay windows facing the street were added at a later time. Two chimneys in the front of the house served six fireplaces, all shallow and intended for heating rather than cooking, although there is a small crane in the present dining-room fireplace. This room formerly served as Rev. Dowse's study. In the front parlor, is a unique exception to the simplicity of the other fireplaces, for this one is pilastered and has elaborate moldings, panels and hand carving in natural hardwood inlaid with a portrait of St. Jerome. The hearth itself is tiled and the opening is bordered with decorative tiles. (Stanley M. McDonald, Jr.)
#32 - "The Potter Place" was built before 1875, by Andrew Potter. This unique little house, facing north, is nestled behind a knoll and built into a hillside. A giant old maple shades the front. Along the west end of the dwelling runs a stream reminiscent of a millstream with its sides walled with rocks to form a channel, that might have tunneled water to a mill wheel as it flowed in a southerly direction. (Mrs. Patricia Caldwell.)
#35 - "Bacon House". This stately, Colonial farmhouse was built 1765-68, by Joseph Bacon, who had acquired part of the Morse family holdings. Bacon, a builder who had helped to enlarge the second church in Sherborn, sold the property in 1769, to Joseph Holbrook, the brother of the famous gunmaker, Thomas. The center entrance doorway is adorned with pilasters on either side. Five small bull's-eye panes embellish the rectangular fanlight, and the door itself has two large bull's-eye panes. Four of the original fireplaces have been preserved, one with a beehive oven. The windows are set six inches deep and the inside doors are still secured with catches. A few yards east of the farm, lies a path which leads into one of the first roads in town, 'the Way from the Woods-Ware-Goulding Farms to the Meeting House.' (Walter Robb)
#64 - "Moses C. Babcock House" was built at the time of his marriage to Persis W. Hill of Sherborn, in the late 1830s. The house, with a center entrance, faces north. Its span roof has two chimneys. The ell may have been a part of the original structure or added later. This house has a certain grandeur with its four long front windows, high ceilings, ornamental design of the pediment above the doorway. The doorway has recessed sidelights, each light having four panes of glass with a wooden panel below and
each edged with narrow reeded pilasters. Old carriage lights illuminate the doorway. In one front room is a shallow fireplace with a crane for a copper teakettle. The present kitchen in the ell, next the double-doored barn with its iron hinges, faces south with a bay window looking out over the country hillside. (Dr. G. H. Mudge)
None of the homes in this area is open to the public, so please do not disturb the residents. Farm Pond Reservation is open after June thirtieth for the season, with lifeguards on duty at the swimming area. From the beach or the boat landing, a view of this great 'sheet of clear water' is yours. The Sherborn Yacht club docks are on private property but membership is open to
any resident of the town. Parking for Little Pond Sanctuary is afforded for a small number of cars on Farm Road near the entrance to the Sanctuary. Further along on Farm Road is one of the town's old cemeteries. Please respect this property and the cemetery stones. Should you be fortunate enough to be in this area as the Hunt meets, pull well off the road and enjoy the colorful and exciting sight as they ride to hounds.
LAKE STREET AT FARM POND
Clark's Ice House, though not standing, was an important old business in town. It stood on Lake Street where the road comes closest to the water. The clear ice farmed at Farm Lake
Clark's Ice House
was in great demand from the middle of the 1800s until the 1930s. The ice house was double-walled with the space between insulated with sawdust. The art of cutting and storing the ice was practiced from the first of the year until the ice house was full. Besides selling ice out of town, the Clark boys delivered daily in Sherborn through the warm weather.
Area 3 31
Clovernook Grove could be seen across the Lake, a beehive activity in 1875, and was one of three groves which catered to people from distances who came by horse and carriage to spend the day at the grove for picnics, rides in the Steamboat 'Atlanta' or on sailboats which they rented. The Pavilion sold soft drinks, candy and popcorn and had tables and benches set out under the pines. Dances with great orchestras were here all season and greatly patronized.
Farm Lake at Clovernook Grove 1885
Farm Pond Reservation is operated by the Town for the safety and enjoyment of the fishermen, swimmers and sailors, and there are benches for just plain watchers. A swimming program is provided for all ages and lifeguards are always in attendance when the Reservation is open. The lifeguards are often Sherborn young men and ladies who have started their swimming career here at Pond.
Farm Pond Island is privately owned but this does not dissuade the Canadian geese who regularly make it their home.
Watergate on Farm Pond, 1909
Little Pond Wildlife Sanctuary consists of beautiful woods, marshes and two ponds. Duck Pond is much smaller than Little Pond which has more than 25 acres of water surface and affords great sport for the fisherman in summer and through ice in winter.
Ducks, geese and other waterfowl are its greatest wildlife specialty but the usual animals including deer and fox are there in abundance. Its sixteen miles of trails are excellent for observation of woodland birds and plants, and in winter are great for crosscountry skiing and snowshoeing.
Before his death in 1963, Mr. Henry Channing of Sherborn had donated the 273 acres which form this Sanctuary, to the Massachusetts Audubon Society.
By an Act of the Legislature provision is made for a parking area and a right of way for pedestrians to Little Pond. This is
Area 3 33
situated on Farm Road east of the Lake Street crossing. Please cooperate to keep this area as a 'Sanctuary.'
#112 - This house, built in 1754, was moved in pieces to its present site in 1938, even retaining its original floorboards and hardware; One of the eleven fireplaces has spoolwork and flowers carved in its panels. Part of the house was rebuilt after the hurricane of that year with wood from Clark's Ice House on Lake Street. (John M. Wood, Jr.)
#137 Lake Street - is on the Farm Road corner. It was built before 1870, and one of the two barns appears to be much older. The roof lines are interesting against the towering trees. (Joseph Clewes)
#138 - This spacious and stately home with its many ells was built circa 1763, for Nathaniel Holbrook Junr., who married Asenath Kendall that year. It has attracted ship Captains through its history, for in the early 1800s, Captain Mears resided there. It then became the home of Capt. Amariah Leland, returning to the town his ancestors had left in 1710. He had a sailboat on Farm Lake when he lived here in 1870 but he continued his long sea voyages for many years as Captain of his barks 'Anna,' 'Ellen Dyer' or 'Lancaster.' Though additions have been made by many owners since that time, with each change taking better advantage of the magnificent view of the water, there still remain the lovely old fireplaces, mantels and gracious stairway to remind us of the past (William G. Anderson)
#156 - This house, built before 1870, has the old wide pineboard floors throughout. Originally an eight-room farmhouse, there were two large additions made in the late twenties - a kitchen and a ballroom - but the windows and old front door of the main part of the house are still in use. (James M. Potts)
#157 - "The Converse Bigelow House" with its large barn was built in 1788 and was inherited by his son Amos. The old house has changed hands quite often and has been remodeled and added onto. (Richard Saltonstall)
#167 - "The Russell House" was built in 1720 for Samuel Morse, grandson of the original settler. At first quite small, it was enlarged by the Russell family who owned it for a hundred years. At the turn of the century, Hayden Channing lived here while he ran the farm across the way for his father, and it was he
who added the ell onto the back of the house and restored the barn. (Richard Saltonstall)
#177 - "Charlescote Farm." This Federal style home was built in 1759 for Joshua Morse, replacing the Fort which had been built by his ancestor for protection during the Indian wars. Beautifully preserved with four fireplaces angled on the central chimney it has the original stairway gracing the entrance hall. Albert P. Morse was of the last generation of his family to reside here and in 1902 Dr. Channing purchased the property. He added the dormers, the north wing and a portecochere. The latter was removed by the present owners in the twenties. (Richard Saltonstall)
#210 - "The Old Saltbox" was built in 1670, by Daniel Morse junr., whose father had purchased this land in the 800-acre property he acquired from the Bradstreet Grant in 1656. This lovely old house and barn are being restored by the present owners. (Harold M. Brabham)
The Farm Cemetery - Nestled amongst the pines and within eyeshot of the Charles River, is the second oldest graveyard in the town, with gravestones dating back to 1688. It really had been the burial place for the Morse family and, in 1887, the Leona Morse Estate gave it to the Town. It is maintained as an Historic Spot.
Area 3 35
Farm Road Bridge - In 1886, Sherborn voted to build a Truss Bridge with the Town of Dover. This old bridge was built in two sections, since there was a small island in the middle of the Charles River then. There was a big bridge from Dover to the island and then a small ten to fifteen-foot bridge from the island to the Sherborn shore. In 1934, when a bridge was to be built to replace these two sections, there was a dreadful hassle as State, County and local officials were involved. Sherborn Selectmen, after vigorous negotiations, were able to persuade the authorities to rebuild the bridge in its original place, removing the small island in the process and retaining the curve in Farm Road.
South Main Street has always been the only direct road from Sherborn to Medfield and, as a result, has a number of old homes on either side. These are not open to the public, but with a knowledge of their history and a little imagination, these houses can be of great interest.
SOUTH MAIN STREET
The Pound is situated just over the top of Pound Hill and in front of #52, as you head south from Sherborn Center. It was constructed in 1770, by Capt. Sanger with the following specifications - "to be six feet high, three feet thick at the bottom and eighteen inches thick at the top, to face the inside, and he to have six pounds if he finish it within one month from this time." The newlywed of the community was appointed the 'Hog Reeve' and was responsible for keeping stray animals in line.
#67 - Built in 1738, by Ezra Holbrook, this house was lived in by three generations of that family before being sold in the early 1800s, to Dalton Goulding, a surveyor. The present owner bought it from Arthur Wright in the 1920s and has added extensively to the original structure. This spacious dormered Cape Cod with its adjoining ells sits behind a white picket fence capping the low fieldstone wall. (Mrs. George M. Barakat)
Area 4 37
#91 - Thomas Holbrook, a Revolutionary War gunsmith, built this house in 1780, or perhaps earlier. It originally stood on the land now occupied by St. Theresa's Church, and was for many years the home of Curtis Coolidge. Patrick McCarthy purchased the house and moved it to this site in 1895, and the move cost only $120! It remained a McCarthy homestead for nearly 50 years. The house has been enlarged, while retaining the lines and features of a Cape Cod, both inside and out. (Robert W. Buntin)
#96 - Originally a small, one story plus attic, saltbox facing south, this house was built between 1760 and 1770, possibly by or for John Ware. It was eventually bought by James Bickford, who added a story and a door facing the road. Mr. Levine acquired it and used it for sorting and barreling his crop of cranberries. By 1945, in a state of deterioration, it was bought and restored by Charles Channing, who moved it a bit south on its foundation. The original south door remains, as does the staircase built against the chimney. The wing, added in 1962, contributes to the colonial charm of this fine Cape Cod home. (Howard J. Barnet)
#102 - This land was originally a grant to Hull, the colonial Mint Master. The house is one of Sherborn's oldest dwellings, built between 1692 and 1703, probably by Judge Samuel Sewell, as a house for his tenant farmer, one Adams. In 1734, the house,
barn, and 200 acres were sold by Judge Sewell's daughter, Judith Cooper, to Capt. John Ware, for £750 (about $4,000). The well-known Rev. Henry Ware was born here in 1789. Thomas Colford bought the house in 1856, and altered the roof-line from its original saltbox with rear roof coming to within five feet of the ground, to the present gable-ended roof. The center chimney has a very steep, narrow, enclosed staircase winding up the front. (Robert Selfe)
Area 4 39
#109 - The main part of this house was built before 1800, by Brayton Bullard, Sr., as an ell on the house at #113. Prior to 1875, it was sold to John Goulding and moved across the road. Two rear wings were added, making it into a double house. In 1884, John Jackson came from England and bought this house, #13, and acreage up and down Goulding St. John F. McElhenney, from Medfield, acquired it in 1908, and it remains in that family. There is an unusual divided staircase in the center hall. (Louis J. O'Neill)
#113 - "Ware Tavern" was built shortly after the Revolution by Eleazer Ware, and used as a 'half-way' house, for some years. A large room, stretching the width of the second story, was used as a ballroom, and about 1830, when Sherborn was for a year or two without a Town Hall, it is said that the Town Meetings were held in this room. Bought by Brayton Bullard, Sr., in 1830, his son sold the ell (now #109) to John Goulding, and added a much smaller one. The house was in the Jackson family before Fred McFarland owned it and enlarged the ell, which was again extended in 1958. (Daniel R. Sortwell)
In the late 1600s, this was a narrow lane leading to the sawmill, which was owned and operated by Joseph Ware. The foundation stones of the mill can be found across from #43. Later this road was known as the road to Dover.
#43 - The barn on this property was built in 1690, and was part of the old sawmill across the road on Sewell's brook. The front part of the house, built about 1710, by Daniel Morse, is one of the few houses facing north. Known as a half-house, it was sold to Joseph Ware, and in 1868, Thomas Burke came from Cambridge and acquired the property. The present owner is Mr. Burke's granddaughter. There are massive beams in the attic and tree-shaped stringers in the cellar. (Mrs. Newman Dearth)
#51 - Thomas Burke sold a few acres on the west side of his property to Asher Ware who built this farmhouse in 1880. It was bought by Patrick McCarthy in the early 1900s and remains in that family. (Mrs. Annie M. McCarthy)
In this area is the site of the home of the first settler, Nicholas Wood, and of The World's Largest Cider Mill.' Please respect the grounds and stones as you enjoy the 'New South Cemetery.' All homes in this area are private but Williams Perennial Gardens is a great place to browse.
#42 - This house was built by Vernal Barber sometime before 1870, perhaps for one of his children, as it is referred to as his 'new house' in Town records of that period. (Mrs. Robert L. Benedict)
#46 - "The Morse-Barber House." In 1671, Captain Joseph Morse, a young farmer from Medfield, married sixteen-year-old Mehitabel Wood, daughter of Nicholas Wood, one of our first settlers. On part of her father's farm "22 rods south of his house" the young couple built their home. The house served as a Meetinghouse until the first church was completed. Morse was recompensed for this service. In 1753, Elisha Barber bought the house and it remained in his family for 150 years. It was remodeled in 1814, but with special care to preserve its original appearance, its low ceilings (all of the rooms are only a bit over six feet in height), its pitched roof in front and gambrel roof in the rear. The barn on this property was featured in the opening scene of Jean Shepherd's program, "America." (Walter Gregg)
#57 - Holbrook Cider Mill, later P. McCarthy & Son Cider Mill site: With only these buildings left of the "World's
Area 5 41
Largest Cider Mill,' which shipped Champagne Cider to England during the last century, it is hard to visualize the great activity that once went on here. It was the first road the Town voted to widen "to take care of the exceeding amount of traffic at the mill." (Bernardi Bros.)
#66 - This house, built circa 1875, is ideally situated for an artist's studio and a large one has been incorporated to take advantage of the northern light. When Shell Oil Company was going through the negotiations necessary to installing a pipeline through Sherborn, they owned this house briefly and used it as an office. (Carl Pickhardt)
#69 - "The Jonathan Holbrook House," thought by many researchers to be the oldest house in Sherborn, was built about 1690, by John Holbrook on land his wife inherited from her father. His wife, granddaughter of Nicholas Wood, was Silence Wood, born in the Bullard Fort during an Indian Raid in 1676. The original site of the house was several yards from the present location. The home is in excellent condition with most of the original paneling, beams and flooring carefully preserved. A pew from an old Sherborn church is used as a bench near the splendid
fireplace. This house has always been owned by descendants of the Holbrooks. (Burlen Mahn)
"Nicholas Wood House Site." The first recorded house in Sherborn was 22 rods north of what is now #46. A hollow mound is all there is to see of this house that was built on the land purchased from the Parker Grant by Nicholas Wood, Thomas Holbrook, and Andrew Pritcher in 1652. Wood built his house on the banks of Sewell stream. His will mentions "the brook that runneth by my house."
SOUTH MAIN STREET
#136 - "The Prentiss House" was built by Nathaniel Prentiss, a Cambridge tailor who came to Sherborn to marry Abigail Ware. In 1745, they chose this piece of her father's property for their home site and their son Stephen inherited the homestead. The Barber family came into possession in 1846, when Vernal
Area 5 43
the elder bought it. His grandson, Milo Frank Campbell, was fire warden for the southern end of Sherborn. Charles E. McCarthy, Sr., bought the property in 1920 and restored it, but subsequent owners remodeled it. This large red house is situated on top of a hill. The pond on the property was a popular skating spot for neighborhood youngsters. (Mrs. Jean Downs)
#137 - "The Charles Holbrook House" was situated well back from the road in 1870, and was a show place. It featured hand-done imported tapestry panels set into the walls. (Malcolm Gillis)
#747 - "The Larkin Place" was built in 1850, for the Larkin family and later bought by Milo Campbell. His store for farm machinery was moved here when he sold the big house across the street to Mr. McCarthy. At one time Mrs. Larkin kept a store here and sold delicious bread. (Elmer Nordfeldt)
New South Cemetery - Joseph Daniels of 2 Snow Street deeded to the Town a plot of land to be used for a cemetery in 1790. Many of his descendants are buried here.
#156 - Further south on a part of old Main Street is a small house which was built as a blacksmith shop in 1788, by James Holbrook. In 1820, it was converted into a house and later occupied by Mr. Nelson who was a beloved school barge driver. It has been tastefully restored by the present owner. (Mrs. P. J. Ham)
#163 - "The Farm," which was built circa 1881, was bought and first run as a farm by the present owners. They cured hams, churned butter and made maple syrup from the trees lining the drive. Flowers, their real interest, filled their fields and a greenhouse was soon built. The family business of growing plants for sale evolved a few years later and was incorporated as Williams Perennial Gardens, Inc. Today everything for a home gardener and flower arranger is available in their shop. (Ralph A. Williams)
This southern part of Sherborn is where the first settlers landed when they crossed the Charles River from Medfield to start a new plantation. Here is the site of the Fort where they successfully held off the attacking Indians, the cemetery where they buried their first dead, and the site near it which they had marked out to erect their first house of worship. Please respect the ancient stones in our oldest cemetery and enjoy this historic area without disturbing the residents of these homes, which are all private.
#2 - This lovely square colonial with its several additions has been restored to bring back the charm, simplicity and warmth of the era in which it was built. Joseph Coolidge was the builder in 1780, on part of the original Leland holdings which he purchased from Henry's descendant, Col. Joshua Leland. Joseph moved the little old Leland Homestead into the dooryard and during the construction of their home, he and his bride, Martha Daniels, resided in it. The ancient house remained on this spot for more than a hundred years, and was here for the barn-raising party, one of the last which the Town enjoyed. When Timothy Daniels acquired the property from the Coolidges, it was still in the family, of course, and both families had Leland ancestors as well! (Franklin King, Jr.)
Area 6 45
The second Leland House, moved north to dooryard
SOUTH MAIN STREET
South School - The foundation of this district school can be seen on the lot opposite and south of Snow Street. After 1910, the children were barged to the Center School.
#220 "The Joshua Leland House"-was built prior to 1800 and faces south. It sits on the west side of the road to Medfield with its large barn and has been tastefully restored. (Harris A. Garland)
Old South Cemetery is Sherborn's most ancient burying ground. There is about it the same quiet simplicity that must have been present when Hopestill Leland was the first person buried here in 1655. Facing the walled entrance and backed by whispering pines is the Memorial Boulder inscribed on its inset bronze plaque, "The Most Ancient Burying Ground, On the West bank of the Charles River, Established by the Settlers of the Boggestowe Farms before 1660. Here rest from their labors The Founders of Sherborn, Holliston, Medway. Erected by the His-
torical Societies of The Three Towns, 1915." Headstones were often not placed on graves in the early years of the settlement to keep the knowledge of their losses from the Indians. This fact, the ravages of time and other circumstances result in there not being many of the earliest stones extant here, but there are several of the 'Memorable Mortality' of 1754.
#258 - "The Holbrook-Death House" was built in 1776, for Henry Death on the site of the house built by the first settler, Thomas Holbrook. One parcel of the Holbrook holdings was the
Area 6 47
only Grant made directly to a Sherborn settler by the General Court. In the oldest part of this house is a small bricked room behind the fireplaces, entered through a stair-riser, which tradition says was part of the underground railroad route which utilized the Charles River. In 1925, this place was remodeled for the Teachers Federation, whose members used it for a vacation resort for some years, when it became widely known as 'Riverbank Lodge.' It has since been tastefully restored. (David C. Forbes)
Death's Bridge is a 1965 construction by the Commonwealth and replaced the bridge which stood a short distance up the river. The original Death's Bridge was the spot that King Philip chose to pin his famous note after the attack on Bullard's Fort at the beginning of the Indian War, "Will war 21 years if you will, the Indians loose nothing but their lives. You must loose your fair houses and cattle." That bridge had been built by the settlers and their friends in Medfield sometime between 1652 and 1676, and was kept in repair and not completely rebuilt until 1915. At that time a plaque commemorating the historic spot was made a part of the bridge, and the old fieldstone abutments, which are all that remain are visible from the present bridge.
#26 - Located in the open, sweeping farm area still existing today much as it did when Samuel Hill built his homestead here in
1791, this lovely center chimney farmhouse bears witness to its antiquity with gunstock beams on the lower floor. It was a Richards farm in 1890, and Esther Richards and her brother, Augustus attended the school on South Main Street, and walked to Sawin Academy. He became renowned as a partner of Charles Evans Hughes and she was the famed psychiatrist practicing and teaching at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. (Henry M. Bliss)
#63 - "The Mary Lizzie Ware House" was built by her grandfather, Alpheus Ware, in 1800. In this beautifully appointed square
Area 6 49
colonial, the present dining room served as the kitchen when it was the Ware place, and is about all of the antiquity that remains. (Dr. John D. Constable)
Bullard's Fort Site is on the sloping land between Boggestow Pond and the Charles River and here the first settlers took refuge at the slightest alarm of an Indian raid. Benjamin Bullard and eight of his neighbors constructed the Fort in a superior manner, like a regular fortress. Two stories high and with double rows of portholes on all four sides, it was built of field stones brought from a quarry about a mile away. White oak planking was used for lining and provided roofing for this 70-foot-long historically fascinating structure which so successfully withstood the attacking Indians. There has been much interest in this site and it was during the 1940s that Harvard University, while doing a geological survey here, unearthed early colonial utensils.
There are no buildings open to the public in this part of town but the country certainly is. Please do not disturb the residents. At the foot of Cross Street do stop and gaze out across the meadows dipping into the valley and see the most beautiful New England landscape. In spring the old orchard is abloom and so are the flowering crab across the swale. In summer the cows on the hillside, with Swiss bells around their necks ringing out the different tones as they graze, make you think you might be in the lower Alps. The trees in fall display an unbelievable array of color and winter finds the hills alive with sleds and toboggans as each generation rediscovers how great this valley is for coasting.
#104 - "Woodland Farm" was part of the Hopestill Leland settlement and the main house was built by Hopestill Leland, jun., who married Mary Bullard, February 24, 1702. Their son, Daniel "inherited his father's place s.w. of Sewell's meadow." Daniel's twin sons, Moses and Aaron, were inseparable in their youth and had their homes next to each other when they married. Moses inherited the east part of his father's holdings which included this farm. The date of early 1700, for the main house, was verified by Architect Edward Goodell of Wayland when he restored some of the old features. The detached carriage house and small milk house are still standing and the main house has the large center chimney of the true colonial, with one of its fireplaces in the paneled library on the west side of the entrance. (Fritz W. Bilfinger)
#114 - This home of delightful modem architecture is not one of our old houses but it is on this hill that the twin, Aaron, who inherited the west half of the Hopestill Leland holdings, built his home. It burned in the late 1800s but the foundation of this
Area 7 51
Revolutionary house is being transformed into a sunken garden by the present owner. (Robert C. Delaney
#144 - Between where Apple Street exits and Greenwood Street enters Woodland Street, stands the Hodge House, a comfortable farmhouse of the mid-nineteenth century with a curved and pillared porch added in more recent years. Its large red barn is surmounted by a windowed cupola from which Mr. Hodge could see where his cattle had roamed when he wanted to fetch them home in the afternoon. (Domenic Furino)
#8 - A grandson of the twin Moses who lived at "Woodland Farm" at 104 Woodland Street chose this knoll to place his home in the 1840s. Of the house, all that remains of the 1911 fire is the granite doorstep just north of the barn, but the picturesque barn stands and is 'motif number One' of Sherborn. Augustus H. Leland built it well with tenon and mortise, hand-hewn beams and pegs, a neat hayloft and even a leanto, large enough for two carriages.
It appears that the boards he used may have been green, for daylight shows clearly between most of them and they were originally strapped, but it was just this spacing that let the old barn weather the big blows which turned others into kindling. (Mrs. Amalia Gheringhelli)
This narrow woods road was once part of the Post Road, for coming up Washington Street from town, the coach turned onto Greenwood Street, thence across Ash Lane to Hollis Street, and joined Washington Street beyond what is now the Holliston line. They wouldn't consider trying to build a roadway across the marshy lands of Dirty Meadow then, but sensibly detoured around it.
#78 - Patrick Heffron came from Hopkinton in 1896, and built his homestead on this southerly slope. Here the Rev. Edward J. Riley made his residence when he came as the first Pastor of St. Theresa's Chapel, until he purchased the Rectory on North Main Street. Here, too, one of the first nursery schools in town was run by Miss Alice Heffron preparing young ones for the rigors of the classroom. (E. Alice Heffron)
#110 - "The Greenwood House" was built in 1821, by the master builder of the era, Ebenezer Mann, and into it he put his finest woodwork in the two mantelpieces which took two men four weeks to complete. Aaron, who inherited the house from his father, had no children and left his estate to his church, the Town Library and the Widows' and Orphans' Society. In 1913, extensive remodeling was done, and here is a fine example of a spacious country dwelling, secluded behind a six-foot high stone wall. (Robert J. Cronin)
#102 - "The Eames Place" was built by Jonas Greenwood when he moved his family up the hill in 1765, and here the engine from the Farm Pond Steamship 'Atlanta' was set up to grind apples for Jonathan Eames, Jr., who had also inherited a large orchard. The extensive red barn with cupola has a small barn or ell attached where apples were sorted and stored when this was Russet Hill Farm. The house is a well-proportioned, center entrance colonial with other outbuildings clustered near it. The fireplace walls in both living and dining rooms, paneled to the ceiling, speak of the craftsmanship of the builder. (Kevit R. Cook)
This area is all private farmland but it affords a delightful triangular walk. Please do not disturb the residents.
As you approach on Mill Street, before you in the fork of Mill Street and Nason Hill Road is one of the last water storage towers in Sherborn. The base of the tower is of stone and it sits on an outcropping of ledge on Nason Hill. This provided the Stannox Farm buildings with gravity-fed water pressure and is a picturesque part of the past. The Stannocks region in southwest Sherborn contained twelve original homesteads and 1200 acres. The word, stannocks, came from the Nipmuck Indian word denoting their houses and it was in this fertile area that the tribe chose to live. The name was first applied in a derisive way during a school argument concerning the division of districts, but it came to be proudly espoused.
NASON HILL ROAD
#11 - "Stannox Farm" was one of three homesteads which evolved from the Grant to Captain Kayne. In 1703, the original house burned, and sometime before 1750, the present house was built as a saltbox with a center chimney, which has a smokehouse built into it. You can easily stand up in this room, and runaway slaves hid here, according to legend. At a later date the roof was raised and ells added. In the middle 1700s, John and Sarah Fisk lived here and their daughter Abigail, who married Captain Samuel Learned, inherited. Frank Daniels, the historian, resided here with his family until 1908, when it became a summer home for different owners who employed resident managers. The present barn is a nineteenth-century building. Since 1961 Stannox Farm has been farmed as it was in the 1700s and 1800s by resident owners.
#36 - "Red Gate Farm" was the home of Nason Hill., from whom the road takes its name. His father bought this place about 1792, as that was when he married Abial Nason, and no one married then unless he had a house at hand or being built, for houses were scarce. The previous owner, Jonas Fisk, had married Mary Hill, a distant relative of James Hill, and built the house around 1765. His brother John married Mary's sister, Sarah, and built the house at Stannox Farm.
The two properties abutted, and before additions and alterations the houses resembled each other closely and the families had a close association. The teachers at the Stannocks School often boarded here, paying Mr. Hill a dollar a week.
This old house is typical, with a large central chimney, two large front parlors (facing south) and a long room behind them on the north, with little rooms at either side. The house remains basically the same, although some of the deepset windows have been replaced, but the inside frames are the originals. The front
Area 8 55
room fireplaces are closed with iron fireboards and brass ornaments.
There are entrances along the street to bridle paths through the woods, and extensive trails exist behind the houses on both sides of Nason Hill, Hollis and Mill Streets. In the fall the Hunt makes a colorful sight following the hounds through the brilliant foliage. (John W. Peirce)
#23 - "The Baruck Leland House" was built in 1750, and against this one-and-a-half story saltbox was built a substantial gable ended house in 1817, with the oval gilt-figured tableau of the period over the entrance. Dexter Cozzens added a barn after he purchased the place in 1836, and only this barn and outbuildings were saved in January 1915, when a chimney fire spread to the woodwork and consumed the house. This fine old barn was enlarged in 1910, and ties the home built shortly thereafter, to the past. When Walter Leland, born in 1787, lived here and his brother Lemuel lived in the Old Red House, they quarreled bitterly and Lemuel would not allow Walter to cross a small portion of his land which stretched across the entrance. At Town Meeting the argument was settled by making the driveway a public way, and so it remained until this century, when it was released to W. H. Burlen who then owned the place. (Edward H. Tuton)
Area 8 57
#24 - When this was the Nash place, it stood several yards north and in front of #28. William MacAlpine bought this acreage and moved the house to its present site for his home in 1948. (Harold Kramer)
#27- "The Old Red House" was built by Deacon William Leland in 1717, and was one of the houses referred to by an observer of more than a hundred years ago when he described the houses in the Stannocks district as "...built of wood of the country, not following the English fashion but creating a style of architec-
ture of their own - rude, primitive, with an individuality and dignity..." Such is this house, which was occupied by Leland families for many generations. Later, Moses Burlen, who married China Ware, made it his home. Even today, description of its interior can be expressed almost exactly in the words of the aforementioned observer "...while there is no fine work in the old house, there is much quaintness, notably the absence of mantel pieces. The place is replete with chimney cupboards above the fireplace and beside it. The north room has three hooks imbedded at intervals in the ceiling before the fireplace. The staircase very crude and narrow." (G. Farrington Fiske)
#28 - "The Benjamin and William House" had this building for its barn. It was converted to a home in 1926. The Nash Cottage was moved from its front lawn and the present owner has renovated and added a touch of colonial formality to the entrance by adding pilasters and dentils. (Mrs. Barbara D. Whitman)
#118 - "Hopestill Farm" stands on the western corner of the junction of Hollis and Mill Streets. The present house is a replica of the original which burned in 1939. However, it employs colonial dimensions so authentically that it is usually mistaken for the original. Some of the timbers were saved and used in the big barn which was also consumed by fire in 1968. The first house was built in 1810 by James and Samuel Leland who were born and grew up in the "Old Red House" on Hollis Street. This property is significant because it has been in the same family since 1654. Henry Leland died in 1680 leaving vast amounts of land
Area 8 59
to his descendants in various parts of town. The late James F. Leland, who died in 1973, was the ninth generation to hold this property. (Mrs. James F. Leland)
The Saw Mill Site - From Hopestill Farm diagonally across the corner is Brown Meadow and as you proceed down Mill Street, you will pass over Brown Meadow Brook which comes from the quiet Mill Pond on the left side of the street. It was here that the first James Leland built a saw mill which was operated by three generations of James Lelands who gained their power from the water rushing through the sluiceway of the dam. When the mill burned in 1920, it was replaced by an electrically powered one in another location, but the road is still Mill Street and Mill Pond is still great for skating.
With the exception of Stongate Farm Stand, none of the buildings in this area is open to the public, but there is much to enjoy.
This part of the town is the early West Sherborn and has continued its family farming character longer than the rest of the town.
#128 - This lovely and very typical large New England farm house was built by Addington Gardner when he settled in Sherborn in the early 1730s. It has a large, central chimney and fireplace and, like many other early houses, sensibly faces the warming winter sun rather than the road. The ell at the rear was added at a later date, and has one of the town's few remaining attached carriage sheds, the eighteenth century version of the two-car garage. Four more generations of Gardners farmed the land until 1911, when it was sold out of the family. It was bought by Ward J. Parks, who held numerous town offices while he maintained a dairy farm. Until recently his big barn with its haymows and horse stalls stood across the street. (Frank Mott)
#133 - Addington Gardner's great, great granddaughter, Delia Gardner, married Alfred Leland and built this house facing the end of Western Avenue, in 1845, on part of the old farm. Delia's father offered her 24 acres at either end of his property. This is the spot she chose, and she and Alfred built their farmhouse in three stages with the most recent nearest the road. They
Area 9 61
chose the 'Greek Revival' style of architecture most popular at that time with its rectangular plan and temple facade of triangular pediment and side pilasters. The side panes beside the front door must have made it easy to keep track of traffic on the Post Road. (Richard L. Marchand)
Until recently Western Avenue was a shady tunnel under towering elm trees, but other trees are gradually taking their place. On either side of the Avenue, farmers mixed crops and dairy because of the claylike soil in the area.
#320 - Captain Caleb Leland's son, John, inherited this home that his grandfather had built at the time of his marriage in 1708. After John's marriage to Caroline Jones in 1783, the place became known as the "Jones Leland Home." The old barn stood to the north of the ell, which has gunstock corner posts and adze-fashioned exposed beams. In this home are six fireplaces whose double chimneys are supported by a ship's keel! It is a fine example of a hip-roof colonial with a fanlight and sidelights at the center entrance. On the lawn the old well sweep still reigns. (Mrs. Jacques Leek)
#282 - Another modest farmhouse, this was built around 1820 by Royal Stone. That the farm was originally part of the Morse-Tay holding with its homestead next door is evidenced by the roughly pie-shaped stonewalled fields with the points at the location of the Morse barn, a Yankee practice which made it easy to switch-gate the cows into any of several fields right at the barnyard paddock. The two properties may well have been divided at the time of Stone's marriage to Sally Tay. The modest interior is typical, with wainscoting to chair height but of barely smoothed horizontal boards, and birdseye maple floors that change to rough pine planking at rug edge. The ell may be older with its wider pumpkin pine boards and beveled outer wall sheathing. There is framing for a seven-foot kitchen hearth and a ten-foot square chimney. A unique feature of the ell is its nine doors opening out of the keeping room. Two of the doors to the outside line up in such a way that a horse could be driven all the way through to deliver the fireplace backlog.
All of the old houses had moderate to large barns. As in the houses, the beams were adze-shaped and sturdily pegged together with treenails. As family farming declined, so did the barns. Each barn had a typical plan of haywagon door into the central bay, floor-to-ceiling haymow on one side, two stories on the other side for hay above and cows and horses below. The crawlway under the main floor was for the pigs. (Robert P. Johnson)
#266 - Captain Joseph Morse held large tracts in West Sherborn which he divided between his two oldest sons. James Morse built here about 1700. In the 1770s, Dr. Jonathan Tay settled here as the town physician dispensing cures to local residents. Brook Street was long known as Dr. Tay's Lane, and the home has been owned continuously by his descendants.
The chimney supports four fireplaces and a dutch oven. There is an attached shed but the barn, which stood quite a way northwest of the house, is gone. It was a large barn with an attached cowshed and full cellar with a cider press and large vat for making apple butter. The graceful fanlight and dentilled pediment over the east door of the house and additional square lights and pediment over the south door, tiny dentils above the twelve over eight upper windows and the heart-shaped motif on inside shutters all suggest that this was built for someone with means, grace and social prominence. This is one of the very few three-quarter houses in the town. Diagonal beams from the corners to the summer beams are features unique to this early period and are evident here. (Miss Sylvia Hawes)
Area 9 63
#255 - "Micah Leland House" was built by Captain Eben Mann in 1824, one of a number of houses which he built in Sherborn. It has twin chimneys and was built with a hip roof. The roof line was radically changed several times and most recently when the house was remodeled in 1944. (Carleton C. Comins)
#215 - At the junction of Woodland and Washington Streets lived Charles Champney, a currier, with his leather-working shop nearby. He built his home, quite a small place, before 1820, but
it has been extensively added to over the years. It still has a brick Dutch oven in the L-shaped cellar, 36-inch-wide attic floorboards and pumpkin pine sheathing. (Robert W. Brooks)
#237 - The corners of Western Avenue and Washington Street have had small business ventures since about 1915. Where Stongate Farm is now, was a miniature golf course, then the rage, and a small gas station and farm stand to attract tourists out for a drive in their Model T's. On the opposite corner stood a competing two-pump gas station and small store which sold cigars and candy as well as its farm produce, but all were gone in the early forties. In 1951, Stongate Farm expanded and built their stand and the corner was again a busy place. The Stongate Farm Stand is a most attractive flower and vegetable stand run by the second generation Mr. and Mrs. George Wakeman. The farm gets its name from the stone gateway at the original location of the farm, 215 Washington Street, where the senior Wakemans sold eggs. Then they added dressed poultry and home-grown produce. These proved so popular that they built an addition to the stand, as well as plants-greenhouses which make up the present complex. Today, people come from great distances during the growing season for the delicious Sherborn-grown vegetables and fruits with which George, Gertrude and their sons daily stock the stand. (George Wakeman)
#254 - This house was built before 1870, for Asa Lenox. It was originally quite small and has been added to considerably. In 1915, Mr. Mitchell, editor of the Fox Breeder's Gazette, and Dr. Samuel Wadsworth, a noted Boston veterinarian, established a Silver Fox Ranch here and scientifically raised prize-winning show and breeding stock in small buildings and fenced-in areas scattered throughout the 50 acres. At that time prime silver fox pelts brought from $200 to $400 apiece. Dr. Wadsworth built the west wing of the house and designed and planted a formal garden that brought visitors from considerable distances. A unique feature of the house is a curved inner 'corner' wall in the original dwelling. (George C. Penshorn)
Dopping Brook is the western boundary of Sherborn, for in 1724, Holliston was incorporated as a town and set apart from the mother town. Ye people 'West of Dopping Brook' petitioned the Legislature because the committee building the new meetinghouse at this time were not open to choosing a more central location, and the old meetinghouse hill was just too far removed from them. Therefore, Holliston is celebrating her two hundred fiftieth year as we celebrate our three hundredth.
These are all private homes, excepting only Farmer Braun's Vegetable Stand at #190 Western Avenue, "The Braun Farm." The site of District School #3, called The West School, with the old hand pump remaining, is now part of the Town's Conservation land. Western Avenue is the only street in town whose numbers start at the town bound, so you will notice that we have the higher numbers first as we travel towards the boundary.
#32 - This house in outward appearance does not look very different from what it did when it was built in 1690, by the Twitchells. C. O. Littlefield lived here for many years and when he put on new clapboards, he found loopholes in the boarding. These loopholes permitted the inhabitants to peer out as they fired from inside during the Indian Wars. This home has been carefully restored, and with its great, old barn and cupola topped by a fine, old weathervane, it stands, neat and trim with its distinguished appearance, after a useful life of nearly three hundred years. (Sewall H. Fessenden)
#46 - Built in 1844, by the great gunmaker, William Leland, this home replaced the Old Badcock Place which had stood across the road and which Leland acquired by buying the 'widow's thirds' from his relative. He attached a Gun Shop to the new house, and raised the barn using mortise and tenon construction. The small horse barn nearby was built with hand-made blue nails. In the house, the kitchen chimney boasts two iron Dutch ovens. (Harold G. Hildreth)
Originally lined with only Whitney farms, Whitney Street runs through the town boundary line and thence toward the town of Ashland. The Railroad Station for West Sherborn was just off the road and Daniel Whitney had a horse which was never late for a train, but couldn't be made to hurry for one until the engineer started blowing the whistle.
#42 - At the turn of the century, this was an Episcopalian Chapel located on a right of way that continued to the Railroad Station. It was remodeled as a home, but the granite stone which stood at the church entrance is still there. (Donald J. MacDougal)
Area 10 67
#68 - This attractive farm cottage with its doorway capped with dentils and flanked by pilasters still has the old roofed well in the yard. It was built by a Whitney before 1870. (Randall A. Harvey)
This road, which 'curves' from Western Avenue to Whitney Street, was long ago a way to the two houses described here.
#6 - Born in 1715, Grace Bullen, the daughter of Ephraim, continued to live in this house after her marriage to James Morse because she had inherited this portion of the land her family had owned as early as the 1680s. Galim Bullard purchased the property and, in 1822, gained fame when he erected the 'W' Stone. In the early 1900s, the Tuckermans in remodeling, paneled the dining room to duplicate the one at the Wayside Inn. (John E. Carlson, Jr.)
#10 - "The Timothy Twitchell Place" was part of Galim Bullard's holdings when he resided next door and was inherited by Timothy through his marriage to Galim's daughter. This was one of the houses owned by the religious group active in the area in the early 1900s and they incorporated the original cottage in this much enlarged home. (James A. P. Homans)
Happy Hill Nursery School was founded in 1948 by Phyllis Chickering. It was originally situated on a hill at 127 Western Avenue, thus deriving the school's name. In 1956, this place was built at 30 Curve Street with special features to accommodate the nursery school. The Henry Lanes purchased in 1971, and Mrs. Lane, a graduate of Boston College School of Education with seven years' teaching experience in public schools, has continued the school. Judy Mailman of Hollis Street also teaches at Happy Hill. (Henry Lane)
The West School. A little red schoolhouse of one room standing close by the road was replaced about 1859, by one a bit bigger and set a bit further back. At that time the trees in the schoolyard were set out, one by each family so that a child would say all his life, "This is my tree." In the early 1900s, the children all went to Center School and the school was moved east to serve in Daniel Whitney's water tower building till it burned. Sally Whitney was the most noted teacher here and the longest 'in office.'
#790 - "The Braun Farm." An original map of this property drawn by Sherborn surveyor, Dalton Goulding, in 1828, hangs in this charming house. Known then as the Crackbone Farm and so titled on the old map, this house was built before 1750, when Joseph Crackbone married Lucy Coolidge. The Fitts family, who used the farm as a summer place, remodeled it in the early 1900s. The new barn they built was struck by lightning and burned in the 1922 storm. All the cattle were removed during the fire but one calf, whose would-be rescuer had to be saved himself. It was ten days before the cattle were rounded up. (Robert Braun)
Farmer Braun's Vegetable Stand offers the products raised on "The Braun Farm." The acres are farmed with sheep, chickens and organic farm produce. Organic gardening uses companion planting to control bugs, and animal fertilizers and wood ashes for fertilizer, which eliminates the use of commercial chemicals. (Robert Braun)
Area 10 69
#147 - "The Cleal House" was built before 1820 by Joseph Cleal, whose descendants occupied it for a hundred years. Harold Stinson who lived here in later years drove the school barge for this district and he carefully bundled each child into a blanket and covered them with hay in winter, for it took the barge an hour to get across town to the school. This house is set end to the road and has cathedral fans over the windows, striking in the simplicity the building. (Richard G. Dixon)
#137 - Built about 1825, for Captain Goulding by Sherborn's master-builder of the period, Ebenezer Mann, this place was bought in the early 1900s by Mr. French who named it Hebron Farm and started a religious group "The Believers." His wife's father lived next door and acted as preacher. Neighbors in the immediate area were involved in the experience. (Allen Z. Kluchman)
In this part of Sherborn there still stand four houses which were built between the years 1680 and 1870. It is only recently that the fifth house, built by Benjamin T. Twitchell in 1680, was demolished. This stood on property that is now the Elijah C. Barber Reservation on the west side of Western Avenue, acquired by the Conservation Commission and dedicated in July 1968, in honor of Elijah C. Barber, Sherborn's Town Clerk for 53 years. As noted before, the low numbers on Western Avenue are at the Framingham boundary, so that, as we travel from town, the higher numbers precede.
#113 - "Oldfields" bears a name in use for this area before the incorporation of the town and so-named on the ancient instruments. The house, which is situated across from the entrance to the Barber Reservation, was built before 1788, for a Morse, and in 1871, H. Alger bought it and resided here while he pursued his career as a railroad engineer. This twin-chimneyed colonial is beautifully situated end-on to the street and has a two-storied ell. There are large barns and other outbuildings amid spacious grounds which are fronted by a six-foot high step wall fashioned of field stones. (Dr. David J. Hand)
#26 - On the west side of the Avenue and well back from the road is
a house built more than a hundred years ago by George Coolidge. The
original part is built with a dry stone foundation and huge beams. The
father of the man who built this house was so proud when his son was born
that he waxed eloquent in an
Area 11 71
acrostical stanza to the infant George, the initials of each word spelling his name:
(Ralph B. Meaney)
The Barber Reservation
BRUSH HILL ROAD
#52 - Colonel Nathan Straten married Mary Bullen and "they settled on the farm left by her father at Chestnut Brook now Isaac Cozzens" wrote the historian, Morse, in 1856. Their first child was born in May of 1761, thus dating the house as having been built circa 1760. There is evidence that at one time it was a very much smaller building which was later doubled in size. The east side of the house has thick walls insulated with birch bark and the ceiling of the room to the rear is slanted, denoting that in the beginning the house was a saltbox, facing south like all the others. The construction of the west side of the house shows it to be of much later construction (Fletcher C. Chamberlin)
#60 - "The Fay Place" was built by Thomas Sawin circa 1680 and is one of the oldest of Sherborn's saltboxes and it, too, faces south. Thomas had a sawmill across the street on Chestnut Brook, now Course Brook, and provided the boards for the building of the first church. When he removed to live on Broadmoor,
near the grist mill he had set up for the Natick Indians, a sawmill continued to be operated, on this site, by different people, including Isaac Cozzens in the mid-nineteenth century. (William H. Claflin, IV)
Area 11 73
Fairfield Farm - This is one of the older family businesses still operating in town. Started in the 'teens by Donald R. Mayo at 255 Western Avenue, he moved his herd to this acreage because of a superior well, and this farm is now run by his son, John M. Mayo. It provides a large route of milk customers and has never failed to make a day's deliveries. Here is a place where you can get good old-fashioned milk that has cream on the top for whipping!
Please be respectful of the cemetery property and its old headstones.
Brush Hill Cemetery was a gift to the town by Joseph Perry in 1785, and his 21-year-old nephew, Luther, was the first person buried here. Adjacent to this cemetery is a smaller walled area which once was used for people connected with the Reformatory, at that time within Sherborn's bounds. This was replaced by 'The Clara Barton Cemetery' situated across the street and owned by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Clara Barton, who aided the Red Cross and gained national recognition for her service to the Civil War soldiers, was the third head of the Reformatory for Women, accepting this position at the urging of a Sherborn citizen.
There are no buildings open to the public in this section of Washington
Street with the exception of the Library. Do drop in, catch your breath,
and browse awhile. Hours are Mon. Wed. Fri. -
Stand at the point where Maple Street joins Washington Street and face towards Holliston. Originally Holliston Road, it was a portion of the old Hartford Pike that went on to Milford, Uxbridge and thence to Connecticut. Just picture the old coach proceeding through town from Boston on its way south and the excitement it must have aroused. George Washington passed through Sherborn on his way back to Virginia in 1789 - his last visit to New England. Having been refreshed at the local tavern he made his way down the Pike, stopped at the Asa Sanger House (#70) at the foot of Bull's Hill, and briefly conversed with Asa, who was mending a wall. What a story to tell your grandchildren! Back to the present - and walk across the way to the....
"This library is a gift to the town of Sherborn from Richard and Mary B. Saltonstall - devoted citizens for over fifty years - dedicated January 1971" - thus reads the inscription on a heavy beam on the inside of this striking contemporary building - nestled on the site of Sawin Academy, surrounded by a 'Greek Revival' church, Victorian Town Hall and an early 20th Century brick schoolhouse. A real asset to the town, the library is designed to house 35,000 volumes and serve 70 readers. Attractive study areas, two huge fireplaces, private rooms and a very able staff make for pleasant surroundings for meetings or just plain browsing. A beautiful old beech tree stands guard over the building - a relic of the days of Sawin Academy.
Area 12 75
SAWIN ACADEMY and DOWSE HIGH SCHOOL
Built into the southerly retaining wall of the new library is an engraved stone, which reads: "Site of Sawin Academy and Dowse High School - 1874-1962." Although the stately brick edifice is no longer standing, the Academy played a unique role in the town's educational history. The school report for 1870 made a most important announcement, namely, a bequest to the town by Martha Sawin of Natick, to establish "a select school in the centre of the town." The town gratefully accepted the gift, a name was agreed on and the site was bought from the Russell heirs for $2,000. The dedication took place September 10, 1874 - 100 years ago. Among those present were U. S. Vice President Hon. Henry Wilson (Natick's shoemaker) who delivered a brief address. The school flourished and in 1910, by special act of Legislature, became a public high school, and finally closed its doors in 1949 because of lack of pupils. The building was razed
in 1962 and at that time, many townspeople, for old time's sake, bought a brick or two. Some are still in use as doorstops.
The first public schoolhouse was voted by the Town at a meeting held on December 29, 1727: "Then at said meeting there was a vote passed to Build a Schoolhouse and to set it on the Meetinghouse common on the Southerly side of the Meetinghouse." This was the beginning of the trials and tribulations of public education. The present Center School was completed in 1910, replacing a wooden building, and stands upon land near the Library. This same year saw the unification of the many area schools, including Sawin Academy, with the children being brought by school barge to this new building. It was enlarged to its present size in 1949 and has been altered several times since. Until 1957, when Pine Hill School opened its doors, Center School housed kindergarten and the first six grades.
Area 12 77
#22 - The Flagg family has been in residence here since the late 1700s. Originally, the land was part of the Town Grant purchased by William Hill, a blacksmith, who built on it before he sold it in 1747 to Caleb Greenwood. Ownership was transferred to the present family when the land was purchased in 1772 by Rev. Elijah Brown at which time it was altered and enlarged. Rev. Brown was pastor of the church across the way till 1816 and popular with his parishioners - perhaps because his lectures in cold weather were from ten to fifteen minutes, no longer - quite a change from two hours. He taught a select Classical and English school in his home and fitted many students for college. This twin-chimneyed, center entrance Colonial boasts seven fireplaces. The exposed beams and corner posts are but two of the features of this eighteenth century home. (Jacob B. Flagg, Jr.)
#27 - "The Blanchard House" was built in 1849 by Palemon Bickford and purchased six years later by Dr. A. H. Blanchard whose family have occupied it since that time. It is of the 'Greek Revival' type of architecture which was popular in the middle of the nineteenth century. This style was noted for its severity and symmetrical lines. The facia board and molding below the gutter was carried across the front of the house to accent the triangle of the gable. Also the vertical boards at the corners of the house are twelve inches wide with molded caps and bases to simulate columns. The lintels over the first floor doors and windows are higher at the center than at the ends, carrying out the triangular idea. The house was framed with mortise and tenon joints fastened with oak pegs and sheathed in one-inch oak on both walls and roof. There is a fireplace with brick oven in the ell. In 1861, an addition provided room for Dr. Blanchard's office with a separate entrance from the new porch. (Joseph K. Blanchard)
#42 - "The Grout Farm" has been the home of one family for a number of generations. There are but few places you will find in town where the descendants live in the old homestead. The present house was built in 1859, a very splendid one indeed. At the time of construction, some of the old home which had been standing when they acquired the property from the Greenwoods in the 1760s, was incorporated in the small building near the road. (Francis Grout)
#60 - This charming red saltbox was originally built as a center chimney colonial. Its date is uncertain but it is recorded that
in 1734 Richard Sanger 3rd, bought of the heirs of John Hull, Mintmaster of the colony, one half of the remaining Hull grant, and built the house for his farm help. However, some historians date the house some 40 years earlier, 1690 to 1700. At any rate, the twin chimneys were added in 1775. The paneling from the front parlor of the old house was used as lumber to roof in the saltbox addition. The large ell was added in 1961 by the present owners - in keeping with the Revolutionary period. (Franklin N. Wood)
#70 - "The Bullen-Sanger House" was built by Elisha Bullen whose first child was born in 1684, thus dating the house. It is said to have been reshingled at the time of the Battle of Bunker Hill. The men at work on the roof heard the guns of that battle, the wind being from the east. In those days the handmade shingle riven from cedar logs with a frow were known to last over a hundred years. Elisha was the son of Deacon Samuel, incorporator of Dedham, Medfield and Sherborn, and his brother Ephraim also built in Sherborn west of Brush Hill. An early feature in the house is the brick beehive ovens, the earliest type for baking
Area 12 79
in the colonies, which are located at the back of the yule-log size fireplace in the summer kitchen. The present resident of this ancient home is a descendant of many of Sherborn's first families, including the Lelands, Holbrooks, Morses, Deaths, Twitchells and Bullards. Back of this house lies the 'Goomer,' a rough, rocky bit of woodland. Here, according to legend, are two saddle bags crammed with pirate gold buried in 1704 by one William Bull who was a mate to Captain Kidd and a friend and boon companion of the senior John Phipps. Hannah Bullen, daughter of Elisha, had married 'well' into the family of Sir William Phipps, Colonial Governor, whose relative shared in the treasure of the Spanish galleon. (Francis B. Shepardson)
There are no open houses or buildings on this street, so please do not disturb the residents.
One of the older streets in town, this hilly road was once the principal route west to Ashland from Sherborn and it extends approximately two miles along the southern edges of Paul Hill and Bear Hill. Though it is much improved today over the dips and rises which horsemen and wagons traversed one hundred years ago, today's traveler will still see the carefully and laboriously built stone walls which bound its many adjacent, once open, grazing fields. These are now filled with young hardwood and pine. Many of the old 'corner' pasture trees and roadside trees that were standing then are also visible including, notably, the sycamores in front of the Gray house, the ash in front of the Fischer house, and the many maples lining the street.
Let's drive on this winding, country road in autumn with maple trees ablaze in color. These trees were brought down from Vermont by Mr. Holden and laid in his brook for eight years before he set them out along the road. When he came to Sherborn the road bore a sign with an arrow saying "Ashland Road" but, because of his tree planting, it was renamed Maple Street. He often saw a horsedrawn wagon, headed for market, from which willow baskets were hung in profusion, for this was the street where the four Fleming brothers situated their willow weaving industry.
Cranberry pickers gathered the harvest in the lowlands, using tools made by a Sherborn blacksmith. On both sides of the road cows, horses and sheep grazed within the stone fenced pasture
Area 13 81
#12 -- "The Newman House" was built circa 1775 as the wing of the original Porter-Locke house that stood on the site of 8 Washington Street. When Colonel Sanger built that present house in 1819, it is thought he felt it too good to raze and, after using it as quarters while the new house was being built, he attached it thereto. When the place was purchased by Abijah Leland, he moved both the south and north ells, taking away some ten or twelve rooms. Thus the south ell was moved to this site and purchased by Maurice Slattery. (Mrs. Edward Newman)
#16 -- "John Fleming House" built in the late 1850s by one of the Fleming brothers who established the Willow Industry in town, John chose as his site a high knoll overlooking a sprawling meadow. (A. Stanley Pittman)
#18 - "Thomas Fleming House" was built circa late 1850s by a Fleming brother who didn't want to 'leave his work at the office' for he framed his home astride a brook and set up shop in the cellar. (Mrs. Ira Pease)
#31 -- "The Grout Place" came to rest here after a trip across the meadow in 1961 from "The Grout Farm." Built in 1859 by Franklin Grout as one of the great new barns, it was remade into a country home in 1961 by John Bryer for the Grouts who have continuously held this land since 1760. (Robert F. Grout)
American Legion Hall. The William A. Bosworth Post 237 of the American Legion erected this building in 1929, at the corner of Green Lane, on land purchased from Mr. Parkinson for a nominal sum
#37 - About 1868, this pretty cottage was built by the carpenters who worked on Sawin Academy and here dwelt another Fleming. At one time people felt this street should have been named for the many Flemings who dwelt on it. (Mrs. E. Augustus Johnson)
#39 -- "The Emerson Holden House" was built about 1850 by Emerson's father, a carpenter from Vermont, and using only hand tools, he formed one of the first curved stairways in the area and enhanced the windows with carved moldings. He, too, married a Fleming - the lovely Charlotte from up on the hill, and it
Area 13 83
was he who planted the many maples lining the road. (Mrs. E. Augustus Johnson)
#56 - "The Clark House" was built for James Clark circa 1850, and the last one of that family to live there was "Katie" who endeared herself to many as a practical nurse. (J. Douglas Paul Jr.)
#58 - This simple farmhouse was built in 1856, by John Fleming, a retired minister. It was built in front of an existing structure, now the step-down ell where the kitchen, a bedroom and den are located. The garage is built on the foundation of a barn where Fleming started his willow products industry. A large willow tree to the east of the house may have been propagated from the 400 sprigs reportedly brought from England. Its age is not known, but the white ash on the front lawn is estimated to be more than 200 years old. (Edward W. Fischer)
#80 - "The Coolidge House" built circa 1840, by George Coolidge. His son Lowell was hurt in a blasting accident clearing boulders from his pasture and was ever after known as "One-arm Coolidge," but he still did a fine day's work. Interesting stone-lined drainage tunnels are found in the grounds here. (James R. Burley)
#90 - "Buttonballs" so named for the sycamore trees planted in 1789 around it, was built in 1722. Samuel Clarke, Jr. brought his bride here to live through their lives, and four generations of the family have been born under the roof. Seven generations have lived here, and the main part of the structure which was built in 1778, remains as it was then, with brick fireplaces and oven, a smoke closet, hand-hewn oak timbers and hand-wrought nails. (Arthur C. Gray)
#93 - "The Nothrup House" was built before 1870, by Isaiah M. Nothrup. Reverend Porter, a Civil War veteran, lived here until his retirement from preaching about 1914. (Arthur C. Gray)
#97 - "The Emerline Sanger House" which he built circa 1850, has in the ell behind the main house an interesting fireplace into which a large hemispheric-shaped iron caldron has been built to boil maple sap into syrup. (Murray W. Randall)
#119 - This house was built circa 1840, for Stillman Ramsdell who brought his bride, Eunice, from Southboro. Barns were attached to the main house until destroyed by fire but the house remained intact. The barns were later replaced, but separate and at some distance from the house. (Harry C. Crawford, Jr.)
Area 13 85
#140 - "Ashmont Farm" was built before 1775, by Eleazer Leland, who was the son of Deacon William of the "Old Red House" on Hollis Street. This house first served as a summer residence and later a permanent residence of the Carter family for five generations. To the north of the house are great ledges spoken of in old deeds as Rattlesnake Castle. To the left of the house, at the foot of the hill, runs the beginning of 'Dirty Meadow Brook.' This beautifully kept home was once a large farm with many barns, carriage house and many storage houses. The farm buildings were located directly across the street where Old Orchard Road now begins; the 'hand-dug' pond, on that same side, provided the water for the farm animals. (John G. Carter)
The West Cemetery - Please be respectful when visiting our cemeteries and be most careful of the ancient stones. The oldest one here is that of Mrs. Hannah Sarah Twitchel bearing the date of September 29, 1791.
#168 - "The Cushing House" built by Brick, circa 1780, has kept its original lines and even the old glass in the windows. Hand-hewn oak beams are exposed. A fireplace large enough to turn a whole animal on a spit and a Dutch oven are part of the charm of this ancient place. (Carl I. Drew)
#190 - "The Whitney House " John and his son James built this large farmhouse in 1800, and it remained in the Whitney family for three generations. It is situated on high ground overlooking a man-made pond and boasts the town's only brick barns, which were built by George Dexter, a wealthy Bostonian who used this as his summer home for the first part of this century. (Mario Onorato)
Situated around the Common are the Town's Memorials to her heroes. Please respect the cemetery property and its ancient stones. All the homes are private but the Dowse Memorial Building is open:
#8 - "The Colonel Sanger House" was built by Ebenezer Mann for the Colonel's home in 1819 replacing what had served as a parsonage from 1711. One of the ministers planted the horse chestnut which stands before the house. Two great wings were moved from this house to become homes on Maple Street and Zions Lane, and the property once boasted the largest barn in town. The dentils which adorn the roofline, the intricate sidelights flanking the front door and the excellent fanlight over it are particularly notable. (Arthur C. Babson)
#12 - Here on the corner of Maple Street and opposite the First Parish is a white clapboard house built in 1819, for Colonel Sanger's law office and here, as Sherborn's first Postmaster, he had the Post Office. The house today is considerably expanded and changed from the original simple structure. (Robert Luther)
The Memorial which is on the triangle where Washington Street meets Main Street was erected in 1969 to honor Sherborn men and women who served in World War II.
The Memory Statue which is opposite the World War II Memorial is dedicated to Sherborn's heroes who made the supreme sacrifice in conflicts from 1676 to 1918, and their names appear on bronze tablets set into the stonework. The Memorial is in the Roman Doric style of architecture and its most conspicuous and
Area 14 87
impressive feature is a bronze statue representing 'Memory' by Cyrus E. Dallin. The eight foot figure is that of a woman with downcast face in an attitude of pensive remembrance of the sons of Sherborn who gave their lives for their country in the French and Indian wars, the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, the Civil War, the Mexican War and World War I. It is linked with the most recent of these conflicts by a metal helmet wreathed with a chaplet of laurel which the figure holds in her encircling arm. The inscription at the base of the statue reads, "In memory of the men of Sherborn who gave their lives in defense of their country." This memorial was a gift to the town from William B. H. Dowse.
The Memorial Flag Pole, which is on the same site as the Memory Statue, was erected to memorialize those men who gave their lives in World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War. Their names encircle the marble base which is inscribed "In Memoriam."
Central Cemetery with the stone of Grace Bullen, dated 1686 the first stone placed here, is the third oldest cemetery in the town and is on land that was originally part of the Common. Please respect the cemetery property.
NORTH MAIN STREET
Dowse Memorial Building - This is currently being used for Town offices but originally was built for a library in 1914 as a memorial to the Reverend Edmund and Elizabeth Bowditch Dowse by their son, William. In the Board Room, accessible to the public, are portraits of William and his mother and two of his father, one as a young man and the other as a minister. Over the fireplace in this room is the portrait of Thomas Dowse of Cambridgeport, who willed money to the Town of Sherborn which was used to build the Town House. In this room the Selectmen now hold their regular meetings every other Tuesday. The building is open for Town business from nine to five during the week and from nine to noon on Saturday.
Sherborn Historical Society - The lower level of the Dowse Memorial Building is where the Society holds its meetings and displays the many historical treasures collected since its incorporation in 1913. You are invited to browse when one of the Curators is in attendance during the hours that the building is open.
Area 14 89
Dowse Memorial Office Building
#1 - "The Everett House" This graceful gable-roofed dwelling was built in 1833 by Captain Bowen Adams for Dr. Oliver Everett, who had been called to be the town's physician. Of particular interest is the fact that this house, which has a fine fan-topped center doorway flanked by pilasters, has remained in the same family to the present sixth generation and remains essentially as it was built with the attached carriage shed and well house. The original specifications of the building contract are in possession of the family and state the overall cost to be $1700! (Thomas J. Homer)
#9 - "The Onion House" - Mrs. Onion who lived for many years as a widow in this house is remembered as a tiny figure swathed in black who had many cats. This house was built for Captain Samuel Pratt before 1840 and is a charming example of an early Cape Cod house. Note the oriental influence reflected in beautifully balanced front entrance. (Daniel J. Harrington)
#15 - "The Stone House" was built circa 1850. This was the home of the historian, Francis Bardwell, at the time of his death in 1950. This large house, built by Nymphus Stone is one of the few which still has the original barn standing. (John A. Luczkow)
#16- "The Clark-Tabor House" was built in 1842 for George Clark who had but a short walk to the store which he tended for the Hawes brothers, situated on the present lawn of the Town Office Building. The Pearmans acquired this house with acreage in 1965 and opened Ellendale Stables and their principal goal is to maintain what they call a 'family stable.' They have built two barns including a large indoor riding arena and maintain, in addition, two and a half miles of riding trails. (O. Dale Pearman)
#77 - "Unity Hall" is not visible from the road. This charmingly renovated house was moved here in 1959 from the Common at 10 South Main Street. It was built for Palemon Bickford by Captain Bowen Adams to be a straw hat factory. It has since then led a varied life: in 1855 it was known as Bickford Hall and was a private school with 53 pupils at $4 a term! It was bought by the church in 1873 for a parsonage. Later it was called Unity Hall and was used for Sunday school and church and town recreation. (John C. Bryer)
Area 14 91
ZIONS LANE AND LINDEN LANE
It is better to walk down this dead-end street than to drive because there is no turning space. Please realize there are only private homes here.
#5 - This is a clapboard house with the perfectly arched fanlight over the doorway flanked by louvered shutters, and a walled garden where Miss Farrar kept her prize Toggenburg goats. A primitive of her ancestors was donated by Miss Farrar to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts and may be seen in the Karolik Collection of paintings. This home, built in 1819 by Ebenezer Mann, was a wing of the house at 8 Washington Street until it was moved here in the late 1800s. (James R. Boynton)
#8 - This house, built prior to 1870, was saved from burning when the house that stood behind it went up in flames. When the barn caught fire, the townsmen worked frantically in the winter night to tear down the connecting shed which threatened to ignite the house. (Charles F. Rockwell)
#5 Linden Lane - This was a small house when built, prior to 1870, but it was greatly enlarged and remodeled by Dean Wheatley. (George F. Wilkins, Jr.)
Crossing the railroad tracks on North Main Street brings you into Sherborn's business district and the town's Recreational Area. The shopkeepers are friendly and help retain the small town atmosphere while dispensing the most up-to-date products. You will find that Sherborn businessmen put old-fashioned service first.
NORTH MAIN STREET
#19 - Klein's Mobil Station is owned by Lester G. Klein, who has served as Chief of the Fire Department for several years. He has operated the business since 1930 and his son, Stephen B., is now associated with him. Together, they not only service cars, but also sell snowmobiles, tractors, snow blowers and a complete line of lawnmowers.
#21 - Country Kitchen is described by owner Joan Mott as "a happy-go-lucky breakfast and luncheon place." It is also known as a fine spot to enjoy a great home-cooked meal, and probably the only place you can get pies made from scratch, with the apples
Area 15 93
peeled each day, and cream pies served with real whipped cream. The Country Kitchen was started by Mrs. Genevieve Heffron in 1959, because she felt that there was a need for it. Three years later she sold the business to Barbara Klein, Minetta Eastman and Joan Mott, but Mrs. Eastman bowed out that same year. Barbara and Joan continued together for two years and often asked each other, "How will we keep this great big double boiler filled with homemade soup?" Joan Mott carried on when Mrs. Klein withdrew in 1964, and with the able help of Mrs. Alice Massa, who has been with her for ten years, does manage to get that 'great big double boiler' filled with homemade soup each day during colder weather. Noteworthy, also, is the proprietary interest Sherborn takes in this venture, for it is not unusual during a busy lunch hour to see regular customers help themselves, run the cash register, clear some tables, and even wash dishes!
#23 - McArthur's Market was established in 1959, by Irving McArthur, and William "Bo" Van Blarcom is the present owner. McArthur's remains 'old-fashioned' - in the sense that quality and service are stressed, and meat is cut strictly to order, with free delivery in town. Since McArthur's was granted Sherborn's first liquor license in 1971, they have offered bottled liquor, beer and a varied selection of wines from many parts of the world.
#25 - The Village Barbershop was established in 1967, and owned by Herve Pelland, who keeps shop Tuesday through Saturday doing men's, women's and children's hair cutting.
#27 - "The old Justin Bullard House" was built prior to 1860, and moved here from where the Post Office now stands after the Civil War. In 1959, Jo Bryer and Grace Hardigan moved their real estate business, started the previous year, from Jo's home to a small office built just south of the ice cream stand. Business boomed and in 1966, they bought this old Justin Bullard House, which the building prowess of Jo's husband, John, restored for the office of Bryer & Hardigan Associates, Inc., with two apartments on the second floor. The little red building moved with them and is now housing the barber shop. The business prospered but was sold in 1971, to the real estate firm of Mrs. Joan T. Pease where Grace remains a part-time broker.
Pease's Real Estate was incorporated in 1960, by Joan T. and Kenneth Pease as The Peases, Inc. They had their office in their home at 93 North Main Street. Mrs. Pease bought this prop-
erty in 1971, and, as sole proprietress with the staff of five, continues to operate a thriving business.
Paul Insurance Agency, Inc. has been a family insurance business since 1828, when Daniel Paul was appointed agent for Middlesex Mutual Ins. Co. It has been active through five generations, and was first conducted at the family homestead, 21 North Main Street, then at the present owner's residence, 2 Eliot Street, and since 1968, at the present address. The original policy, issued by Daniel Paul, the founder of the agency, may be seen framed and hanging in the office.
Pine Hill Cemetery was dedicated in 1852, and is Sherborn's newest burial place. The first four ministers were reburied here from the old Central Cemetery and a monument erected in their memory. (Please respect the cemetery property.)
Ward J. Parks Skating Pond. This town skating pond was dedicated by Richard Saltonstall in 1966, who said, "By making this gift, I am able to commemorate a most devoted public servant, who was Selectman for fifteen years, a man of fine character and likable personality."
Area 15 95
NORTH MAIN STREET
The Sherborn Fire Station was built in 1946, and houses three of our fire trucks and the rescue truck. The rest of Sherborn's fire apparatus is housed in the Farm Road Shed, thus affording equipment on each side of the railroad tracks.
St. Theresa's Rectory at #24 is a distance from its church on South Main. This home was built in 1840 for Andrew Bullard, who had a large shoe manufactory where the Fire House stands. It was bought by the Archdiocese of Boston in 1946, as a home for the Pastor of St. Theresa's Parish.
The Town Recreation Area, located between Pine Hill Road and Cemetery Road east of Main Street, was purchased in 1923, for a "playground." There are now four playing fields for Little League, Farm League and the Men's Softball League. The fields are also used for junior football and soccer. Because of its location, the area is well used for both planned and casual recreation. In this area also are the Town's tennis courts, built in 1947, and provided with lights since 1969. The courts receive constant use in season with instruction programs provided. In addition, the Sherborn Tennis Association runs an annual Fall Tournament open to all town residents. The toboggan run on the north face of Pine Hill provides a long season of extremely fast sliding. The swings and slides situated in a corner of the grounds under the shade trees is a nice place for the younger children in the lazy summer weather, and it is here that bandstands have been set up for many of Sherborn's former celebrations. Many generations have enjoyed the Fourth of July fireworks as they sat on their blankets spread on the grass of the ballfield.
#26 - Devitt's Garage is a family business started in 1926 by John F. Devitt and his brother, Thomas D. Devitt, whose son, Thomas J., is now in charge. The garage provides all types of automobile service as well as operating a Chevrolet Dealership continually since 1926.
#27 - Mr. Hamburg, Inc. was first established as a Brewster's Ice cream Stand in 1958. This stand is frequented by passing travelers and the youth of the town.
#29 - U. S. Post Office, Sherborn, Massachusetts, was dedicated on May 22, 1965. It is open from Monday through Friday from 8 to 5:30 and on Saturday from 8 to noon. Sherbornite Mr. Lawrence B. Connelly is Sherborn's Postmaster.
#31 - Alfred Hairstylists. This business was started in 1966 when space in Ivar's block became available. Owner Mrs. Barbara Greene provides a tastefully run accommodation.
#31 - Sherborn Apothecary. Michael V. Conena, Registered Pharmacist, is the proprietor of this shop opened in 1965. Besides getting prescriptions and medicines here, all Sherborn knows it's the place to come for papers and magazines, greeting cards and stationery supplies, cosmetics and boutique gifts.
#31 - Framingham Trust Co. The Sherborn branch office of the Framingham Trust Co. provides the town with quick, efficient banking services.
POWDER HOUSE LANE
#5 - Professional Building
Area 15 97
The Depot is no longer standing here where it was witness to much of the life of the town for nearly 70 years. It has been moved and converted into a house at 20 Lake Street. Wagons and carriages converged on this spot to meet the passenger trains and milk was dropped off in the milk house next to the station. Henry Bullard was a likely choice for the first Stationmaster for he lived at the corner of the lane, which was then named Depot Street. When the Depot was moved away in 1938, it was called Railroad Avenue.
The Coalsheds were operated by Alfred Carter when he became Stationmaster. You could be sure of your delivery 'between trains' and with the coal came the news of the day, of course.
The Powder House was built by the Town in 1800, so that the gun powder could be removed from the Meetinghouse where it had been stored, causing a great deal of concern to the womenfolk. James Bullard was appointed Keeper, and the building was conveniently placed in a meadow overlooking the lane which ran behind his house at 33 North Main Street. Bullard Lane, at that time came in from Hunting Lane and then turned west up Brush Hill. (In 1870, the railroad tracks bisected this lane.) The site of the Powder House, which the Town voted to demolish in 1857, will be on your left at a crest in the hill, as you walk up the delightful grass-covered way that runs between stone walls.
NORTH MAIN STREET
Along Main Street the old colonial houses are all situated close to the road with modest driveways to the side. Ignoring the more recent buildings it is easy to imagine this as a dirt road overhung with great elms and the clean, white houses sitting comfortably amid simple stonework and small yards.
#30 - "The Mann House" was built circa 1782 for Eleazer Dowse whose daughter Polly married the master builder, Ebenezer Mann, and this became their home. Mann's daughter outlived
three successive husbands and always demanded that she be addressed by all her names "Mary Ann Mann Bullen Blish Pratt." This house and parallel barn sit opposite Powder House Lane and exemplify the quiet simplicity of the post-Revolutionary period of architecture. (Mrs. Charles W. Taylor)
#33 - "The Bullard House" was built by Colonel Sam Bullard in pre-Revolutionary years, and his first child was born here in 1762. The walls in the front rooms were stenciled rather than papered. This hip-roofed colonial has twelve over twelve windows and a narrow fanlight in the center entrance doorway. The imposing residence is further enlarged by substantial north and west ells. (Thurlow S. Widger, Jr.)
#32 and #34 - "Old Ben Bullard's House" was built prior to 1800 by Old Ben as a two-family house, one side for himself and one for his son. It stands solidly, end-on the street, with twin corner porches and entrances on the north and south sides. (John R. Fitzpatrick)
Area 15 99
#36 - "The Rockwood House" was built in 1840 for Charles Rockwood, in the architectural style so popular in that period. It has recently been remodeled and divided into apartments. (Ronald Buitta)
#41 - "The Paul House" was built by the Hon. Daniel L. Whitney in the first half of the eighteenth century. One of our most illustrious citizens, he was a member of our State Convention. He served as a Representative to the Great and General Court and later in the Senate. Capt. Daniel Paul bought the house in 1824, and it still remains in his family. He was a retired sea captain and established a famous tavern here, adding the south ell to the ancient house. He also added the old Center school as the west ell. Other additions were later made, but one descendant did move an ell away! The beautifully proportioned, hip-roofed southern ell is attached to the gable-ended colonial with its center entrance flanked by intricate sidelights, set off by elegant hanging lanterns. (Mrs. Lesley C. Paul)
#44 - "The John Holbrook House" was built in 1880 by one of the sons of the successful cider mill operator. This spacious example of Victorian style architecture was the showplace of Sherborn and one of the first with central heating. The owners made the most of this innovation, for the radiator in the dining room has a built-in, glass-doored cupboard for warming dishes. John also built in an acetylene plant for gas lighting, but electricity arrived in town before this was ever used. (William Broer)
#46 - "The Dr. Tapley Wyeth Place" is a federal homestead, the front of which was built by Dr. Tapley Wyeth in 1790. He was a physician in Sherborn and settled where Deacon Benoni Learned had lived in 1679. With its low ceilings and tiny rooms, it is possible that the rear section of the house is the original Learned home. It is most definitely an earlier structure than the larger federal front of the house which the Doctor built. Dr. Wyeth represented Sherborn in the General Court in 1813, and served the town as Selectman for six years. His widow conducted a dressmaking business, and endeared herself to her neighbors. The gravestone of their daughter, Eliza, has been in the cellar of the house for many years, rediscovered by the present owners. The interiors of the two front rooms reflect the style of the day with paneling surrounding the fireplace in the north room. The room to the south was the Doctor's office and retains the original interior shutters on the windows and the large brass knob and lock combination on the door leading into the hall. Once level with the road, the house was raised in the late nineteenth century but not moved. With its pleasing leaded windows flanking either side of the front door, the house presents an example of refined elegance in the federal style of architecture. (William A. Van Blarcom)
Pine Hill School has served the town as a grammar school since the addition and renovations were made in 1971, when a large central library was surrounded by open classrooms. Prior to that time it had served as the town's elementary and junior high school from the time it was built in 1957. It is ideally situated next to the recreation area of the town.
#16 - This home was the north ell of the "Paul House" and was moved here long before there was an Eliot Street. This square hip-roof wing had been added to the main house before 1875 moved away before 1899. (Doris M. Nilson)
The houses in this section are all private residences, with the exception of Sherborn's Town Shed. Please do not disturb the owners as you enjoy the area.
NORTH MAIN STREET
#51 - This house was originally built for Captain Partridge, whose family came from Medfield and married into the Perry and Babcock families here, both of these families appearing to have been business associates of Partridge. It has usually been said that the house was built in 1800, but parts of it appear to have been built at different times. The front has higher ceilings and larger rooms, while the back has low ceilings with some exposed corner and ceiling beams and smaller rooms, thus indicating that the back was built first. This house and the one next door, #53 and #55, had always been owned by the same family until 1939, when the property was divided and sold.
The former kitchen contains a large cooking fireplace with brick oven, dry oven for wood and a clean-out door from the hearth to the cellar for cleaning ashes from the fireplace. Below the fireplace in the cellar is a brick arch for storage and another large brick area, apparently also for storage. The house has been rearranged at various times to conform to the needs of the time. (Alvin C. Tyson)
The owner of this combined property at one time raised strawberries for the Boston Market. These were picked and hulled by women, and then driven in a horse cart by the owner in the very early hours of a Saturday morning to the Faneuil Hall Market. The women felt underpaid, and so one day refused to hull the berries after they had picked them. What was the poor man to do? He took his unhulled strawberries to market and sold them at a price reduced from what he could get for the hulled ones. When he next went to market, the dealers told him not to have his berries hulled any more, as they kept much better with the hulls on. This was the first time that strawberries were known to be sold with hulls on and probably the beginning of that custom.
#53 and #55 - Built in 1796, for Captain Harvey Partridge as a factory for making pitch and spading forks, this is the older of the only two stone houses in Sherborn, the other being on Curve Street. Cranberry rakes and broad axes also were made here. Captain Partridge had a way of tempering steel that made his forks more durable than others. This secret was never revealed and died with him. The letters "H.P." are carved in the stone over a door and are assumed to be his initials. The walls of the house are 12 to 15 inches thick. At the time of the War of 1812, the building was extended at the back, which is apparent from the fact that the masonry in that area is not as well done as the excellent work at the front. During, or after, the Civil War, this building was converted to a house. At one period, it fell into disrepair and the roof leaked, so the owner, who lived next door, stored fruit here, a evidenced by the brown stains still remaining on the floor. The beauty of this house is its durability and quaint charm. (Robert M. Clark)
#54 - "The Amasa Green House," built about 1800, stands north of Butler Street. Amasa was a carpenter and the town coffin maker. The north side of the house has full height basement door and windows which opened onto the coffin shop. The house was greatly remodeled and the interior changed about 1930. There were no undertakers in the early days and funerals were always the day after death except in very cold weather. When death visited a Sherborn family, Amasa Green was notified. He arrived with his tools, horses and lumber and proceeded to measure the dead person for his coffin, which he built right then and there. It is said that he made coffins with six sides, not four. (David W Crellin)
Area 16 103
#58 - Very little is known of the early history of this house, but since it was assessed in 1870, we know that it was built before that. Originally it was a story and a half Cape. About 1900, its roof was raised and the house left open to the weather during litigation. Later, it was remodeled. (Lesley C. Clark, Jr.)
#59 - "The Andrew Newell Place" was bought of Mr. Amory of Boston by Newell, and was the lot originally assigned to Nathaniel Morse upon the Plain. Andrew settled here about 1767. Mr. Grout's grandmother was born here in 1840, when her father, Elijah Leland, owned it and later, a library was maintained here for the school across the street. The large, square colonial stood in front of the original barn, which is still standing, on the north side of the drive and cornerwise to the road. A stone wall, however, curved into the driveway in such a manner as to create the optical illusion that the house was square with the road. This house was replaced by the present one in 1895, and is occupied today by Mrs. Emma Houghton who is the holder of Sherborn's Gold Post Cane as the oldest resident. (Kenneth S. Thomas)
#60 - This house was built in 1834 by Hiram Jones, as a school and called the "Plain School" because it was on the Plain. This school district was so-named. Hiram was from Dover and had worked on the First Church. The school was remodeled as a house by Charles Olsen in 1900. Formerly, it was set further back from the road with the playground for the children in front of it. (Wesley F. Jensen)
#61 - "Lemuel Leland House" was built about 1810, by the famous builder, Ebenezer Mann, for Lemuel Leland, still renowned for his finely made guns which are now collectors' pieces. Ebenezer also built the Gun Shop for him between the house and Indian Brook. The shop was later made into a house, then removed to Lake Street, and finally destroyed by fire. (Angelo A. Cialdea)
Area 16 105
#5 - Jeremiah Butler was born in Hopkinton in 1789. He served at Sherborn as an apprentice at carriage-making, and in the autumn of 1815, he settled in Sherborn. He built his house in 1818, at least most of it handmade by him. He painted "1818" in various places throughout the house. It has been occupied by his descendants for over five generations. Since he made the wheels for the carriages manufactured next door, one wonders if that may have been where he apprenticed. He was known as "'Squire Butler" and often held Court in his dining room where he could close the wooden shutters when Court was being held. This street is named for him.
Jeremiah had a telescope and set up a post on Brush Hill to support it. There he would take his guests and show them all the landmarks within twenty miles. While a young man, he heard of an instrument at Harvard College called a 'thermometer' that measured temperature. When he had a home of his own, he bought one of those new instruments and people from all around came to look at this curiosity.
Squire Butler's old wheelwright shop was later moved across the grounds and added to the back of the house, making the present ell. In front of the house are stone posts connected with iron chains. In the center Jeremiah placed a gate made of iron rods with iron chains connecting the rods. On the tops of six of the posts are letters, one on each post: B-U-T-L-E-R.
When he made his will, he had only two daughters surviving, Rowena Butler and Mrs. Vorestus Ware. The will states that the house was to be equally shared by the two women, Rowena to have the large ground floor room on the east side with the two chambers above it, and her sister to have the large ground floor room on the west side with the two chambers over it. This is one of the few old houses in Sherborn that has not been restored. It still retains its authentic old-time charm. (Mrs. Robert W. Allison)
Town Shed - A committee of five was appointed by the Moderator in March 1959, to report to the Selectmen on plans for a new Highway Department building. They agreed that it could be built for $35,000, but the final figure was $40,000. The building was occupied in 1960.
#29 - The exact date this house was built is not known, but it is known that it pre-dates Eliot Street, which was constructed
about 1830. The property faced on Obed Lane and included a carriage shop which is now the barn, and the wheels for these carriages were made next door by Jeremiah Butler. After Eliot Street was put in, Duross cut a door on the second floor of his carriage shop and built a ramp out to the new street. The descendants of the carriage maker were spoken of in the Natick Bulletin of 1897 as 'summer people,' and, at this time, quite a number of Sherborn houses were occupied by people from the city as summer places. This interesting home was restored in the forties by Mr. Dauley. (Jeffrey B. Nachman)
#45 - Joshua Holbrook, who was born in September 1819, had this house built in 1845, with his paint shop nearby. It eventually went to his grandson Irving Holbrook, whose wife's name was Mamie. Irving and Mamie belonged to the Whist Club and always had to have the club meeting first in the autumn before the stove was set up in the living room, as afterwards there was not enough room for the whist tables. After they died, the place was sold, in 1950, to Walter Townsend who restored it. This restoration included adding a section to the front of the house, thus enlarging it considerably. (George J. Goldsmith)
Area 16 107
#47 - "The Collins House" was originally a large and elegant carriage house built by Ebenezer Mann before 1821. The frame was moved from Maple Street just off Washington Street and this center entrance colonial built from it. (Robert G. Ambos)
Enjoy the exteriors and the Green. Except for Beresford Antiques at #86 and the Stand at #100, these are all private homes.
Dowse's Corner encompasses the area formed by the intersection of North Main, Coolidge and Lake Streets, and is one of the attractive and interesting corners in town. Nineteenth century houses mostly white with dark shutters face each other across the roads with an air of dignified companionship. Even the modern apple stand has a history. Eight of the houses in this vicinity were built for members of the Dowse family, and two are still occupied by them.
The corner must have been a busy place in the 1800s. The first member of the family to settle here was a leather dresser, and succeeding generations carried on the manufacture of whips and shoes in a number of shops around the houses, and raised applies, vegetables and eggs for sale. The largest shoe shop in town was a four story structure built on the point of land between Coolidge and North Main Streets. On a dry and windy day in 1907, it burned down in a fire started by sparks from the train.
Joseph Dowse planted ash and sycamore or buttonwood trees on the triangle when he returned after the Revolution. One of each is left to celebrate the bicentennial along with the country. Six varieties of Douglas fir were planted here by the Tree Warden Harvey Davis, after World War I, and all but one were preserved when the intersection was redesigned in 1969.
NORTH MAIN STREET
#83 -Moses Perry built this house, one of the oldest on North Main Street, about 1782. Around 1800, it was sold to Moses Chamberlain, who erected a tannery. This business-and-home was bought by Deacon Oliver Fisk in 1814. Built and expanded over a period of years, the earlier part of the L-shaped house retains the low ceilings and wide pine board floors. The present owner discovered insulation composed of rags glued together with newspapers dated 1860. (Willard R. Tougas)
Area 17 109
#84 - This house was built for Deacon Oliver Fisk in the middle 1800s when he moved here from across the road. The house was altered during the 1930s, but its nineteenth century design is still apparent. (Bruce Marcel)
N. DOWSE & SON,
#86 - This charming little house was built for Emlyn Sparhawk in 1833, and was bought by the present owner from Emlyn's granddaughter, Sarah, who taught third and fourth grades in Sherborn for 44 years. Emlyn and his son carried on their cobbler's business in a shop in the field. The shop was moved between the house and barn in recent years and serves the present owners as an antique and clock repair shop called Beresford Antiques. Sparhawk found that his house occupied the site of a stockade defense against Indians. The remains of a row of posts set together in the ground were discovered when he was excavating for the cellar, together with a quantity of arrowheads, so there is more history to this site than meets the contemporary eye. (Carl Beresford)
#91 - This house was built about 1814 by Benjamin Dowse, a whip-maker, who married Thankful Chamberlain. Two of his children were William Chamberlain Dowse and the Rev. Edmund Dowse, who became pastor of Pilgrim Church. The house was built in stages, the lower back first, an enlargement of that and then, as fortunes prospered, the center-entrance front section, about 1830. At that time the tax assessment was partly determined by the number of window panes in a house. Benjamin had doubled the windows in his house by the addition and must have been relieved when the method of assessment was subsequently changed. The house has three chimneys with eight fireplaces. There is wide-board wainscoting with lapstrake-type grooving, gunstock posts and handsome carved moulding. Terraced gardens were laid out when the Saunders family owned it, and they also carved one of the fireplace mantels with classic wheat and flower pattern. (William Gulliver)
#93 - Lowell Coolidge built this House about 1850 on land bought from Benjamin Dowse. The house is a copy of #100 with the exception of the porch and, as it was built all at once instead of in stages, all the rooms are on the same level. Coolidge had the second largest shoe manufactory, on an open lot to the right of the house. After 1908 this shop was moved to Holliston and made into a house. The house includes six fireplaces, wide board floors and fine plaster work and stenciling. (Richard H. Bates, Jr.)
#1 - Andrew Jackson Church, who invented a very successful carriage wheel jack, built this house in 1851. He and his son, Waldo, worked at Dowse's Shoe Factory, where Jack was supervisor of the stitching room. This house was designed to be heated by stoves and so has narrow chimneys, but a fireplace has been added. (Robert A. Bullard)
Area 17 111
#3 - This house was built in 1846 for Joseph Dowse, Jr., on family-owned land. Joseph, a whip-maker, followed the family's tradition of public service. (Seymour W. Carter)
NORTH MAIN STREET
C. A. Dowse & Son, Inc., a family business now in its fourth generation, are apple growers with 45 acres of producing orchards in Sherborn. They pick, sort, and store their crops of about 20 different varieties of apples during the season.
Roughly 95 per cent of the crop is sold direct to consumers from the stand at Dowse's Corner on Main Street. Plant facilities are spacious, comprising a packing shed with the latest kind of grading machine, a cold storage area which holds about 2,000 bushels of apples at 32°F, and a large stand heated for the late Fall and Winter selling.
Not many years ago a cider mill was added to the operation, and cider is made every two or three days and kept under refrigeration, as no preservatives are used. A more recent development was the creation of an extensive Christmas Tree plantation.
This undertaking requires all members of the family, including children and grandchildren, to pitch in. It requires some 30 other hands during the harvest season to operate it, and is the kind of enterprise which helps to strengthen the rural character of Sherborn.
#100 - Built for Joseph Dowse in 1783, this house has been called home by a Dowse family ever since. His son Nathaniel had a whip-making shop at the far end of the ell and a shoe shop where he made brogans across the street. During the Civil War the inventory backed up until the front rooms of the house were stacked to the ceiling with shoes, and the floors had to be reinforced with double beams, still to be seen in the cellar. The oldest part of the house is now the ell as the rest was rebuilt about 1844. (Charles A. Dowse, Jr.)
#102 - This house, built in 1854 for Nathaniel Henry Dowse, was a copy of the house next door. Henry, as he was called, was sent South, following the Civil War, as an agent of the Federal Government. His task was to assist in the rescue of valuables that had been looted from Confederate families, restoring them to their owners if possible or selling them at auction if not. The house was extensively remodeled in 1942, and some of its Greek Revival features are now being restored. (Michael J. Goldberg)
This road was laid out in 1852, and a squashy job it must have been in this section between North Main and Eliot Streets, because the brook crosses the road twice, and there is a swamp along one side. The widening of Indian Brook for a waterhole was begun after the shoe-shop fire in 1907, when many wood-shingled roofs in the neighborhood were threatened by flying sparks and the fire engines were hard-pressed for water.
#13 - "White Oaks Farm" takes its name from the splendid old trees on the knoll behind the house. Built by William Chamberlain Dowse, it was the first house on the street (about 1856, on land given by his father Benjamin). It was inherited by William's son, Aaron, a journalist and editor of The New England Grocer and prominent in State and Town politics. This house had its cedar-shingled roof replaced with a metal one after the 1907 fire destroyed a barn on the property. A later near-disaster was turned into an asset by Joseph Lavash, who ran a chicken farm here in the thirties. Lightning struck a nearby tree, traveled along its root, and blew a hole in the cellar wall. Mr. Lavash decided the cellar could use an outside entrance and built a bulkhead around the hole. The ell was extended, its roof raised and a fireplace added by the present owners. On the knoll behind the house is
Area 17 113
a little cottage built about 1897 for Boston-dwelling relatives as a summer home, which has since seen many generations of honey-mooners. (William C. Price, Jr.).
#20 - This house was built prior to 1870 by the Railroad as their station at the end of Depot Street (now Powder House Lane). It was moved to this site and remodeled as a home by Elmer Dingley in 1938. During the move the house got stuck in the middle of Lake Street between a tree and a telegraph pole. The moving crew let it spend the night there and continue its journey in the morning - a tribute to a more leisurely way of life than our streets see today. The remodeling was done with great imagination and taste, and a particularly fine feature is the graceful central stairway with its curved railings. (Mrs. William J. Rooney)
#23 - This house was moved to this spot around 1890, but its origin is hard to trace. It was undoubtedly a store and post office downstairs and an open hall upstairs. The upstairs ceiling was curved, and the original wood-shingled roof is still in place beneath the newer one. The ell was added by the present owners. Obadiah Morse, Sherborn's first Town Clerk and first school teacher, had his home behind this house where a foundation is visible. Obed Lane, which starts where his house stood, was built so that he could get to the Meeting House. (Andrew R. Scott)
There is much to see here but please do not disturb any of the residents as these are all private homes.
Rockwood Street derives its name from the Rockwood family whose home, which was situated here, became Sherborn's Alms-house in the latter part of the 1800s. In 1934, it was destroyed by a fire which started from a kerosene lamp. This is one of the dirt roads in town which affords a beautiful chance for a walk, taking the traveler back to the way the roads were at the beginning of this century.
The Road to South Natick and originally part of the Post Road, Everett Street was named for Dr. Oliver Everett who lived here when first called to be Sherborn's physician in 1825.
#14 - This house was built sometime before 1875 for G. Martin Coolidge and at that time had a large barn and carriage house. Sherborn's constable for the north of town, George Alexander, lived here in the 1920s. (John Nichlasson)
#22 - "The Perry Chamberlain House" was built in the 1860s for Perry D. Chamberlain, whose blind daughter Grace lived here until her death. The limb of a tree had been fashioned to lead from the top of the stairs to the brick-lined shallow well in the cellar and this was worn smooth by Grace's many trips to fetch
Area 18 115
water. The present resident of this old Sherborn home is a descendant of the ancient families who settled Sherborn; the Holbrooks, Woods and Lelands, as well as the Bullards, Deaths, Twitchells, Morses and Pratts who were also in Sherborn before 1700. (Alfred H. Lincoln)
#28 - "The Edgar Smith Place" was built by Wetherbee Chamberlain in the 1830s. This house has an unusual false entrance-way at the northwest corner which is symmetrical with the true door at the northeast corner. A picture taken in 1880 when the three generations of Smiths lived there, shows a large barn, later removed. The photo shop to the rear was destroyed by a fire in 1948 which nearly spread to the house. In this shop, Sherborn's Master Photographer, Edgar Smith, had been kept busy recording all of the Town's affairs from christenings to parades during the last of the 1800s and into the 1900s. (David Bair)
#31 - This veteran house retains the wide-board floors laid when it was built in 1830, by the Morses, but one of their descendants later took the original front door to Texas where he had emigrated. Horace Barber, who bought the house from the Morses, was also bitten by the 'go West, young man' fever of the 1850s, and removed his family to Kansas. (Joseph F. Sobieski)
NORTH MAIN STREET was continued to Natick in the 1850s, crossing the quicksand-like marshes of the lowlands.
#106 - Built in 1819 for Joseph Dowse, it was intended to have a hip roof, but Dowse changed his mind midway through construction. It retains the slanted casings he had placed over the windows. It was owned by different families until in 1925, the Edmund C. Dowse family purchased it, causing the Framingham News to write, "So in process of time the Dowses come back to the old time home." (Dr. Stuart Selikowitz)
#112 - This house built in 1859, by Charles Dort Dowse, is situated next to the burial ground, and is characterized by a quaint 'wishing well' on the lawn. (Robert A. Doucette)
The 21 Mile Stone. Our first Postmaster General, Benjamin Franklin, had these stones set out along the routes of the stagecoaches carrying mail, because postage was determined by the distance a letter or package was carried. Sherborn's 21 Mile Stone is situated directly across from the entrance to the Plain Cemetery and sets forth the distance the coach had ahead of it to travel over the rutted roads to reach Boston.
Area 18 117
The Plain Cemetery - Situated on Edward's Plain, this cemetery was laid out in 1792, by a private group called "The Friendly Society" and cared for by them until it was turned over to the Town.
#123 - "The Babcock House" was built before 1830 by Amory Babcock, Sr. His son, of the same name, was a famous naturalist whose collections of mounted birds were donated to the Wellesley College Museum to best preserve them. Ironically, that building was soon thereafter leveled by fire. (Thomas Nealon)
#127 - "Laurel Farm Homestead" was built in the 1840s for Samuel Sanger. It's a very solid structure, simple in the style of the Greek Revival farmhouse period, with wide corner boards, a typical pediment around the house and a steep pitch roof of slate. In the kitchen is the old beehive or bake oven, and on a wall in the dining room under layers of wallpaper was found a
painting of "Joe," a soldier. The Cousineau family settled here in 1920 and their son, Edward, who envisioned a great farm on their acres, set out to create one, planting a fruit orchard and plowing the land for vegetables. After it was opened in 1934, all of Sherborn met at the Laurel Farm Stand from the time of the first bunch of asparagus in spring to the last hubbard squash in the fall. White turkeys raised here to grace the Thanksgiving tables were in such demand they had to be ordered early in the season. (Wilford H. Hooper)
There are only private homes in this area with the exception of Sunshine Dairy, which serves luncheon and makes its own ice cream!
Since the 1700s, Coolidge Street was the main road to Framingham. It is perhaps best known for its black rock cliffs leading to Peter's Hill on the east side. Just to the north of these there were, in Revolutionary times, deposits of salt-peter. Jedediah Phipps, a local resident, was commended by the Selectmen for discovering it, for it was badly needed in producing ammunition. Peter's Hill cliffs rise 50 feet, and through them a chasm is cut which is called "The Devil's Cart-way," and adjacent to it is the "Devil's Oven."
#14 - "The Holbrook House" was at one time, in the early 1800s, used for a girls' school under the tutelage of the Widow Rice. It was built before 1788. Rufus Holbrook bought the place in 1865 and his son, Herbert, as Fire Chief, supervised the building of the town's first fire engine." His big barn, since destroyed, stood behind the house, and there an old hand-pull pumper still remains. The last Holbrook, Alberta, died here in the fifties, and the house stood unoccupied and fell in a state of disrepair until it was purchased in the sixties and restored. (Spiros G. Pantazi)
#108 - This house was built prior to 1870 by Fordyce P. Nute. The picturesque weathered barn is situated to the rear of the house. (Paul A. Mandella)
#121 - "The Coolidge House" was built in the late 1700s by Deacon Aaron Coolidge, replacing the original homestead. The Deacon needed room for his fourteen children, one of whom was Rev. Amos H. Coolidge, a strong divine. This twin-chimney, hip-roof colonial has a center entrance with a fanlight over the door, and a mortise and tenon barn constructed with boards more than two feet wide. (Mrs. Helen T. Clements)
#126 - This place was built for Thomas Russell who married Hannah Coolidge. Their first child was born in March of 1734, thus dating the house. Two Road Commissioners have lived here, Harry Crane and Clarence Gray. When the Coolidges farmed these acres in the eighteen and early nineteen hundreds, there were extensive barns attached to the house. Today, a newer detached barn stands with the beautifully proportioned square colonial home. (Robert C. Gray)
Area 19 121
Sunshine Dairy is a family business operated by Mr. and Mrs. James D. Geoghegan. They have produced the best ice cream 'this side of anywhere' as well as run a dairy farm and a lunchroom for many years. Facilities for frozen food lockers were added in 1942. One of the few dairy farms left within our borders, there are 90 cows milked here daily as there have been for 33 years. (James D. Geoghegan)
#36 - "Sunshine Farm" was moved to its commanding location, well back from where it originally stood next to the road, by its present owners in 1938. In one of the great ells which was moved away and is now their son's home, there are pine board floors 24 inches wide with ship lap joints of over an inch thickness. The halls of the main part of the house were found to be stenciled in blue in a Grecian design. In 1860, Dr. Dennett bought the farm and lived here with his mother and served as head of the Sherborn Musical Association. The house was built for Benjamin Kendall when he married Keziah Leland circa 1732. (James D. Geoghegan)
Sunshine Farm - a School of Horsemanship, is operated by Kathleen Geoghegan, who passes on a lifetime of working with horses, including hunting, showing, competitive trail riding, 4-H and Pony Clubs. She also offers fine preparation for owning your own horse. (Lawrence and Kathleen Geoghegan)
#3 - On what was known as 'the new road to Framingham' Mrs. Amanda Davis built her home in 1870. This red house with the large masonry barn at the curve of the road replaced the home of Cooper Nat Perry who made barrels and casks. (Amato A. Picardi)
Area 19 123
#20 - "Tucker Tavern," a large square colonial, moved up the hill from its former roadside site, now has a fine view across to Peter's Hill. Built in 1780 for Deacon William Tucker, it served as a Tavern when it was later owned by Reuben Cozzens. Mr. Cozzens was murdered and his wife mortally wounded in 1853 "when some Villain entered his house on the evening of the 14th inst." The Selectmen issued posters offering a $300 reward for the apprehension of the Murderer, "One John L. Chapman is accused by Mrs. Cozzens of being the person who came into the house on that evening, and is suspected of being the perpetrator of the above crime. He is about twenty years old, dark complexioned, and has dark hair." The present resident says the tools in the fireplace swing and clang on the anniversary of the murder in the room where it occurred. (Joseph W. Valentine)
#36 - This house was built in the 1870s by Amanda Davis, who was the holder of the Gold Cane, as Sherborn's oldest citizen until her death just one day before her ninety-third birthday. The resident of this balloon-framed house has a diary of a former resident of the Adams family, with detailed accounts of his life from 1851. (Richard T. Darby)
#127 - This center entrance colonial was built prior to 1850 and was then known as the "Otis Adams House." Rev. Brown, a minister at King's Chapel in Boston, farmed this acreage for a number of years and was the first in the state to pasteurize milk. He finished a third floor room for his study so that he could look toward Boston when he composed his sermons. The George Abbots who acquired it in 1930, arrived from Beacon Hill with the intention of covering the farm with shamrock and raising sheep to produce famous Irish wool. (Richard Jennett)
#137 - Once a wing on the Adams House (127 Prospect), this house was moved here in 1943, by Mr. James Geoghegan when he purchased from the George Abbotts. The end chimney on this center entrance home still bears Abbott's initials. (Carlton G. Webb)
The historic landmarks which follow, though now within the boundaries of the Town of Framingham, bear witness to two important events of Sherborn's history when her territory included them.
The Eames Stone 125
THE EAMES STONE
Atop Mount Wayte in Framingham, which was formerly part of the Town of Sherborn, lies a stone which commemorates the spot where Indians massacred the Eames family of Sherborn. Inscribed on the stone is the stark message: "Here stood the home of Thomas Eames. Burned by the Indians in King Philip's War, Feb. 1, 1676. His wife and five children were slain and four carried into captivity. This Memorial is by his Descendants A. D. 1900."
Thomas Eames had settled his family one autumn on the side of the mountain where, as his inventory showed, he farmed on a large scale indeed. According to historian Josiah Temple, because Eames had settled on what had been the Indians' summer camping ground, his fields were ready for the plow from previous cultivation by squaws, and his meadows were ready for the scythe from the annual burning by the natives. Thomas was accepted as an inhabitant of what was to be the Town of Sherborn, and was the eighteenth signer of their petition, granted in 1674, to become a town.
About this time, King Philip's War broke out, which put the garrisoned homes of Sherborn to full use. Eames had four men quartered at his isolated house for protection, but these men were pressed into service and they left to fight the Indians. In the last week of January, Thomas Eames traveled to Boston to procure help and ammunition. While he was away, eleven Indians came suddenly upon the defenseless family. They burned the barn, cattle, and house, and killed the mother and five of the children, and carried off four children and such plunder as they could carry.
The escape of the eleven-year-old Samuel from the Indians is related in an old chronicle: "On May 12, a youth made his escape, and though the boy knew not a step of the way to any English town, and was in continual danger from skulking Indians in the woods, yet God directed him aright, and brought him in sight of Plantain (the herb which grows only amongst the English) and accordingly following of the Plantain he arrived safe amongst us." Margaret, the youngest, was found in Canada and redeemed by the colonial government. Her sister Mary made her escape somehow to return to Sherborn and marry Abraham Cousins and settle in West Sherborn.
The Indians who took part in the raid were tracked down and punished for their misdeeds, and Thomas Eames got the land he wanted in payment for his great loss. This comprised 200 acres
from the town, and an equal acreage from the Indians when he sued them.
When the Town of Sherborn had its first election of officers, Thomas Eames was one of the five men elected as Selectmen, in which position he served for ten years.
Thomas Eames' sudden death occurred during the controversy over the situation of the Sherborn Meetinghouse, and his sons joined in the petition to have their area set off as the town of Framingham. This petition was granted in 1700 but Framingham's southern boundary was not established until 1710, when Sherborn's suit for the losses sustained because seventeen taxpaying families were wrested from the town, was settled against Sherborn. As payment in full to Sherborn for this loss, however, the Town was granted 4,000 acres near the town of Mendon. This was known as New Sherborn until it was incorporated as the town of Douglas in 1786.
Other property of Eames, on Chestnut Brook, now Course Brook, remained in Sherborn and in the Eames family. Descendants of the Eames family married into many of the Sherborn families, though the name disappeared here.
THE W STONE
A large black oak, called the W tree, from its having that letter carved upon it, served for a landmark on the line between Sherborn and Framingham for a long series of years, and is mentioned in town records as far back as 1683. The wheel tracks of the two diverging roads formed the letter but perhaps the real reason for the W was that this spot marked the boundary of the Wayte Grant, which went north to the Sudbury River.
About 1800, Galim Bullard had bought the gambrel-roofed house built not far from the W tree by one of the heirs of Ephraim Bullen in 1750. (This house stands at 6 Curve Street, artistically restored.) Galim raised his family here and in May 1822, decided to remove the decayed remains of the W tree, and replace it with a permanent marker, and incidentally, have a celebration to commemorate the occasion. Not merely from tradition, but from actual facts and statements, of all Sherborn celebrations, this one was something outstanding, whether by Galim's plan or by happenstance. For it is said that there was set up a hogshead of New England rum and many barrels of hard cider. In that day, good rum cost twenty-five cents a gallon. Things got out of hand, the women and children left, sundry citizens were ducked in the horse trough and the affair lasted all day until the hogsheads were empty. These actions strengthened the Temperance movement just then at its beginning in Sherborn and added members to the Temperance Lodge in great numbers.
The shaft, which is the W Stone, came from Galim's farm and is seven and a half feet high. It stands across from the end of Leland Street, on Irving Street, on land given to the Town of Framingham in 1924. Galim, who was a stone mason, cut the large W with the date, May 29, 1822, below it and his name, Galim Bullard, at the bottom. He knew about the small stone worked with a "W" which had been buried in the roadway at the angle of the boundary decided by the General Court after several years of contention. In 1709, a fieldstone about three cubic feet in size had been cut with a "W" and buried in the proper spot by the two towns. Galim dug it up, cut a duplicate letter on it and reburied it, placing his great monolith by the-roadside, some ten feet distant from the legal bound.
Charles W. Coolidge, in 1887, "thanks to the creditable manner in which
the Sherborn records have been kept" was able to locate the buried stone
and, with the permission of both boards of Selectmen, caused a plaster
cast to be made of it, which he
The W Stone 129
placed in his Framingham Historical Society. He reburied the stone, placing under it the date and other facts concerning it. He then cut another inscription on Galim's roadside monument - a horizontal line as a line of separation between the two inscriptions, the perpendicular line as a line of separation between the two towns and the "S" and "F" as their initials.
Blank Page (130)
The traditional occupation of agriculture in Sherborn was soon joined by industries conceived and successfully operated by the settlers and their descendants. With only a few exceptions, these businesses were carried on at home with a little shop, usually situated in a front room of the house or a small building adjacent to it, taking care of local sales.
Goods for 'export' were carried by horse and wagon to Boston, and later by stagecoach, which came regularly through Sherborn. It must have presented quite a sight, when the willow baskets and baby carriages, caned here, had been hooked onto every available spot on the coach. These appendages swayed and bounced as the driver continued on his way along the dirt County Road to Boston. When the railroad came through Natick, a special stop was made to meet the stage there.
All that these industrious townspeople needed was the means to transport the fruits of their labors, for when the Mansfield and Framingham Railroad was opened through Sherborn in February, 1870, the people already had their plans made to utilize it. Soon the freight cars full of farm, orchard and bog produce raised in town were helping to feed the rest of a growing country - and freight cars full of the 'purest apple champagne made by man' were leaving the mill on Forest Street destined to fill the holds of ships in Boston Harbor to be received with acclaim in European ports.
Many of these ventures were cut down by the blade of the advancing machine age or doomed by obsolescence, but their stories are an integral and fascinating part of our history.
SHERBORN'S OLD GENERAL STORES
When shopping was an excursion that meant hitching up the horse and wagon, our town" easily supported stores in different ends of town. It wasn't just a place to buy 'the necessities' but the best spot to gather local news and to discuss the national and international crisis when the papers finally arrived from Boston each day. The Post Office occupied a corner of the early stores, and Mr. Sanger, Mr. Clark, Mr. or Mrs. Hawes or the Jacksons could be sure of knowing some of your news before you did. The children never had to be urged to make the trip, for there was exquisite delight in standing on one foot, and then the other, as you took
Local Industries 133
as long as you dared to pick out a penny's worth of candy from the huge glass-fronted case that towered over you - can't you hear the 'one of those and one of those'?
Down in the north of town, William Clark started his store and tavern in 1800, next to 84 North Main, and on or near this site his family continuously kept the store for a hundred years. His son, Alpheus, took the reins from William, and when grandson Charles A. Clark got in the driver's seat, he introduced the chain concept to Sherborn by buying the Hawes Store uptown as well! When they outgrew the small shop in their home, the Clarks had built a fine store, but at the turn of the century it was vacant, though not for long. The News noted in March of 1900, that "C. A. Clark's store will open up again with a fresh lot of goods and E. Ruthven Paul will go on the route with a team. Norman Blanchard of Spencer will tend store and keep the books." Two months later another announcement was made. "E. Ruthven Paul has taken charge at C. A. Clark's. Blanchard lasted but a few weeks because he said he found Sherborn was too city-like for him." Mr. Dingley was the owner of the property and operating the store when it burned in 1909.
The Sanger family were merchants in Boston and New York, and it came naturally for Captain Samuel to open a shop, in the middle of the 1700s, at his sprawling Tavern, which stood at about 5 North Main Street, utilizing one of its eleven doors for patrons. His son, Colonel Calvin, had already opened his own store when he was appointed Sherborn's first Postmaster in 1818, and incorporated the few post boxes into the store (12 Washington Street). Another son, Joseph, built his home opposite his father's, where the Dowse Memorial Building now stands. To the south of it, on
the present lawn, he erected an imposing building, fronted with a seven-arched porch, two double doors and three of the new-style, large-paned windows, a most elegant building for his store. Joseph had specified a hip roof, so that the second floor afforded a commodious hall lighted across the front by five windows, boasting twelve over twelve panes. When this was built at the start of the 1800s, there was only the small Meetinghouse for a gathering place, and there were some things that you just couldn't hold there. Hence, this hall caused much excitement and was in great demand.
As Joseph aged, his son Elbridge took over the lucrative business. A 'Fairbanks' scale for weighing wagonloads of produce, hay, and grain had been installed north of the entrance before
Local Industries 135
Jeremiah Hawes bought the business about the middle of the century. Jeremiah was appointed Postmaster in 1855 and here the Post Office was housed for most of the next 50 years.
In 1888, the stock and trade of this general store in the Central Village was purchased by Charles A. Clark, storekeeper at North Main Street, and his brother George continued running it as he had been doing for the Hawes. This fine landmark burned in 1920.
The Paul Store, which was run by Captain Daniel in conjunction with his Tavern, was flourishing when he bought the property (41 North Main Street) in 1824, and continued until 1860 as a general store, selling not only grocery and food supplies but also dry goods, shoes, and hardware. The store area was also the entrance to "The Sheldon Tavern" and the Room Clerk's Desk was here. Outside on the porch, which ran the length of the building, was a bench, for resting. Visitors tied their horses to any of the porch posts.
The Post Office had already been moved to the new building in the fork of Washington and South Main Streets in 1900, and old Jeremiah Hawes' grandson, Alfred, home from a trip to Africa, kept up the tradition of storekeeping and mail-sorting. At this time in the south of town, Mrs. Larkin had a small store in her home (151 South Main Street) and people still recall buying delicious home-made bread there.
John Jackson and Michael Levine opened a store in 1911, in the barn of John's home next to the Pilgrim Church. The partnership lasted but a short time, and Mr. Levine built a store with living quarters on the second floor (92 South Main). He combined this business with truck gardening and was able to send his children, when they graduated from Sawin Academy, to Harvard and Wellesley College.
Mr. Jackson and his son, John C., had chosen to open their store where Thomas J. Morse had operated a small variety shop in 1856, and here Jackson's Store, at first called Sherborn's Cash Store, served all of the town, until the place was sold to the Chevron Company in the sixties. John and his wife Belle, along with their store and its gas pumps out front, became an institution in town. In 1938, when Johnny was appointed Postmaster, the inevitable combination was continued, and the Post Office was moved into Sherborn's popular sundries store.
Sewell's Meadow was most suitable for the rearing of hemp. One of the first Hopestill Lelands resided next to it, after his marriage to Mary Bullard in 1681, and raised a goodly portion of hemp. This he manufactured into ropes and halters, which he annually carried to Rhode Island and exchanged for wool.
TANNERIES, WHIPMAKING AND SHOE MANUFACTORIES
Because of the good swampy land to the east of Everett Street with tillable farm land adjoining, the Dowse family came as settlers to Sherborn during the Revolutionary War. The swampland was a requisite in leather dressing and Eleazer was from a family of leather dressers. With his sons, he dug the pits in the wet ground in which the hides were soaked as part of the tanning process. Horses were used for power in grinding the bark before the hides were hung up to dry. There were many in town in this trade, and the making of whips which grew out of it, but the Dowse brothers were perhaps the master whipmakers. Many homes had shops where they sold the well-balanced whips which had been made there. These were fashioned from a continuous piece of leather, skilfully cut and braided by hand into a 'lash' measuring as long as 20 feet from the wooden stock, well able to reach the lead pair of horses in any stagecoach. The last order for one of these was received in 1876, from Minnesota, where they were still using stagecoaches.
Local Industries 137
For whipmaking, not trusting any other tannery to prepare the hides, the Dowses bought the old horses, killed and skinned them, and tanned the leather themselves. However, when shoes were to be the product and much more leather required, John Burke on Forest Street took over that phase of the business. Though 'Tanglewood Farm,' which he named his place, is not remembered, the great meadow which he farmed on the Pond side of Forest Street will always be known as Burke's Plain.
Sherborn men produced more than their share of handmade, pegged shoes with the sheepskin lining sewn in by women in their homes. A dozen small shoe shops were located in town, but the two largest were those of Nathaniel Dowse and Lowell Coolidge, both at Dowse's Corner. In 1850, Nathaniel branched out into the burgeoning shoe business. He built a three-story shop in the fork of the road formed by Coolidge and North Main Streets, and here he employed 20 men to make, entirely by hand, the heavy work shoe called a plow shoe or 'Brogan.' Hand-powered machines and later, foot treadles, were introduced, increasing production. The plow shoe was sold mainly for use on southern plantations and, when the Civil War cut off the market, Mr. Dowse kept the shop running and stored the finished product. The result was that in 1870, one of his sons was sent South with a freight-car load of shoes and the admonition that "You are expected home when you sell the shoes."
Other Sherborn people made their livelihood here, and built their homes nearby: Church, Green, Drake, Guryn, Revere, Morse Spinney, Ordway, Lyle and Naphen. Lowell Coolidge was apprenticed here, and then built his own shop (next to 93 North Main Street).
The increase in automated machinery gradually spelled the demise of the small shoe industries in New England, and Coolidge's son made the last shoe in his shop in 1908. This building was moved to Holliston to be a home. The Dowse Shoe Manufactory had been burned the year before.
EDGE TOOLS MANUFACTORY
The Stone House at 55/53 North Main Street, was Capt. Partridge's manufactory for edge tools. He lived on the hill at 51 North Main Street. This ingenious and inventive man, working with his brother-in-law Malachi Babcock, who had his blacksmith shop next door, perfected a process to obtain a very high quality steel in the late 1700s. This they fashioned into adzes, knives,
axes, plows and elastic forks for moving hay or manure. The Partridge Fork is in many New England Tool museums as well as the Sherborn Historical Society.
Local Industries 139
Sherborn's homes were built of wood with few exceptions, and the thrifty yankee spirit used gallons of paint to preserve them. Many a second or third son, who was not inheriting the family farm, earned his living as a painter. The town supported a paint shop run by James C. Salisbury, which stood behind the parking lot near Memory Statue. The building he used for mixing paint had been moved there from the site of the Town House and had formerly been a private school. The combustible nature of the ingredients of the paint caused the building's demise, as it did another paint shop in town, one run by Mr. Shaw, who had rented the vacated shoe manufactory of Nathaniel Dowse. When the building burst into flames, Mr. Dowse ran out with his camera and recorded the event. After that, one of the old schools was moved to Zions Lane and run as a paint shop by a young man who had captured the heart of Emily Fleming and settled in town when he married her.
The master painters were called upon to practice their art on the many beautiful carriages built in town and their gilt scrollwork equaled any their brother artists were applying on the clipper ships at Salem.
CARRIAGE SHOPS AND BLACKSMITHING
The Village Smithy always had a goodly amount of horse shoeing to do and our village usually supported two, one in the center of town, and one in the original settlement or south part of town. It was the blacksmith who also made much of the hardware used in the houses, as well as the iron fittings for the carriages, fashioning each piece by hand.
At the anvil next his home (156 South Main Street), James Holbrook plied his trade at the close of the seventeen and into the eighteen hundreds, and, no doubt, he kept his brother's - in - law carriages in good repair and his horses well shod, for Dr. Jonathan Tay (266 Western Avenue) was much on the road.
At a busy shop, which stood in town where the parking lot lies next to the Memory Monument, Elbridge Bickford fired up
Local Industries 141
his iron to red-hot heat, and, when the mighty man gave up his trade, Rufus Holbrook's sinewy hands took over. The singing hammer continued here until 1910, as did the one on Powder House Lane, which Mr. Anderson of 30 North Main operated. Malachi Babcock's resonant voice raised in song to the accompaniment of his hammering delighted the children in the Plain School across the way on North Main Street, beyond the Stone House.
There were three noteworthy carriage-making shops in town, forerunners of General Motors later to be on our border. Charles Duross had one at his home on Obed Lane, and Jeremiah Butler, wheelwright, was handy, down the road at 5 Butler Street. When Eliot Street was laid out close to the rear of his house, Duross solved the problem its elevation above his barn presented, by building a bridge for the carriages from the new road to the second floor of his shop. The door he cut ten feet above the present driveway still bears witness to his ingenuity. (29 Eliot Street)
Another carriage shop was located in the Post Office building, at the fork of the town's two main roadways. It was on the second floor, too! This building had a steep ramp at the rear, and it took steady pushing to get the carriages up through the great door. It did have the convenience of a blacksmith shop right across the street for the repair work and the fashioning of all the iron parts of a new wagon.
Vorestus Ware had the best set-up of all on Goulding Street with a complex of his carriage shop, and wheelwright shop and blacksmith shop. Everything could be done right on the premises, even to the forging of the iron rims for the wagon wheels. His elegant home, which was destroyed by a great fire at the first of this century, stood on the site of 52 Goulding Street behind granite posts strung with iron chains, similar to those of his father-in-law at 5 Butler Street. "And every man shall suffer sorrow," came to Vorestus when his first-born son was drowned in Sewell's Brook.
Wheels on carriages often had to be replaced and it was a nasty job at best. Andrew Jackson Church who had built a home for his bride at 1 Coolidge Street, invented a very successful carriage wheel jack. Though it wasn't manufactured here, it brought some fame to the town and considerable income to Andrew.
Local Industries 143
Across the street from the Stone House, Amasa Green lived at 54 North Main
Street. Amasa was known not so much for his carpentry work, which he did
passing fair, as for his coffin making. Therefore, the north side of the
house has full-height basement doors and windows which opened into his
shop. One historian has noted that his work was customized to size and
On Pleasant Street, Silas Stone, Esquire, in the late 1700s, invented and manufactured a surgical truss for which he obtained a patent. His son of the same name who was also an 'inventive genius with an uncommon knowledge of books,' continued producing his father's invention which was highly praised by the medical profession.
Every Sherborn housewife knew about canning, and had no choice but to be in the steaming kitchen processing the fruits of garden and orchard for the coming winter. Each had a specialty with which she might expect to take a prize at the Grange Fair - the sparkling clear jelly made with Sherborn's own pectin-laden Porter apple or the garnet red pickled beets. There was great interest, then, when the irrepressible James Salisbury added to his cider and paint business, behind the blacksmith shop next to Memory Statue, a commercial canning industry! He preserved tomatoes in cans for a short time, but, come August, the ladies were still steaming in their kitchens. The foundations of his buildings can still be traced behind the parking lot.
This venture by Sherborn men was situated in that part of Framingham known as Saxonville because this was where Hopestill Leland was able to buy of Ebenezer Brown what was known as 'the Deacon Brown privilege on Cochituate Brook' where he erected the cotton mill. Hopestill, with Colonel Sanger and others, organized the Framingham Manufacturing Company in 1814, when Leland sold the six acres with corn and grist mill to the new company. He lived near this business, which was never a great success, but later returned to Sherborn.
About 1710, Joseph Ware (43 Goulding Street), an able and enterprising man, in company with Captain Joseph Morse (46 Forest Street) built the first grist mill on Sewell's Brook. Captain Ware's slave, Duty, was a better miller than Captain Morse could hire, and secured all the business, causing Captain Morse to withdraw from the partnership.
Jonathan Holbrook, who was to gain fame because of his cider mill, practiced his trade as a miller for many years, and built a dam across Sewell's Brook at Forest Street. Here, as the road starts to rise towards Lake Street, he built his grist mill, and operated it even after he started the refining operations in one of the ells in 1853. The building and dam were both torn down in the 1890s, because the cider business was all-demanding and besides commercially ground flour was available.
Local Industries 145
SAWMILLS and TRUNNEL MILL
Thomas Sawin built our first sawmill at Course Brook on Brush Hill Road, and provided wood for the building of the first church edifice. He then removed his milling to the northern end of Little Pond, in South Natick, where he maintained a grist and sawmill for the Indians. Isaac Cozzens had his sawmill in about the same place on Course Brook in the middle 1880s. James Leland built a dam across the Brown Meadow Brook to form Mill Pond and produce water power to run a mill which he set a-straddle the brook as it crossed Mill Street (thereafter so called), and three generations of James Lelands operated it, until it burned in 1920. The resourceful James erected a new mill closer to the source of supply, and electrically powered.
On the upper dam of Mill Pond, Alex Barker built his small mill for the manufacture of trunnels, or tree nails, used in old mortise and tenon construction.
The mill on Sewell's Brook at Goulding Street was converted to a sawmill by a Ware descendant in the 1800s. The framework for a large up-and-down saw is identifiable among the foundation remains near the dam.
JAMES F. LELAND
PINE, OAK, CHESTNUT, SPRUCE AND HEMLOCK
The Rev. John Fleming came to Sherborn in 1848, and upon his retirement
from the ministry, he joined his brothers in the establishment of a willow
industry which was to flourish in town for nearly 50 years. The Flemings
had learned their trade in England and had brought with them a special
type of tree called 'osier' which grew best in a damp place. Their
principal crop came from
the area behind our present shopping center. Two of the houses, built by the Flemings (18 and 58 Maple Street) incorporated a feature far more attractive to their original owners than to subsequent ones, for they were purposely situated astride a brook! The long willow shoots were soaked to make them supple for weaving and the brook supplied plenty of running water in the basement workrooms. Baskets of all sizes, from small trinket
Local Industries 147
boxes to large shipping hampers, were their main stock in trade. One of their apprentices, a Mr. Hayward, was interested in producing larger items such as baby carriages and furniture, but the Flemings weren't partial to the idea. Mr. Hayward then joined with a Mr. Wakefield to found the company which bore their combined names, and gained fame as the producers of rattan furniture. In Sherborn's Historical Society are two Fleming cradles, one a twin cradle made for Ida and Gertrude Fleming who were born at 37 South Main Street, in the 1870s.
STRAW HATS AND BASKETS
Palemon Bickford had a straw manufactory built for him by Sherborn's master builder, Bowen Adams, in 1855, next to what is now the parking area across from the Pilgrim Church. He produced all manner of goods woven in straw, but specialized in hats, of every conceivable size and shape. Though his business was short-lived, his building was not and, converted into a hall, served the townspeople till 1959, when it was moved to 17 North Main Street, to become a charming home.
THE GUN-MAKING MASTERS
Thomas Holbrook was Sherborn's first gunsmith, whose finely made fowling pieces were used by the Revolutionary soldiers. Those of his guns which exist today are prized collectors' pieces. Thomas was born February 1, 1747, and built his home at the time of his marriage in 1781, just north of 37 South Main Street. This house is situated at 91 South Main Street, whither it was moved in 1896. Thomas Holbrook served as Selectman for eleven years before he moved to South Natick.
Lemuel Leland, Master Gun Maker, was born at 104 Woodland Street in 1786. His Gun Shop was situated on Indian Brook where it crosses North Main Street just north of his home (71 North Main Street). His firearms compared favorably with the famed Pennsylvania Rifles, and, with many apprentices which included his sons, he produced pieces which became well-known and much sought after in all parts of our country. They were renowned for their accuracy in long distance shooting and for the workmanlike manner in which they were made. All made by hand, the stocks of curly maple or black walnut were embellished with decorative inlays of brass, polished steel and even silver. Guns with "Lemuel Leland" engraved in the barrel are prized possessions in Sherborn today.
Local Industries 149
Every home had its guns, and sons were taught respect for them at an early age. Both men and boys prided themselves on their marksmanship, but it was usual at the 'Turkey-Shoots' on Thanksgiving Day that the owner of a Lemuel Leland fowling piece would take home the gobbler. This traditional shoot is still enjoyed today, though fowling pieces are replaced by shotguns, and Tom Turkey by targets. Many of Leland's smooth bores had exceedingly long barrels, measuring, with the stock, nearly six feet - probably accounting for their accuracy but requiring skill in handling.
Those who had apprenticed to Lemuel Leland carried their skill to many other areas, but one of his sons, William, born in 1817, settled on the Old Badcock Place (46 Pleasant Street where his descendants, the Hildreths, still live). Here Bill Gun, called thus to distinguish him from another William Leland, devoted much of his time and skill to 'changing over' flintlocks to percussion firing. Also many Boston firms sent parts of guns for assembling and customizing. As a result, there are even fewer pieces with "William Leland" engraved in the barrel than with "Lemuel Leland."
Only Shrewsbury gained as much fame as Sherborn as a gun-smithing town. The historian Morse shows us that even there, Sherborn was involved because John Mason of Shrewsbury, noted for his rifle barrels, came to Sherborn to get a wife and married Betsey Ware who'd been born here in December of 1777!
THE CIDER MANUFACTORY
Sherborn supported more than twenty cider mills productive enough to be taxed in the 1800s, but the greatest success story of the country in the cider mill business was written by Jonathan Holbrook in his mills on Forest Street, which he founded in 1853.
The process for pressing cider was similar in many of the small mills in town, with the machinery for grinding the apples run by horse. The pomace was pressed by a large iron screw which was worked by hand. One pressing consisted of twelve alternate layers of rye straw and pomace, about 75 bushels of apples being used at one time. Forty-eight hours was required and the yield was three gallons of cider. The early refining tubs or leaches were made from molasses hogsheads of 30-gallon capacity.
In 1856, new buildings with cellars for the grinding machine were built, which increased the mill's capacity to 500 barrels during
Local Industries 151
the seven-week season from October first to mid-November. By 1859, the
business had increased to 1200 barrels, and a branch was established in
Albany, New York.
During these first fifteen years of operation, the nearest railroad was five miles away in Natick and the entire output of the mill had to be transported by horse-drawn wagons over dirt roads. A proposal had been presented for a railroad from Framingham to Mansfield, to pass through West Sherborn. Mr. Holbrook financed a survey for a line which would pass nearer the centers of the towns and within feet of his mill. The route was shorter and, since it represented a saving to the railroad of $50,000, it was adopted. Appropriately enough, the first freight train coming into town was loaded with apples for Holbrook's Mill.
The railroad was an important factor in the further expansion of the business. It was now possible to ship directly to New York, and apples could be shipped in from greater distances. It was no longer necessary to keep the Albany branch, and the consolidation led to further expansion of the buildings. A fifteen-horsepower engine was installed, and soon was replaced with a forty-horsepower one.
One of the buildings contained huge vats filled with fine sand through which the cider was leached. Carloads of apples were run onto scales; the apples shoveled into the basement of the building: the cars weighed again and then moved forward to make room for
Local Industries 153
the next car. The apples were conveyed to the grinding rooms above at the rate of 1200 bushels in forty minutes. The mill was operated on a twenty-four-hour day during the peak season with some forty men on a shift.
The pomace was found to be an excellent cattle food, and so was shipped out to farmers all over New England. In 1886, the new storehouse measured 365 feet by 65 feet, and was just one of a complex of buildings. The capacity reached over 30,000 barrels a year and offices were opened abroad with approximately one third of the output going to Great Britain where it was known as 'Holbrook's Champagne Cider.' Larger amounts went to Belgium, Denmark and Sweden with the remainder shipped as far west as Nebraska and as far south as Texas. This mill was called 'The World's Largest Cider Mill.'
Fire decimated the older buildings on the east side of the tracks, and in 1909 Jonathan's son, Eben, sold the business to P. McCarthy and Son. They installed automation and added a line of soft drinks trademarked 'Shawmut' and known, in the birth of this industry, as 'tonic.'
In 1919, Mr. McCarthy replaced the horse-drawn wagons with a fleet of Reo Speed Trucks, but the process for making the cider was still as meticulously carried out and 'McCarthy's Sparkling Cider' was what everyone wanted. As was traditional in town, the business passed from father to son and was operated by Charles E. McCarthy, Sr., until the advent of World War II.
...HIGHLAND FRUIT FARM...
UNFERMENTED GRAPE JUICE
J. EAMES & SONS
THE OLD ICE HOUSE
In recent years through each Spring, Summer and Fall, we are accustomed to see on Farm Pond many sailboats either grouped for racing, or just collectively enjoying a pleasant sail, while at the water's edge on the west side, many swimmers are active. Little do we reflect on the many years back, even up to 1928, when, in wintertime, ice-cutting was a busy Sherborn industry. Today, in Winter, the Pond is often dotted with skaters and a few hardy folk fishing through the ice.
The original ice house was built by Joseph Walter Barber (the grandfather of Sarah Sparhawk). In the late 1800s, Mr. George Henry Clark, a Sherborn resident, purchased the ice house and some surrounding land. As the demand for this clear, clean ice increased. Mr. Clark gradually enlarged the size of the ice house. The house itself can be described as a box within a box, having a 12-inch space between the walls which was filled with sawdust as insulation.
Ice cutting began around Christmas time, but not until Grandmother Clark, noted in these parts as an unfailing weather prophet, gave the word that the ice was from ten to twelve inches thick, and a good long cold spell was ahead.
Local Industries 155
First, the ice field had to be marked off, starting close to shore and cut about one inch deep in perfect squares. These lines then were gone over by an 'ice plow' which, after several passes, cut the markings several inches deeper. At that point, hand saws had to be employed. Each ice cake measured 32 inches by 22 inches by 12 inches and weighed about 250 to 275 pounds.
A kind of box-like structure was put over two ice cubes at a time and was attached to a long wire cable that ran through a pulley fastened on shore. Horses pulled the cable; up the 'run' came the blocks of ice into the house. After the top layer of ice was in place near the roof, meadow hay ("no seeds") was piled on thick.
This heavy work, done by hand, required from 15 to 18 men (at $2.00 each per day) but eventually the work force was reduced in number by introduction of a Kurtz motorized ice plow weighing
600 pounds ("lighter than horses"), by a 32-inch circular saw powered by a gasoline motor, and by a winch which replaced horses.
On the night before the Fourth of July, in 1910, a young out-of-town man set fire to the ice house. He was found and he confessed. His father paid Mr. Clark $6,000 to erect a new building. Work began at once on a new structure which was built in three sections, each 50 feet by 20 feet by 20 feet high, and each covered by asbestos on the outside.
One day in January 1925, a big section of ice gave way and precipitated six horses into twelve feet of water. The men were able to keep the horses' heads above water and by cutting the harness and other entanglements, and also by cutting a channel through the ice to the shore, the rescue was effected. During the mixup Harold D. Waite was knocked into the water and rescued with considerable difficulty.
In a good year, the Clark family harvested 3,000 tons of ice, but by the end of July, at least one third of the original total harvest had melted. The net 2,000 tons of ice was sold in the course of a year at 30 cents per hundredweight.
During the last six years of their operation, the Clarks bought artificial ice from concerns out of town. As electric refrigerators became more numerous in Sherborn, the Clarks stopped all operations. In 1938, the old ice house collapsed in the hurricane and the property was sold to Mr. Henry Channing.
Local Industries 157
Recollection of those days when Mr. Clark and his sons, George and Raymond, delivered ice around most of the town on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, and to West Sherborn on Tuesdays and Fridays, brings us a touch of nostalgia.
Though the sun and weather regulated a farmer's life, he demanded that his watch keep second-perfect time, and all suits and work pants were made with a 'watch pocket,' which became quite worn with the large, round ticker being pulled out on the end of its chain, cupped in the hand for perusal and slid carefully back. Trainmen kept to a rigid schedule and their lives depended on an accurate timepiece.
Sherborn had watch repairmen as did other towns but perhaps the best known one in the area, and out of it, was Emerson Holden of Maple Street. When he wasn't skippering the 'Atlanta' on Farm Lake or tending to his other jobs, he repaired watches and did such a fine job that men sent their watches for cleaning, ad-
|William A. Bosworth
Francis F. Berry
James J. Berry
Frederick D. Blanchard
Lyman F. Brown
Harold E. Burke
Fred C. Carter
George P. Carter
William A. Carter
George H. Clark
Lloyd A. Cummings
Waldo L. Daniels
Edmund C. Dowse
Marshall F. Dowse
Dennis J. Driscoll
Joseph H. Fisk
B. A. G. Fuller
Herbert R. Holbrook
James S. Howe
John C. Jackson
Edward F. Lane
Daniel J. Lyons
John A. MacLean
George E. Mann
Ralph C. Moore
Edward L. Newman
Francis A. Newman
Philip L. Peckham
Ovilla P. Plouffe
Percy O. Plouffe
R. Melvin Sias
Lloyd E. West
The Auxiliary Unit of the Post, composed of relatives of Legion members, was formed in September of 1920 and fifteen names appear on its charter:
Agnes J. Fisk
Carrie E. Clark
Nellie M. Dowse
Emily A. Newman
|Edith J. MacFarland
Ethel M. Mann
Annie L. Burke
Their concentration is service to others and one of their annual efforts is to collect gifts at Christmas time to take to a veteran's hospital for those patients unable to shop for gifts for their families
AMERICAN RED CROSS
During World War I, when Sherborn put forth such effort in her Red Cross work that her allotments and quotas were always over the top, the town's unit was affiliated with Framingham. This small, energetic group of Sherborn people felt that what they produced in funds and clothing could be more judiciously allotted. They requested the parent organization to arrange their separation, but Framingham refused because Sherborn's group was so small. Miss Helen Bothfeld, Sherborn's Director, appealed to Washington and told them how hard Sherborn worked, even though it was so small, and, on November 18, 1926, independence came. The Red Cross in Sherborn became what was probably the smallest independent Chapter in the country.
In the parade at the Two Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary of the incorporation of the town in 1924, the float which the Red Cross Chapter entered was a realistic representation of a first aid station at the trenches in France, with all the accoutrements having been used by Sherborn's men. In the white uniforms they had used in long hours of service while the men were at war, Mrs. Bessie Dowse and Miss Helen Bothfeld played the part of nurses, with Edmund C. Dowse as the wounded soldier. Stretcher bearers stood by, Raymond L. Clark and James F. Leland, Jr., and Theodore Bothfeld navigated the whole scene on his large truck.
The work for the Chapter continued strong under the aegis of this group, collecting and helping with disasters of every nature. When extra effort was needed during World War II, the town rallied round this organized nucleus to produce an incredible amount of clothing. They sewed and knitted for the soldiers, as well as rolled and folded bandages. The list of their accomplishments and the medal which the chapter received from Washington are on display in the Sherborn Historical Society.
Two of the major activities of the Chapter in Sherborn, after peace had been declared, were the Blood Mobile Drives and the Red Cross Swimming Program at Farm Pond and both were very successful.
One of the most memorable people who participated in the swimming program was Mrs. Marion Gray who held the title of "Waterfront Safety Director" for over twelve years. Many of the young people who gained confidence and expertise as swimmers under her guidance went on to get their Water Safety Instructors certificate so that they might enter the program as teachers.
During the fifties, the Sherborn Chapter continued its activi-
ties in high gear. The Greater Boston Chapter subsequently joined forces with several other groups under the 'Red Feather,' and a few years later they moved to consolidate all smaller groups so they might pool their resources and talents. Reluctantly and with misgivings, the Sherborn Chapter merged with the chapter in the town of Natick. This final move made a glorious memory of the Sherborn Red Cross Chapter as a separate entity.
THE COMMUNITY SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
In 1914, a Parent-Teachers Association was formed and performed a much needed service in making a closer connection between the school and the home.
In the late forties, the officers and general membership of the P.T.A. became disenchanted with the activities required of our local group by the state and national organizations. With scarcely a dissenting voice, Sherborn withdrew its membership in the P.T.A. Still with the same objectives in mind, it established the Parent-Teacher Organization as an entity which could function effectively for our then small community.
As our school population had greatly increased and attendant problems burgeoned by 1973, the Community School Association was formed with the objectives of providing a medium of communication between parents, schools and school administration, and offering constructive support for the Sherborn schools.
Any resident of Sherborn and any member of the teaching or administrative staff actively involved in the formal educational system of the town is eligible for membership.
COUNCIL ON AGING
The Council on Aging was established in 1972, and its concern for this segment of the town has been shown in sponsoring Flu Clinics. A Senior Citizens' Club was established and officers elected at the first sponsored luncheon for the group. Local organizations have been most cooperative in offering to sponsor several monthly luncheons. The Council hopes to investigate part-time employment opportunities for senior citizens to use their talents in providing services to other Sherborn residents. Another problem which the Council will endeavor to help solve for older residents is the matter of transportation.
THE COUPLES CLUB
During the first years of the 1950s, a restlessness was evident among a large number of townspeople, due mainly to consideration of regionalization of the High School and to the diversity of opinions between the liberals and conservatives within the Federated Church. Disturbed by this pervading feeling of unrest, eight couples of the Church formed a club open to all Sherborn couples in the hope that their group socializing would ameliorate this state of affairs.
They held enjoyable functions but with limited success in enlarging its membership until about 1960, when the population of the town greatly increased and the Couples Club disassociated itself from church affiliation. Today its membership numbers about 150 couples.
ST. THERESA'S ACTIVITY ASSOCIATION
During the twenties and thirties, the Women's Guild fostered the social life of the church with an annual September Fair and a Thanksgiving supper. These and other events provided a fine spirit of common purpose and a small source of parish income.
The St. Patrick's Day Dances given in the Town Hall during the next decade were social events of the year, and the parishioners worked energetically on a successful Garden Party in the Fall and a Bazaar in June. The regular whist parties brought out the devotees, not only from Sherborn but also from surrounding towns.
The Committee for the Fourth of July Parade commenced giving a prize for the best float, and in 1947 the entry of the Parish representing St. Theresa was managed by Mrs. Edward Newman and won first prize.
During Father John H. O'Connor's pastorate, which began in 1956, the number of families in the parish increased rapidly as did the social events.
Father O'Connor, surrounded by zealous and indefatigable workers, launched the Activity Association, the goal of which was to have a function every month. What a display of energy and organization proceeded from such initiative! Under the leadership of hard-working presidents, major and minor events poured out at the rate of twelve a year: bake sales, annual progressive suppers, stage productions, fashion shows, annual picnics and dances.
The first show, "The Corn is Ripe," was produced in 1959 and presented also at the Reformatory. It featured monologuist Arthur R. McGrath and Bill Suarez as master of ceremonies. It was followed the next year by "Black Face and All" under the direction of Ray Melzar and with Ken Crowell as interlocutor. The final production/Shamrock Festival," appropriately presented on March 17, 1961, was produced by Al Pierce and directed by Joan Pease. The annual event of the Fall Dance with chairman Charlie McCarthy as the genial host, was held in September at the Town House. The next spring Mrs. Paul Bacon produced "The Spring Fashion Show and Dessert" at Pine Hill School.
However, such a strenuous tempo was wearing out the workers. Father O'Connor, viewing the financial situation of the parish with satisfaction, concluded that such fund-raising activities were no longer demanded, and so the last function was the Fair in October 1963, at Pine Hill School.
The Parish continued its social events with progressive dinners and the annual Parish Picnic held on the Town Recreational Field each June. A traditional St. Patrick's Day Dance was run by Mrs. Robert Sennott and the dinner dance at the Officers' Club with the Joseph W. Szczeblowskis as chairmen of the Committee was a great success.
SHERBORN DEMOCRATIC TOWN COMMITTEE
The Sherborn Democratic Town Committee has been in operation since the early 1930s, at which time there was also an active auxiliary of Junior Democratic Crusaders. The current committee is made up of ten members and fifteen associate members who meet eight times annually.
SHERBORN FIRE FIGHTERS' ASSOCIATION
The Sherborn Fire Fighters' Association was formed one evening in 1942, to gather the various men in town, who acted as volunteer firemen when needed, into an organized group. Essentially, they are the social arm of the present Sherborn Fire Department and are 35 strong.
Meetings for business are held once a month, with a movie or instructions on fire fighting as part of the program. A regular
dinner is prepared by the members, who volunteer on a rotating basis. These meals are usually delicious.
Once a month, a regular training drill is held for three hours, and all members learn new fire fighting techniques and have the opportunity to brush up on details concerning operation of all equipment.
The Firemen's Ball, the Fourth of July Celebration and the Hallowe'en Evening are the Association's contribution to the social activities of the town. Any money raised at the Ball is used to defray expenses for these affairs. They also have a giant cookout for members and wives each summer, to keep the wives happy and to stop complaints about noisy fire alarm radios kept under the beds.
It is believed that without the present Association no adequate fire protection would be available in town on an organized basis, so the officers work at retaining members' interest. The membership's interest, along with the Chief, is the reason for the relatively low cost of fire protection in Sherborn.
SHERBORN FOREST & TRAIL ASSOCIATION
The Sherborn Forest & Trail Association was formed in 1968, to preserve, maintain and add to natural recreational assets in the town as well as to undertake those projects that result in educating people to the natural assets of Sherborn. Specifically, the organization publishes up-to-date maps of all of the hiking and riding trails available in Sherborn, maintains and repairs trails as needed, and tries to acquire rights of way for new trails. It also involves itself in landscaping and beautification of various areas in Sherborn. In addition, the organization sponsors family-type activities for more than 120 families in its membership. These activities include garden tours, nature walks, horse shows, horse clinics and canoe trips.
THE FRIENDLY SOCIETY
In 1792, sixteen residents of the Plain and center of the Town formed an association, "for the express purpose of assisting each other" say the by-laws of this society, "when in distress by the death of our friends." Mr. Adam Leland donated a piece of land for burial purposes, situated nearly opposite the 21 Mile Stone (North Main Street near the fork at Everett Street). The cemetery
was then laid out with lot one which had an apple tree growing thereon being reserved for the donor, who also had the sole privilege of grazing his sheep there. Lot two was reserved for the minister, Rev. Elijah Brown, so that he would not be involved in a lottery, and the remaining lots were drawn by ballot. Transfers of lots were permitted and a place was reserved for those non-proprietors who agreed to abide by the rules of the Society. In 1822 the offices of Clerk and Sexton were merged and held by Jeremiah Butler until 1850, at which time he recorded 130 names, many living to a great old age. This cemetery was transferred to the care of the Town, as were all others within its perimeter, at the close of the nineteenth century.
FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY
The Friends of the Library was founded in 1971 to stimulate community interest in the Sherborn Library and to increase its activities to make it more effective as a lively center of culture and education in town.
It presents a monthly program of varied subjects for the whole town, and provides for rotating exhibits in the library cases and conference room.
The children's hours, both story and film, have proved very popular and will continue on the fourth Saturday at ten o'clock in the morning. A book review group meets the first Monday morning at ten o'clock.
To help raise money for the Friends, an Arts and Crafts Fair is set up on Sanger Street and the library grounds in May, and monthly, on the first Wednesday, a book sale has been well received. The membership is open to all and has reached 123.
Sherborn Grange, Patrons of Husbandry No. 110, was organized March 8, 1883, with 40 Charter Members. It now has 88 members. It is open to all persons over the age of fourteen who apply for membership approval. The first Master was Norman B. Douglas, whose home was on the site of the present Post Office.
The Grange was originally an agricultural, social and educational organization and continued in that capacity for many years. As agriculture ceased to be the principal industry in Sher-
born, the Grange gradually changed its principal objective to community service, continuing the educational and social aspects.
Many of the old trees along our highways were planted 50 to 80 years ago by this organization as, more recently, were the trees along the way to Pine Hill School.
Other projects of the Grange over the past several years have been purchasing floodlights for the Unitarian Church, placing a picnic table at Woodland Park on South Main Street purchasing a resuscitator for the Police Department, a hospital bed, wheel chair and other sickroom conveniences for the use of Sherborn residents, furnishing the kitchen in the Town Hall, providing eye and ear testing machines for the school system and sewing machines for 4-H, holding Christmas Lighting contests, awarding an annual scholarship to a graduating Sherborn senior in Dover-Sherborn High School and becoming sponsors of town organizations
The noted cooks of the Grange have provided innumerable suppers for community organizations.
For many years they have sponsored the Grange Fair and they will hold it this Tercentenary year on the traditional date. They have, together with the Sherborn Conservation Commission, sponsored the sale of trees for people of Sherborn. In 1973 more than 5,000 trees were delivered. On several occasions they have open meetings and show old time silent movies as well as educational shorts. Everyone is cordially invited to attend.
SHERBORN HISTORICAL SOCIETY
Perhaps no other organization can more clearly communicate Sherborn's ancient essence than the Sherborn Historical Society, organized September 19, 1911, to "study the local history, preserve historic landmarks and relics, and collect articles of historic interest."
Luckily for present-day chroniclers, the far-sighted citizens who incorporated themselves on July 26, 1913, at Unity Hall, Sherborn, with Walter E. Blanchard as chairman, began keeping records and preserving what would otherwise have slipped away, so that now the Society with headquarters in the Dowse Memorial Building cares for and shares a priceless collection of everything from papers on pirate gold buried in town, to a sampling of hair from a prominent family.
Operating under a Constitution and By-laws little amended from the original ones drawn up by Mr. Robert H. Leland, the Society meets four times a year and welcomes all citizens of Sherborn as members. Atavistically, the sons and daughters and relatives of original members are still working within the Society; accomplishments have been many and spectacular. For instance, the first undertaking was a monument dedicated to the Founders of the Town in the neglected South Cemetery on the banks of the Charles. Two hundred people, coming from Medway, Holliston, Millis, Medfield and Framingham, attended the unveiling June 17, 1915.
Like a loving parent, the Society has constantly worked and fretted over the South Cemetery, and as early as 1917, commissioned a blueprint of it, and in the same breath voted that "the Executive Committee confer with the Selectmen that a grave stone now in the sidewalk nearby (the Old Burying Ground at the Center) be removed and given a more appropriate place." This being successful, they next voted to "look up the stones in the oldest burying ground in Sherborn" and by April 11, 1928, they had marked the Old South Burying Ground as well as marking and clearing the Town Pound. In 1959, the entire Society descended on the Old South Burying Ground, clearing it with power mowers and clippers. On file are several papers, dealing with cemetery subjects, such as "Extracts from the records of the Old Plain Cemetery," by C. Arthur Dowse (January 1922), and Tombstone Art," by Mr. Thomas McGuire (June 1966).
Programs have been varied. In 1916, several Civil War veterans attended the annual meeting to report on their trip to Washington celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Civil War's end. In 1925, Victrola Selections of "Paul Revere's Ride, Yankee Doodle and the Rising of '76, constituted an enjoyable evening." The annual outing in 1927, to Salem, a three-hour ride on "The Queen of Framingham Bus," rated praise. A note on the meeting of July 12, 1933, reads, "A basket lunch was eaten in Purgatory, which was not as bad as it sounds. We all enjoyed the trip very much." But meetings were not always easy. "October 90, 1928 (the date shows the state of mind of the reporter) was not a Library day, and the hall was not heated. Meeting adjourned until the next evening at 8," while July 17, 1929, reads: "The Annual Pilgrimage of the Society was to have been a visit to the Boston Art Museum. It was indefinitely postponed on account of the heat."
Like the Postal Service, neither heat nor cold has prevented
the Society from doing its duty as it saw need. April 1917, it voted to "have a committee make out a list of the old houses" and appointed Mrs. James F. Leland, Chairman, with Mrs. Daniel Whitney and Mr. Bardwell assisting. When the Society voted in 1924 to publish a booklet to commemorate the 250th year since incorporation of the Town, Mrs. Leland continued as Chairman. They gave her $250.00 to pay for the printing of 500 copies, which have since become collector's items at attic and garage sales. October 25, 1966, saw the publication of The Century Turns by Mrs. C. Arthur Dowse.
The Society has been keeper of people as well as papers. By vote in 1918, Mr. Walter E. Blanchard was to "Keep a picture of every boy going from Sherborn to the European War Service." Town Clerk, Elijah Barber opened the Town safe containing records for the Society in 1919. From these records essays were written.
Encouraging young Sherbornites to know Town history has long been a goal of the Society, and lucky are the holders today, of the prizes awarded in 1932, being, "In each case, a two dollar and a half gold piece." Even in the lean year of 1932, the Society managed to take seventh and eighth grade pupils to Concord and Lexington. Today it often opens its collections to the schools under the guidance of Mrs. Thomas Homer and the Curators, Mrs. Lee Groner and Mrs. Edward H. Barry.
Our connection with Sherborne, England, has been a constant concern. In June 1916, a request for funds to repair the Lady Chapel of the Abbey Church there brought a vote to send $50 for the cause, while an effort was made to reacquaint members with the English mother town through the reading of reports at a meeting. One would hesitate to draw any inferences from the subjects, or the order in which they were presented: "The Town of Sherborne" followed by "The Abbey," "The Bells," "Fires," the "Plague" and the "Pageant" (of 1905). As a result of helping the fund of the Lady Chapel, the Society was invited to meet Canon Digby and his sister, when Mr. and Mrs. George Lewis entertained Canon S. H. Wingfield Digby, of the Abbey Church of Sherborne, England in July 11, 1931, at a time when the Canon had exchanged pulpits with a Boston churchman. The Canon told members that the Abbey had been established in 705, with St. Anselm, the teacher of King Alfred, as its Bishop. Later, Henry VIII had plundered the Abbey.
In 1961, slides of Sherborn, Massachusetts, were sent to the English Historical Society as a result of their request to re-establish communication.
During the war years of the forties, the Society did not meet, but in January 1959, at Library Hall, the old members still living voted themselves and other new interested persons into the Society once more.
Since that time, the Society has helped to name new streets, to preserve old records and to work with the State Historical Commission and the 300th Anniversary Committee. It is, in a word, making history as well as preserving it.
INDEPENDENT ORDER OF GOOD TEMPLARS
Lodge No. 297 was a temperance organization, formed in the year 1868, and called "The Oliver Everett Lodge," in respect to the memory of a former physician of the town. There were fourteen charter members bearing good Sherborn names and only two of them were women. This small group went forth with a will and worked for new members, "traveling from one end of town to the other and laboring with prospects way into the night and we had to walk in those days." There was a good deal of interest in Temperance and a strong Prohibition Party in the state and this Lodge soon numbered 100 dedicated members. They had a lecture course on popular subjects one winter and enjoyed dramatic entertainment as well. The plan for celebrating the second centennial anniversary of the incorporation of the Town in 1874 was inaugurated by this brotherhood, and its successful execution was largely due to their efforts. It continued its useful work for many years, but then, on account of the removal of members" and of other causes, it dissolved.
SHERBORN LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS
The Sherborn League of Women Voters was started in 1964, and is one of 1,300 Local Leagues across the nation. Its goal is to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation of citizens in government.
Over the years, it has provided information vital to informed decision-making by townspeople. It sponsors Candidates' Nights and has published guides to the Caucus and Town Meeting. A Community Handbook was published by the League in 1965, and a revised and expanded edition, Sherborn - Know Your Town, was made available in 1972.
The League adopts study items on the National, State and Local levels. Over the years it has studied issues which include housing, recreation, regionalization of schools, recycling, ecological zoning and water resources.
SHERBORN LIONS CLUB
Sherborn Lions Club, founded in 1963, first held its meetings at the Fire House, but soon moved to the Frances Cafe in Medfield for dinner meetings held the second and fourth Tuesday of the month.
Funds are raised in a variety of ways: the Annual Litebulb Sale, horse shows and auctions. Most of these funds are used for local projects but sizable donations are also made to the Massachusetts Eye Research, the Leonard Morse Hospital and other worthwhile groups.
Recreation activities in town have been aided by the Lions' donations to the skating area, the Little League field and the Ski Team.
This group of professional and business men also sponsors many organizations in town and presented the world globe to the new library.
Membership is open to all local men who have an interest in serving the community.
SHERBORN MUSICAL ASSOCIATION
In order to be able to take part in the World's Peace Jubilee in Boston in 1869, the choirs of the two Sherborn churches formed this association of 23 voices. Its members were also called together on several similar occasions of lesser magnitude, one of which was the dedication of Sawin Academy when they provided a musical program which included a hymn composed for the occasion.
The whole Commonwealth was involved in the Peace Festival for which a huge
Coliseum was built to hold 50,000 people, in what is now Copley Square. It
was a shed-like structure well adapted for acoustics, not beautiful in
design but highly impressive to behold. Special trains brought throngs
from distant points to participate in or witness the festival, including
large numbers of Sher-
bornites who entrained to Framingham and thence to Boston. It boasted to be "the grandest musical demonstration the world has ever seen," featuring a chorus of 20,000 and a regular orchestra of 1,000 pieces.
Lithograph, 1869, "Peace Festival," at Copley Square, Boston, where
Sherborn's Musical Association performed.
This five-day Festival was not over before its instigator, P. S. Gilmore, leader of the celebrated military band of Boston which had served gallantly with the 24th Massachusetts Regiment throughout the Civil War, began plans for another to be held three years hence and on a grander, more colossal scale. Mr. Gilmore, who was born in Ireland and had world-famous marches to his credit before arriving in Boston at the age of twenty, quickly persuaded several European government officials to allow their bands to take part: the English Grenadier Band, the French Band, and the Imperial Prussian Quartette were among those to arrive for the Second Peace Festival held in the Coliseum in 1872. This time the orchestra was swelled to 2,000 by the American and foreign bands. The Sherborn conductor, Mr. F. W. Cushing, said that ever afterwards. "when I see a good field of bean-poles, I am reminded of the 350 violin bows piercing the air."
One hundred anvils were imported from Birmingham, England. and an equal number of Boston firemen were detailed to operate them in the 'Anvil Chorus' which also employed a drum twelve feet in diameter and weighing 600 pounds! Sherborn's chorus had
rehearsed twice weekly to master the difficult music performed and the town could be justly proud of its contribution to the Great Festivals.
PILGRIM CHURCH WOMEN'S CLUB
The Pilgrim Church Women's Club's purpose is "To further the service to the church and to present programs of recreational and educational interest." There are more than 90 members. By having a representative on the Parish Board, the club is informed of any special needs of the church where they may assist. They conduct a coffee hour each Sunday following the church service, have recently redecorated the pastor's study, and have redecorated Fellowship Hall, making it a pleasant meeting place for many outside groups to use.
A dedicated group meets each Tuesday to knit and sew for nursing homes, hospitals, and the Boston City Missionary Society. A check is sent each month toward the support of an 'adopted' orphan through the Christian Children's Fund, and the club also makes a substantial pledge to the church.
Programs are interesting and diversified, and often preceded by a dinner. In turn, it hosts the annual Community tea at holiday time in conjunction with the Board of Deacons and Deaconesses.
Two annual luncheon-bridge parties have become accepted social events, and ladies of the town respond enthusiastically at this opportunity to become better acquainted. The club enjoys its outreach of service to others, fulfilling its purpose in the community.
The Sherborn Players, evolved in 1963, from the Sherborn Drama Group which had been founded in 1955.
Membership is open to all Sherborn residents who are interested in acting, or in being involved in any way in the production of recent hit plays. Usually two plays a year are produced, in which most of the 60 members are involved. Profits from the plays have been used to help redecorate the Town Hall Auditorium and to furnish rugs and draperies in the Town Office Building.
The Players' salute to Sherborn's 300th Anniversary is a spoof on Town Meeting entitled Three to Get Ready. The original musi-
cal revue involves more than 100 Sherborn citizens on the stage, choruses, and in backstage jobs, and the show is scheduled for May. The play has something for everyone, from a school budget hearing to a visit from Sherborn's first Town Clerk; from a boisterous group of protesting ladies, to serious music by the combined choirs of Sherborn's Churches.
It will be an evening (and a Sunday matinee) filled with fun - by Sherborn - for Sherborn ... and all about Sherborn, then and now.
SHERBORN REPUBLICAN TOWN COMMITTEE
The Sherborn Republican Town Committee consists of 21 regular members elected every Presidential election year. This organization holds a Fall Outing before the primaries to acquaint the townspeople with local and state Republican candidates. They publish a Sherborn Telephone Book every two years.
SHERBORN REVIEW CLUB and SHERBORN LITERARY CLUB
In September of 1874 a number of ladies and gentlemen formed the Sherborn Review Club to circulate magazines and reviews among the members. Simple by-laws were adopted at the second meeting and officers chosen for the management of the business. It was a very popular and useful Association furnishing to its members a great variety of the best periodical literature, and maintaining a membership of from sixteen to twenty. When several other persons applied to join, they were advised to form a new club as an increase in membership would thus inconveniently increase the length of time required for the circulation of the magazines. They accepted the suggestion and the Sherborn Literary Club was organized in November, 1882.
THE VILLAGE IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION
The Village Improvement Association was formed in 1948 and declared "Its purpose shall be to aid in improving and in perpetuating the higher interests of the Town of Sherborn, Massa-
chusetts." What specific 'higher interests' its organizers had in mind are not clear to us some 25 years later, but we do know that its membership of about 200 undertook many worthwhile things for Sherborn before they disbanded in 1952.
Their interests were, indeed, varied and their gifts thoughtful and generous. Among the accomplishments were a successful Open House Tour of many old homes, landscaping the Memorial Triangle at Washington and Main Streets, and around the old Town Hall as much as funds could permit. They also purchased the Grange Christmas tree lights, and a special chair for the Town Library. Important, too, was the sponsoring of the Camp Fire Girls.
WOMEN'S ALLIANCE OF FIRST PARISH CHURCH
The Women's Alliance of First Parish Church, founded in 1899, is an organization of Liberal Women which has, over the years, provided programs of inspiration, education and entertainment for its members and the community at large. Its eighteen members provide service and financial support to the local Unitarian-Universalist Church, to the parent denominational organization, and to the community. The most visible contribution to Sherborn and its environs in the past ten years has been the Good-As-New Shop. Three women conceived the idea, in 1962, of a consignment shop for family clothing, hoping to start a fund for religious education facilities. When that need was erased with the wing that was added to the church through the generous gift of Miss Haidee and Miss Helen Bothfeld in memory of their parents, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Bothfeld, the Good-As-New Shop was filling such a need in furnishing good clothing at bargain prices, the decision was made to continue it. It is not primarily a fund-raising enterprise but a community service project. Customers come from as far away as New Hampshire and Rhode Island and women of other religious affiliations now volunteer their time and energy to help maintain this service.
The Alliance has recently assumed the responsibility for the complete restoration of the First Parish building, a classic example of Greek Revival architecture, beautifully situated on the hill on the Village Green.
THE WIDOWS' AND ORPHANS' BENEVOLENT SOCIETY
The Widows' and Orphans' Benevolent Society, a charitable trust, was organized October 19, 1859, in Sherborn, Massachusetts, under the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1856, Chapter 215, as amended.
Calvin P. Sanger, a resident of the town (8 Washington Street) frequently visited those less fortunate than he and dispensed small luxuries to brighten their lives. Desiring to perpetuate the practice, he established a charitable trust to be administered by a Board of Directresses and an Executive Committee.
One hundred and fourteen years later, the Society, numbering 32 active members, is unchanged. The original purpose has been faithfully maintained and disbursements are made according to the terms of the Constitution which states:
"...Its object shall be to aid such indigent widows and orphans as may from time to time be residents of Sherborn; and such other persons, whether male or females, who, though reduced to necessitous circumstances, would shrink from a resort to the town for support: but it is not intended that this charity shall in any way or manner relieve the town of its duty to its poor.
"The Society shall consist of those ladies who approve of its object, sign its constitution, and who contribute fifty cents per annum to its treasury.
"Any lady may become a life-member of the Society by contributing five dollars or over at one time, to its funds. Any gentleman may become an honorary member by the payment of ten dollars.
"The officers elected in this Society shall be taken in equal numbers from the religious societies which are or may hereafter be in Sherborn; and no preference shall ever be given to the applicant for this charity by reason of his or her religious belief."
The minutes of the first annual meeting and those of the 20th anniversary meeting are particularly significant and describe the Society as it was and is today.
"The first year of the existence of the Sherborn Widows' and Orphans' Society closed October 19, 1860.
"The existence of such an Association among us, we feel, is adapted to promote much good, both to giver and receiver. It affords an opportunity to all so disposed, to cast their mite into the fund of Charity which is designed to relieve not only the temporal necessities - but also to gladden the hearts of many indigent but worthy individuals.
"And as we are called upon to dispense this Charity, we would not view these persons as inferiors - mere recipients of our bounty, and thus wound their delicate sensibilities - but as members of one great family - some of whom for wise reasons, our common Parent has been pleased to place in less favorable worldly circumstances than others.
"The Managers of this Society feel that the work of distributing its funds, in a judicious and impartial manner, is one of great responsibility, and one which requires the exercise of much judgment. Yet, notwithstanding our inexperience, and liability to err, we are happy to feel that many among us have been relieved - and that our charity has gratefully been received. We hope that no worthy individuals, whatever may be their positions, have had reason to feel themselves intentionally neglected.
"Such a course would render the Managers unworthy of their office, and also cripple, if not entirely defeat, the great object in view by the benevolent founder of this Institution."
"Sherborn, October 15, 1879
"As this is the 20th anniversary of the formation of this society, it seems proper to look back over this score of years and make a brief report of its operations and progress.
"On Wednesday, October 19, 1859, a largely attended meeting was held in the Chapel and the Society was formed. Its officers were chosen as follows: President, two Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary and fourteen Directors, two in each school district in equal numbers from each religious society.
"Mr. Sanger first invested $2,500.00 in the American Exchange Bank. Afterwards $700.00 in the St. Nicholas, and $800.00 in the Central, all N. Y. Banks, making a permanent fund of $4,000.00, the semi-annual dividends of which with the fees for membership are to be paid out at Quarterly meetings of the Society. He lived ten years to note, we think with satisfaction, the success of his benevolent enterprise.
"During these twenty years our appropriations have amounted to $5,811. The Treasurer's book will show the names of some who every one of these years have received aid.
"The Society has especially sought to benefit a class of persons ordinarily in comfortable circumstances, to whom by reason of sickness or misfortune, a little timely help has proved very acceptable. This Society has suffered from the financial embarrassment of two banks where our funds are invested: our capital has been reduced and some of our dividends we have failed to receive.
Thus in later years we have had less to distribute, but as the cost of living has been much less, we think the receivers of this charity have had neither cause nor desire to complain.
"Through all these years, our gatherings have been harmonious and though our position as a Board of Managers is delicate and often embarrassing, I think we can say today that we have tried unselfishly and faithfully to guard the trust committed to our care.
"At the close of the year 1879 we can thankfully record that death has left no vacant place among us. Though our number is small, our meetings have been well attended and very pleasant. The wants of the sick and aged have claimed our first attention.
"During the past year, there has been paid out from the Treasury $220. At present, pecuniary aid will prove peculiarly acceptable to some, on account of the failure of the employment of straw sewing, upon which they have formerly depended as one means of support. From those who made honorable efforts to help themselves, this help will not be withheld."
THE SHERBORN YACHT CLUB
"Believe me, there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats. Simply messing," he went on dreamily, "messing-about-in-boats; messing about in boats or with boats."
This quotation by the Water Rat, from Wind in the Willows is the reason for the existence of the Sherborn Yacht Club. A lot of people apparently agree with Water Rat's rapture with boats. The membership has grown from 20 families in 1962 to the current 155 families, 16 singles and 3 juniors.
The Sherborn Yacht Club, headed by a Commodore elected annually, is unique because any resident of Sherborn may join. Furthermore, one does not need to own a boat, because the Club provides them. Knowing how to handle a boat has never been a requirement. Just love of water and boats will suffice. However, very few are still standing as landlubbers on the docks by the end of the season. The Club employs three dock attendants who give sailing lessons for a very modest fee. Most of those who learn to sail will ultimately become racers during the season, and calls of "Starboard tack" and "Buoy room" can be heard across the pond. There are those who would reiterate the delightful sentiments of one Water Rat when he says, "In or out of 'em, it doesn't matter.
Nothing seems really to matter, that's the charm of it."
Why are so many Sherbornites hanging around boats? It all began eleven years ago when a man, described by an old friend in a letter as "that big happy fella, with the ready smile and a bag full of tricks" went down to Farm Pond with four Wee Nips.
That man was Arnold Whitman. He obtained permission from the Selectmen to use the pond for boating and instruction, and the Club made its debut with 20 families as charter members.
Within a summer, races were being held every weekend. It did not take long for the rather novice sailors to contend "I can make my boat go faster than your boat." The race schedule was to be undaunted by less than ideal weather conditions. However, the wisdom of the founding fathers is written down in the early by-laws... "Hurricanes shall be considered sufficient reason to cancel sailing; even if they occur on the weekend of the Big Regatta." And, in fact, ten years later this is exactly what happened. On Labor Day, in 1972, a hurricane replaced racing for a day.
The early races were divided into three groups - juniors, men and women. For winning they were awarded decorated beer cans, and though the prizes are a bit more sophisticated now, the joy of winning was as satisfying then.
Juniors at that time were those up to age 20. The age was then reduced to 18; and today the youngsters become seniors on their 16th birthdays. As recently as 1964, there was segregation among the sexes. Men raced the men. The women were relegated to their own series. In 1965, the voices of equality were heard with the first team racing and the ladies and gentlemen competed together. There is still an exclusive category of races entitled the "Ladies' Sunfish Series." The ladies race with men, but men can't race with the ladies.
The members are offered approximately 141 races in the 470s and 105 Sunfish races in an official season extending from the weekend before Memorial Day through the weekend after Labor Day.
Now, as well as satisfying the racing interest of the young and old, with races every Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday, the SYC also provides a social aspect with a Commodore's Spring Ball, two cookouts, three Holiday Weekend Parties, and five Award Parties.
From the modest start of four rented Wee Nips as Club boats in 1962, the members progressed to Dublin sloops for the summers of '63 and '64. From 1965 to 1967 Farm Pond was host to the Petrel which was replaced in 1968 by the 420. New to the Club
in 1973 were the big brothers of the 420s - the 470s, of which the Club owns nine.
The new boat is the most popular Olympic class racing sloop and a few of the members have taken club boats to regattas in other parts of the state.
Also moored at the Club facilities are a fleet of approximately 80 Sunfish, privately owned by members. A dozen or more are raced each weekend by a special breed of sailor. His dedication to this class is unequalled, and he is frequently the bane of the race committee. He tries to be helpful by suggesting proper courses for the committee to set, and he never wants to stop racing.
Many of the Sunfishers have competed in regional regattas in New England, and a few have gone to national championship race weekends.
Commodores of the Sherborn Yacht Club have been Robert Brooks, Stephen Huppertz, Robert Dahlroth, William Saunders, J. Robert Shaughnessy, Arnold Whitman, Joseph Valentine, Charles Cannon, Richard Reilly, Richard Husselbee and Andrew Scott.
Since 1967, Mr. and Mrs. Irving Pockel have contributed to the life of the Sherborn Yacht Club by making available to the Club and its members 100 feet of waterfront-property adjoining the Town boat launching ramp.
Heart, Head, Hand and Health
4-H, now under the Chairmanship of Mrs. Arthur Gray, was created as a youth service by the U. S. Department of Agriculture Cooperative Extension Service in 1914, to fill a need of rural children for group activities. In the late 1940s, the National 4-H Foundation was founded to implement the Government agency. This Foundation is a non-profit organization, whose function is to secure and utilize private funds. The group was instrumental in starting international activities such as sending American children to other nations and inviting foreign 4-H members to this country. It also created the National 4-H Center in Washington, D.C., which now has 25,000 persons participating in 300 educational conferences and training classes.
In Sherborn, 4-H is supported by Middlesex County as well as the Department of Agriculture and the 4-H Foundation. Sherborn has had an active 4-H from the beginning, and today it is still ac-
tive and popular. Although we are no longer rural, 4-H is still important, as its Town Committee has constantly changed the program to fit the needs of the times. At one time, all that was offered was home arts and agriculture. Today we still have classes in cooking, sewing and livestock, but we also offer rocketry, small engines, pottery, art and journalism. Actually we will set up any worthwhile program. Our Sherborn youth has a chance to compete for excellence among themselves, then on a county level, and finally on a State level.
We are especially proud of their achievement in 1973, as several advanced to the State level. 4-H also offers chances to be sent to Washington, D. C., to study "Citizenship & Government" and also to be elected as delegates to State and National conferences. This past year we had four of our 4-H members representing Sherborn at the University of Massachusetts State Conference.
4-H fills its own unique spot in Sherborn by offering an opportunity for achievement and growth not catered to by other youth organizations. Only in 4-H can a youngster pick a field and concentrate exclusively on that area.
Also, it is the only coeducational youth organization. Its greatest contribution is in developing a sense of community affection and responsibility. This was borne out last year when we could not get enough adult leaders and four former little 4 - H'ers by then high school seniors, volunteered to take groups of smaller children, so we would not have to turn them away.
CAMP FIRE GIRLS
Camp Fire Girls was founded as a national organization in 1910. Miss Leah Wood, a teacher at Sawin Academy and Dowse High School caught the enthusiasm generated by this new activity for girls and started a Camp Fire group in Sherborn in 1917. It was chartered in 1918, and for 56 years, Camp Fire has continued without a break, making Sherborn one of the few communities in the nation with such a long history.
Miss Sarah Sparhawk, a teacher in Centre School, continued what Miss Wood had begun and in 1923, Mrs. C. Arthur Dowse began a 50-year association with the girls of Sherborn. When the town was smaller, virtually every school girl belonged to Camp Fire or its younger sister organization, Bluebirds. Sherborn girls have broadened their horizons by attending Camp Fire camps and
National and Regional Conferences in many parts of the country. For many years girls from Sherborn's Camp Fire groups corresponded with girls from Sherborne, England, and several visits resulted from these exchanges of letters. Former Sherborn Camp Fire Girls have been active in the organization in such diverse places as upstate New York, Iowa, Maryland and Oregon.
Sherborn girls are still attending the two excellent camps administered by the Greater Boston Council, Kiwanis in Hanson, known to many Sherborn swimmers because it has been host to the Red Cross Aquatic School for 50 years; and a wilderness camp for older girls in Otis, Massachusetts.
Great emphasis has always been put on Service and among the many projects planned for the coming year by the co-chairmen Mrs. John T. Griffin and Mrs. Henry Powicki are: making centerpieces for the elderly, taking part in the Tercentenary town cleanup along the streets and at public buildings, planting flowers for the Library (several hundred bulbs were set out by Camp Fire girls two years ago) and decorating a Christmas tree for the Library.
Under the guidance of Mrs. Virginia Reynolds this group held their meetings weekly at her home (66 South Main Street) and then at the new Parsonage when it was finished in 1925 (45 South Main Street). Some of the teen-aged girls included Helen Dingley, Teresa Gheringhelli, Mary McElhenney and Georgia Talbot who were pleasantly surprised when they reached camp the first summer to find that a fellow-Sherbornite, Frances Holbrook, was their camp counselor. One of their successful ventures was a play which they produced at the Town House for the whole town's enjoyment called, of all things, "Mail Order Brides."
SHERBORN BOY SCOUTS
Sherborn Scouts belong to the Algonquin Council, with headquarters in Framingham.
A boy may join Cub Scouts when he has completed the second grade at school or attained the age of eight. Presently, Sherborn has two Packs of Cub Scouts: Pack 25, which has 61 members, was organized in 1931; and Pack 10, organized in 1971, has
46 members. Each pack is made up of Dens, which meet weekly with their Den Mother and monthly with the whole Pack.
Webelos, whose members have reached their tenth birthday, is an intermediate group that helps boys qualify for Boy Scouts. They meet each week with a Father and once a month with the Pack.
Sherborn Boy Scout Troup One was formed in 1927, and has 62 boys now enrolled. To qualify for membership, a boy must have completed the fifth grade in school or be eleven years old. Meetings are held once a week. The Sherborn Troop is proud to record eleven boys who have become 'Eagle Scouts,' the highest level of achievement in Scouting an individual can attain.
Over the years the Sherborn Scouts have been sponsored by a group of citizens, as the council records reveal of the earlier years, and more recently by the Firefighters Association, the Lions Club and the Pilgrim Church, with the Scout Masters being men of the Town who volunteer their services.
SHERBORN GIRL SCOUTS
Sherborn Girl Scouts has as its primary purpose to inspire girls with the highest ideal of character, conduct, patriotism, and service, so that they may become happy and resourceful citizens. The organization is open to all girls and adults Who accept the Girl Scout promise:
"On my honor, I will try
to serve God,
My country and mankind,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law."
The strength of the Girl Scout movement rests in the voluntary leadership of its adult members, in the cooperation and support of the community, and in the affiliation with Girl Guide and Girl Scout movements of other countries through the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts. In Sherborn, the Girl Scouts have grown from a single troop of Girl Scouts, founded in September 1970, and a sister Brownie troop, to three Brownie troops, two large Junior troops, and a Cadette troop.
SHERBORN SKI TEAM
The Sherborn Ski Team, organized in 1967, became one of the chartered members of the Eastern Massachusetts Buddy Werner Ski League, which now has over 700 members from 11 Boston area towns.
The objective of the ski team is to encourage boys and girls to ski by offering a program where everyone can compete regardless of ability. This racing program stresses safety while trying to improve the skiing ability and knowledge of the young people.
Boys and girls compete separately in three age groups: 5-8, 9-11 and 12-13. All races are slalom races, and courses are set to match the ability of the different age groups. Ribbons are awarded to the first five racers in each age group, but the emphasis in the league is on the team score and the scoring is such that even beginners can help their teams. Meets and practices are normally held at local ski areas with an occasional outing to one of the nearby larger ski areas.
The Sherborn Ski Team, under the sponsorship of John Luczkow and William Currier, has grown from eight boys and four girls in 1967, to 26 boys and 28 girls presently. It was undefeated in dual competition in 1973, and placed fourth in the League Championship Meet.
SHERBORN SWIM TEAM
The Sherborn Swim Team was formed twelve years ago by a group of Sherborn parents and Farm Pond Life Guards. Each year the team hosts the Annual Mile Swim and presents medals to the winning towns. It holds an annual invitational meet for all the towns in its League for the youngsters who do not have a chance to compete in the weekly meets of the Suburban League.
The present coaches; Melanie Frothingham and Tom Monego, are both former members of the Sherborn team, which now has 50 members. Many others have kept their interest alive by competitive swimming and, after completing the Water Safety Instructors Course, have returned to Farm Pond as Life Guards. These include John Dittami, George Fiske, Rick Hyde, Laurel Crawshaw, Roberta Kostick, Russell Sherrill, Bill Webb, Mary Buntin and Kitty Hyde.
Many familiar names in Sherborn have now, and in the past, made up a roster of parents who have spent untold hours in judging, timing, transporting and all the other jobs which make any kind of venture a success.